Friday, Aug. 09, 2002 / 1:30 p.m.

~Grammar Bitch Me~

Yesterday a bird infected with West Nile Virus was found dead approximately 2 miles from where I now sit. Lulu came in to work this morning talking about how the mosquitoes 'tore her up' last night as she sat on her porch, less than a mile from here. I want to lecture her about the appropriate use of insect repellent in light of the proximity of the Virus, but I fear she'll bring her god into it, tell me how 'he' is going to take care of her. So I say nothing.

What's a little encephalitis anyway? I'm sure if she gets it she'll recover in a few weeks. No worries here.

Last night was another night without Internet. I don't miss it, still.

However, I didn't sit and read, or knit, or crochet or anything. I watched television, and I enjoyed it. "The Simpsons", "Changing Rooms" (have you seen this show?, the original "Trading Spaces", the British original, and it's only a half hour - it needs to be a whole hour like the American version), "Big Brother" (yeah, baby, the best show on TV - best moment last night?, when Julie Chen asks Eric is Lisa is 'the one' and he answers, "Right now, yeah" - ain't live TV grand?), some of "Will and Grace" (loaded with sexual innuendo, which is always good), and a really horrible show, "The Rerun Show". The whole time I was watching it I was thinking, Someone explain to me why this should be funny.

Please. So the woman playing Elizabeth Montgomery playing Samantha Stevens in a 're-telling' of an episode of "Bewitched" was awfully good, but what is the point? It reminded me of putting on little skits or plays in people's living rooms, or in school, local cheesy improv, definitely 'not ready for prime time' garbage.

That's it. I love going home and just lounging, lying on the sofa, eating a HUGE bowl of popcorn I popped myself on the stove, watching television. Sometimes I'm really easy to please. And aside from reading diaries on my lunch break, checking email on a break at work, if I can, I'm sick of the Internet in general. Surely that will change on the weekend, but for now I'm happy to get away from it. Even if the alternative is watching TV and popping popcorn, playing with the cats.

Right now I'm thinking about food, not necessarily hungry, but filled with a tremendous appetite.

"Yeah, he do", "Do you be going there?", "Girl! I was like�", "I was like�", "So I was like�", "He was like�", "He be tellin' her, so I was like�". Unh huh. Sometimes I wonder how these women made it through school. Did they graduate? Who graduated them? Wasn't that wrong? It be wrong.

It's hard sometimes, to listen to them talking incessantly, to listen to Listerine cough her phlegmy coughs and wonder what disease she really has that makes her sick all the time. Why do she be sick so much? Girl! That girl be sick mo' than anyone! Girl! I heard her cough and I was like� Girl!

This is going to be a long day.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee