Friday, May. 23, 2003 / 6:28 p.m.

~Later, That Same Day...~

What I was trying to say was this, my tattoos are distracting to people who are trying to talk to me. And I fully understand. When my friends from Out West came to visit a few weeks ago I could only look up and down at S's arms and legs while he talked. It was nearly impossible to look in his eyes, although he has beautiful blue eyes with loads of 'laugh lines' around them. He also has fantastic tattoos all over his arms and legs, mostly dragons and tigers. Old school tattoos, in the Japanese style.

So, sure, my Manager (M) is looking me in my eye as she's talking to me, focusing on me during our little meeting, as she is wont to do, and why she tends to focus on me, I have no clue, but then she catches sight of my lizards peeking out from under my short sleeves, and baring themselves completely when I move around a bit, and suddenly she's no longer making that eye contact that says she is connectnig with me.

It would be akin to having someone stare at your big tits while he/she talks to you, assuming you have the big tits thing going on. You know, you're thinking, if not outright saying, "Look at ME, not my tits!", same kind of thing.

I never meant that I don't get off a bit by strangers asking to see my tattoos, or saying they're "Sweet!", like happened after work in the Publix. "Hey, I like your tattoo, can I see it, all of it? Oh, sweet!". Yeah, that's fun. It is.

I think I have a coworker talked into going to the Convention next Saturday. Whooo hoooo! She wants a little strawberry on her leg, and I have no idea why, I don't think she has any idea either, just as I couldn't tell you why I wanted lizards all over my body. But, alas and alack, I am now going to consider getting something else. If I do......... it will be because I see someone who's tattooed me before, and I like his/her flash, and I see something I really want.

The big lizard on my arm was TOTALLY spontaneous last year. TOTALLY. Again, in caps. I went for the mantra, on my ankle, and by the end of the weekend I had four new tattoos! So, we'll see, that's all I'm saying, but I'm getting excited just thinking about it again. I had so much fun last year, I wrote about it here, I'd link, but who cares? If I want to read it I know where to find it. Duh, one year ago, June 1.

I have Chinese food on the counter. I just ate greasy spring rolls and fried crab claws. The crab claws were free, because I went on and on about how it was my first time at this particular restaurant. I should've emphasized that I'm desperately trying to find un-Americanized Chinese food in my county, and asked for the chef to make me up something good. I asked for a recommendation, but the dude just suggested twice cooked pork. Didn't he know I was feeling adventurous? Is he SO used to the small-minded, provincial, mild-palated exurbanites who frequent his establishment, and their constant and repetitive orders of Moo Goo Gai Pan and Mu Shu Pork ("Is it spicy?") that he couldn't think straight?

Outside the box, baby, outside.

The sky has cleared, it's hot, it's windy, the sun is shining, the clouds are still there, but it's not raining, the a/c is blasting, and working decently. The world is open to me now. Nothing but opportunity and possibility and time, time, time. Vacation started at 5:00, and I'd better get started. Nine whole days.

I smile as I write it.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee