2001-08-18 / 7:18 p.m.

~First day of the weekend, so far~

I've hesitated to log on today, much less to sit here and write in my diary, as I haven't really done anything, but seeing as how I like to document my wonderful life, well, I guess I will.

I slept late, as in really late, 4:00ish, and that's p.m. I tossed and turned, throwing off covers, using only sheet, feet out, feet under, according to a/c blowing cold air, or taking a break. It's been so hot lately, even inside, and even inside of me, starting with my "moon time" and all. Elevated body temp, one of my favorite things, not.

So, naturally, I dreamed, a lot, and naturally, now, I remember very little of said dreams. But one. One stands out, and I don't remember it well, just the overall gist because I woke up after it and thought, hey, I was dreaming about Joe!

Lately I've been dreaming about hockey, I'm back at the arena, the old arena, or the new one, or I have on skates myself, I'm playing, (and I don't play) or I'm just getting ready to go to a game. I think I'm totally ready for the season to start! I looked online just a while ago and realized the pre-season tickets are on sale already - I've got to decide if I'll go to pre-season this year.

But maybe this was why I dreamed of Joe. He was my hockey bud, for a while, until he met his current girlfriend. In the dream we were close, we were lovers, and that was very odd, but it was good, and I wish I could remember it all, but I only remember that it was good. I do think about him, and I guess my subconscious thinks about him when my conscious is thinking about other things.

Sleep long enough and one might dream of everyone one has known, mix it all up, relatives becoming lovers, cats becoming people, the dead alive again, etc. I know I dreamed a lot, and those dreams will pop up later, I am sure, as memories. Memories of dreams.

It wasn't too hard to sleep that late, not really, it was fairly luxurious despite the heat, the tossing and turning, I had cats to cuddle. The hips suffer though, and for a while I could barely walk once I was vertical.

I've been watching TV through the coffee and donut portion of the program. Chef Harry on PBS, cooking with Barry Williams (Greg Brady of "The Brady Bunch"), "The Cowboys' Kitchen" on Food Network, which was really, really good. I just love cowboys and cowboy cooking.

That show made me re-think my desire to go west. There is a huge part of me that feels this odd affinity for the west, particularly the southwest, like maybe I belong there. Hence the lizard fetish, the Native American fetish, the "big sky" thing, the way I felt as my father and I drove through Texas and New Mexico, that night I wandered off to take pictures of that sky at sunset, that landscape that becomes all about the sky.

Watching those guys on their horses, watching the "Coozie" preparing the grub in the chuck wagon, all of it, made me want to be there, there instead of here.

Here, a woman died of West Nile Virus. People are afraid now.

I haven't been bitten by a mosquito in a long while, maybe months, maybe a year. I guess I don't get out by standing water a lot lately.

I'm not in any fear.

I think I'll try to get something done, maybe wash dishes, or clean the bathroom, or maybe I'll just head back to the futon sofa, watch some more TV, maybe a movie or two. Maybe more Food Network - I think that's my favorite channel - or maybe some of the Madonna videos on MTV2 (she'll be here tomorrow and Monday - it would be fun to get out and try to happen upon a Madonna-sighting!).

No doubt I'll have more to say later, and no doubt there will be no sleeping until very late.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee