2001-11-14 / 11:51 a.m.

~I Enjoy Being a Girl~

I have this song stuck in my head, �I Enjooooooooy Being a Girl!!!�, and I cannot, for the life of me, remember what musical it�s from. Help!

Here�s why�I woke up early this morning, to a wet spot. This would put a crinkly smile on my face if I�d had sex in my bed last night, but I slept with the cats, not a man, so it meant that I�d overflowed my tampon, not gotten gooey making love. This was unexpected, the thinking being that it was only the first day of my period, not too heavy yet, but the intense cramps before bed should have tipped me off. I guess.

Yeah, yeah, tampons are bad, they are made of rayon, they have toxins in them, dioxin, maybe asbestos, depending on what literature you read, they may cause cancer, who knows?, and I read a great book on the subject of menstruation, I highly recommend it: The Curse. Nevertheless, tampons are my blood absorption method of choice, and I wear them to bed during my period if it�s heavy, and this is not the first time I�ve awakened to a full one. Lovely, eh?

So, I get up, and well, gravity does its thing, liquid flows downward, to earth, to the carpet, even with a hand to hold under me, trying to catch the drippings. Still, I leave a little trail of blood on the carpet, and I�m suddenly picturing the folks on �CSI�, with their blood detecting solutions, and lights, imagining the investigation, the determination that it�s menstrual blood, etc. (this same thing happened to me before, when I worked with the gay, Goddess/Mary/all things Egyptian-worshipping Cuban at the Medical bookstore, and he told me how auspicious it was, that menstrual blood has near magical properties and I shouldn�t make an effort to clean it from the carpet�I felt better hearing that � I miss him�)

And the song pops into my head, �I enjoy being a girl!�, and I think, uh, no, not really. I would prefer to be female, rather than male, mostly, yeah, I think so, but this I can do without, and I�m not up for singing at 6:00something in the morning.

Then, in the bathtub, another thought pops in my head, I can�t wait to come home! And I haven�t even left yet�

Now, at work, 10:20 a.m., all my wristwatches have dead batteries. This feels weird, not having the time on my body, having to look elsewhere, but I�ll deal somehow.

L. and I compared our Publix Holiday Party stories. She went to a different one, but had roughly the same experience, the hassle of the parking lot, the same turkey/ham dinner, the lack of cranberry sauce, the mini cannolis (yum!), hot cider, etc., etc., and we went on and on, most people tuning us out. They wanted to talk about the Michael Jackson concert, but I didn�t watch. The manager (M) came to discuss �24� with me � Yay! We now have a shared interest, and she was the one who insisted I give that show another chance. She was right. Hey, it�s good. I love the concept, each show is the next hour in one twenty four hour period. Like my diary, �so here�s what happened next!� Only, �24� is interesting. And exciting. And there is gratuitous nudity. Why can�t Mia Kirshner keep her shirt on?

Things are relatively slow here. Most of the department (I, and two others, chose not to participate) is having a Thanksgiving lunch at noon, so I�ll have to take lunch early, we all need to leave at the same time. This doesn�t thrill me, but as with everything else, I�ll adapt, deal, whatever. It already feels like Thanksgiving, and Holidays in general, I guess because of last night�s free food, and the commercials on television, and the stands set up in the parking lot of the water park down the street (they�re for Christmas trees, �Big John�s� or something, they�ll set up Thanksgiving day). I�m taking off Monday after the holiday, so I get a five day weekend. And yesterday I decided to use my last two vacation days for Christmas, so I can have Sat, Sun, Mon, Tues and Wed off. Everyone else just gets one day, Christmas, Tuesday. Sucks for them, huh?

What can I say? I saved most of my vacation time all year, thinking I shouldn�t use it because I was going to get another job. Yeah, I was going to quit, I was going to be someplace else. Screw 10 days vacation a year. I didn�t need it. So, here I am at the end of the year with it all piled up, all these days I now have to take. And I don�t mind, not now.

I really wish I had internet access here, at my cubicle. Sometimes I click on the little �e� icon, the MS IE icon, and hope that it�s magically been returned�but no. We used to have it. Used to sit and surf when things were slow. Used to post to the Pathfinder message boards, until I�d get in stupid flame wars, get very upset, and vow to never post again. Then, a day or two later, I�d be back, discussing �Rosemary�s Baby� or �Taxi Driver� or whatever movie I�d just seen. Ah�those were the days�I remember the day that Mark O. Barton shot up all those people in his �rampage� intown, we all got our news from the �net. �Hey, look, here�s where he is NOW!�, etc.

No more. Oh, someone somewhere thought someone was spending too much time on Yahoo! or something. I don�t know, but we went from being chastised for using it, to having it removed all together, a black day indeed. It is hard to sit in front of a computer all day and know that it�s not good for much. No games, just a paint program and Word. I can write or draw, or work�but that�s it. I love it when people call up, ask if we can email them this or that, and I say, �Hah! That�s funny!! You think we have email, don�t you? Tee hee, haw, haw, guffaw, guffaw!!! We don�t have email, what, do you think this is the 21st Century or something???!!!�. Okay, I don�t quite say all that, but I love letting people know that they are depriving us of something very basic here.

Office slavery. It�s rough, but someone�s gotta do it. Yes, one day I shall not work anywhere I do not choose. I will be wealthy, independent, I will volunteer my free time, for it will be that, FREE. Until then�well�I�ll go upload this on one of two computers we can use to access the �net, assuming I get there before someone else, on my measly 15 minute break. I will hope to get the fast PC, as the other is indeed the slow one. Tra la la. And meanwhile, I�ll sit here and bleed, hoping not to overflow.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee