Friday, May. 19, 2006 / 9:29 p.m.

~The Week in Review~

It was an incredibly long five-day work week (work weeks should be two days, maybe one), but it's over, it's history, and today was a good end to it. We had a cookout on our little patio - yes, we have a patio! - and it was lovely, really. Hot dogs that plump when you cook them, grilled crustily on the grill, cole slaw and corn salad made fresh, plenty of condiments including chopped onions and chili, two kinds of chips, and about four or five different desserts including pies and ice cream, and the sodas, the sweet tea, good god, it was a warm weather sit outside on the patio at a round table with an umbrella sticking out of the center kind of cookout extravaganza. And I helped.

Set up and break down, I volunteered. It was weird that the other alpha female (besides the organizer) jumped in despite the fact that I was already doing it, and I even told her I was already doing it, but she couldn't stop. We've got these MOTHER-ly women working there, women whose children are grown, but they seem to miss being the boss of someone, and taking care of someone, so they jump in to do both, constantly.

I sat with the head honchos, quite by accident, and noticed they actually listened when I spoke, even made direct eye contact, and it was a good conversational rambling. They are anti-honcho-y, and very smart and irreverent, so that's always good, and I drank a boatload of the "sweet tea" (swee-tay) while we laughed and talked current events and light politics, making fun of Southern accents the whole time (I somehow never acquired one, though I've lived in the South almost my entire life).

We lost our new Temp this week too, and thank god for that. I wrote elsewhere that she was horribly miscast, and she was. I didn't understand the choices involved in her hiring, nor the choices involved in keeping her as long as we did (what, was it two or three months?, two?), but it was possibly neglect. And now, gone, poof! Good thing.

Fun conversation about outdoor adventures with a coworker with whom I do not share enough, nor often enough - I dig her, highly. And, news that my most despised coworker is possibly leaving, which would be its own certain hell because who will do what she does? Not I! We have a certain bond of comraderie now that she has confessed her most certain departure, but I still wonder how certain it actually is.

And I? I have sent in my own application for a job I would like to have, or at least I think I would like to have it. We shall see what we shall see.

Lastly, Venus is supposedly traveling through my sun sign of Aries, and tomorrow is supposed to be heavy on the lovey-dovey. I have no romantic interest in my life, but I am going out and about tomorrow, so I shall keep my eyes open for new prospects. Love is a good thing. Meanwhile, I intend to shower some extra special loving on the two feline companions, and it turns out they are both Aries 'people' as well, so there, our horoscope shall come true.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee