Saturday, May. 27, 2006 / 1:07 p.m.

~Memorial Day Weekend, Day One~

Last night on my way home from work, well, it wasn't actually night, we were permitted to leave early, which is always nice, so really it was afternoon, therefore... yesterday afternoon (what, can't I just edit?) on my home from work I stopped at the Whole Foods/Farmer's Market and dropped a wad of dough, an inordinately large sum of money on gourmet goodies, including a fancy organically raised hunk of meat, a ginormous ribeye steak I had the meat cutter cut into three steaks, which I promptly came home and wrapped separately and froze carefully, i.e. with as little air involved as possible, so as to avoid the horrific freezer burn.

Garlic stuffed olives and marinated garlic cloves (almost added cocktail onions too, because I am having a savory/pickled fixation as of late), even hit up the olive bar for some un-jarred stuff, and a bottle of the Pinot Grigio, and smoked oysters, and fancy chicken sausages with artichokes and kalamata olives, cinnamon hazelnut coffee beans, and just keep going and going with the good stuff, man, goyza frozen dumplings, etc., and etc. Well over a hundred clams, er, dollars, on all that is good and right with the world... FOOD! Emphasis on not having to actually cook, as I still am blocked in that department.

But, I will be creating an ad hoc guac today - the tomatoes, avocados, cilantro and limes were all too good to be true. No hot peppers, but I'm good with that.

Norman went for her followup exam this morning, which it turns out was a little too soon, as now she needs a followup to her followup next Saturday, but she is happy to be home after her adventure (the vet was busy, so we had to wait an hour just to see her!, and we had an appointment too!), and she will take steroids a while longer, until I can find the right diet for her delicate tum. Poor old girl.

A couple of women were in the waiting room with their kitties when we were finished, and they both saw Norm's face inside her carrier and said how pretty she is, what a pretty face she has, and one asked what's going on with her, and I said, "Well, she's sixteen.", and basically that's it. I told the doc she loves taking the prednisone, especially because I coat it in butter, and I give her a fingernail full of butter when the torture is over, and I know how to devise a kitty straightjacket from an ordinary bath towel now, so it's all good.

It's hot outside, mid 80s, and getting hotter. If I step out and come back in, it actually feels cool inside the apt., which is just what I need. Gas costs so much, and there is a lot of traffic, and I've already gone back to the store for the fresh mozz I forgot yesterday, and pointed out that I was charged $5.99 for sundried tomatoes that the shelf sticker indicated are actually $2.99, and gotten my three dollars back, and I have the end of "The 40 Year Old Virgin" to watch on the On Demand (overrated film, in my humble opinion - very juvenile, 'boy' humor, not funny at all, not to me), and my "Guiding Light"s on tape, and a new (old and used, and FREE!) computer to hook up and play with, and cats to play with, and FOOD to eat, so I'm good, really, this is all very much good.

And Memorial Day, Monday? THE ZOO! Could be worse, could be much worse. In fact, this is damned good right now.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee