2001-09-07 / 8:00 p.m.

~How Hip Am I?!~

It was one week ago tonight, now, in fact, I was headed to a Fatboy Slim show, intown, and you can read all about the amazing time I had, but maybe I should say again that it was amazing. I've never experienced anything like that, the feeling of dancing, together, with all those people, Norman Cook at our epicenter, the ripples emanating in concentric circles from his total good energy. Wow. It was spiritual, really.

And last night he, and it turns out that was Spike Jonze (I had no idea!), collected SIX MTV Video Music Awards! Six. Best Direction, Best Cinematography, Best Editing, Best Art Direction, Best Choreography (fuck 'N Sync and their Best Dance award!), and Breakthrough Video. Wow.

I've only seen that video once, and it totally blew me away, I had no idea what it was, never heard the song before, didn't know it was Fatboy, didn't know it was Spike Jonze (and hasn't HE come a long way since the Beasties' "Sabotage"? That was him, right?), but now I want to see it again, need to see that video again.

So, right, aren't I totally hip and cool for having just gone to a Fatboy show? Yeah, I think so. That's me, I am so totally hip, that's totally hip.

Hey, Kat, not to be confused with Cat, thinks my last few entries seem really happy, or I seem really happy, happier, in them. Hmmm....I think what happened was I recognized I have an audience, and I like my little audience, and I don't want to bore people with tales of angst and depression, I would prefer to lighten things up a bit - also, Kat just pointed out to me, going to that Fatboy Slim show, getting just toasted enough, dancing for HOURS, well, it was a great experience and maybe I have been happy since then.

I guess it was like getting laid. Kind of.

Omigod, can you just see me after I have sex again? Holy shit, watch out! I'll be bouncing off the ceiling!!

Anyway, I'm really happy for Norman Cook, and for Christopher Walken (who ever would've thought he'd be MTV's darling?) and Spike, and well, Sofia Coppola, for being married to Spike.

See how hip I am? I know all this shit. (Wanna know my secret? Entertainment Weekly, the internet, and lots of television - that's how I know everything - I am a font of cultural literacy)

Oh, did I have anything else to say? Uh, yeah, I got the most appropriate Google search today, someone looking for "using the word fuck". Hah! What could've been better? Nothing, I do believe. So, this person found my little diary, how perfect.

Today was the flip side of yesterday, I had energy, good energy, I talked to Lulu, a lot. Truth is, I try not to, but I really dig Lulu (I love the name Lulu - it would be wild if that were really her name! "To Sir With Love", sung by Lulu, great song, great movie!). So, we had fun, she and I, and I gave her all kinds of shit, and she did me, but we were serious too, I stopped rolling my eyes at her, at some point, and I even asked her out to dinner - she couldn't make it tonight, wanted to go tomorrow instead, and I'm too spontaneous for that.

So, it was better, for a day. We're playing the Big Game again, and I found myself saying, "But it's ONLY 7 Million!".

I also had to act as front desk receptionist at the end of the day, which was different, a job I was hired to do, almost 4 years ago, but I haven't done it in a while. They needed coverage and I was drafted, just for an hour.

Crews came in to dismantle about 70 or so cubicles and lay new carpeting. The beginning of a site wide restoration. Already they've been painting, unfortunately during the week, and some of us have been suffering heavily. Today I coughed and coughed and coughed, felt the paint fumes invading my lungs.

Probably took a year or two off my life, whaddya think? Ah, so what, we're all gonna die one day. (realize I am kidding, I am disgusted by what they did, it was wrong to jeopardize our health, but what the fuck am I gonna do about it?).

Wal Mart after work, and I've stopped thinking about Wal Mart Receipt Web Site Boy, Derek (I won't even bother to link to him this time, manipulative ass), nope, just wanted to buy everything there.

I am an impulse shopper, want everything hanging on every little hook, endcaps were made for me. I know retail all too well, worked in it for years......and I am a bad shopper, very, very bad.

This is why I seldom shop.

So now I have Little Debbies, Nutri Grain Cereal Bars, Fritos and Smart Food white cheddar popcorn, Fritos and ranch dip, a new bath scrunchie thing, in multiple colors, fancy body wash (what happened to SOAP?), moisturizer, face soap, and for my next period......thank you Kat......."Kava Kava"...........and....."Valerian". Yeah. I'm so ready to menstruate.

Bring it on!

I almost bought Estroven. But that shit is almost $13. I just thought it would be cool to injest some more synthetic estrogen, but natural herbal synthetic estrogen, or whatever, instead of birth control pills, which I gave up long ago.

No advance warning, but that was the girlie section of the diary entry. Sorry.

I'm worn out, so what's new, and I am going to watch movies, etc., on digital cable, and at some point wash dishes, although I'm thoroughly enjoying the ongoing experiment currently taking place in the sink region. It's been weeks since I've washed a dish, a bowl, a spoon, a glass.....everything is stacked, piled, in and around the sink, the counters, etc., all very creatively and ingeniously placed. It will be such a shame to wash it all and put it away.

But yeah, I saw Fatboy live man, and no, "Weapon of Choice" was not present, it was all tribal beats and "Whoop, there it is", and Madonna and club bizarreity, nothing else too recognizable. If you get a chance to see him, whoever "you" is, do it.

I'm out.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee