Tuesday, Oct. 19, 2004 / 7:23 p.m.

~Decidedly on the Up and Up~

It occurred to me today that it is quite possible indeed that everything which needs to happen does happen. That good things do come to those who wait, that patience may in fact be the virtue about which we've heard so much, and that what goes around does come around, nothing stays down forever, and even gentrification can be a beautiful thing.

I only stopped in the rental office, amidst the "Blade Runner"-like consistent pouring rain, to pick up a package whose delivery I'd just missed, and there was the new apartment manager, hand extended once she finished up her business and acknowledged me, and it didn't take long for that.

The hand, almost forcefully extended. The introduction, first name only, and I gave mine, first name only, and we were best friends, and I told her, "I've lived here 7 years!", and she said, "Congratulations!", like I'd won a prize. She asked how I liked it and I told her it has been better, after which she seemed horribly concerned, almost upset, and definitely wanting to make it all better, for me.

She invited me to sit, told me we'd fix it, and I almost forgot I had to race back to work after lunch. My eye started twitching, as it has been since I overslept through my entire three-day weekend, and I felt self-conscious suddenly, and unaccustomed to so much attention, so simply told her I couldn't, I had to go, and it's been up and down, and we haven't had any management around for a long time, and she said she knew, "I've heard!", and I told her I'm glad she's here.

She told me to write it down, put it all on paper and give it to her, and I left thinking, 'Wha?', but I'll drop by and visit later, maybe, instead. Ah, who knows, perhaps I will stop and think, write down the events leading to the slow decline of this property, and see what she might do to, as she says, 'fix it'.

It was a huge surprise, and my package wasn't even there. The UPS people have been dropping packages at the 'sister complex' office for a year or more now, so it's going to be hard to re-train them.

I think the rain has finally stopped, and now that I don't have to be out and about in it, popping open my umbrella, closing it and dragging it across me in the car, to put it on the other side, the passenger side. There ought to be a better way. Like maybe a raincoat with an umbrella built in to the back. Push a button and it pops open, attached to the coat, opening up above your head, then you push the button to close it when you duck to get back in your car.

Easy peasy. No muss, no fuss, hands free. What do you think?

Oops. That was a 'shout out', I broke through the fourth wall. Sorry.

So, it might not be so bad, after all. It all remains to be seen. I need to wait and see who moves in downstairs, as someone will have to, eventually. Part of my beef that shall appear in writing, or not, would be the vacancies, and the neglect. Fix this place up and rent some apartments and then I have to have neighbors again, door-slamming, music-playing, stairway-blocking neighbors, and I've been refreshingly free of them for a nice long time now.

I think next I shall win the lottery. It's been long enough, yes?

One more thing, then I'm gone. Last night I raided the larder, as an entire day off from work did not afford me enough time to leave this place and do anything that might have been considered productive, i.e. shopping for food, or sundries, or clothing, or etc., and I was nearly out of the foodstuffs. I knew I had a box of couscous with wild mushrooms mix, and some frozen corn, and some small cans of flaked salmon fillet. So, I mixed it all together, and thought it would be horrible, but good god, it was really lovely.

Tonight I finished it, adding some pre-chopped roasted garlic, and some cubes of frozen chicken broth for liquid. Again, really good. How is it I come up with these really decent larder raiding combos? I'm so proud, satisfied and clearly sated.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee