Thursday, Aug. 26, 2004 / 9:44 p.m.

~Dealing With Complacency, and My New Toy~

I don't mean not to write here. It just sort of... doesn't happen. Hard to believe I've got nearly THREE YEARS worth of back entries, written almost daily. Daily. Three years. Wow. I should sit and read it soon, as time is flying, or so I've noticed.

I'm heading into week three of the 'Chest Cold From Hell', and the relapse since going back to work, and having to WORK, is now including major coughing fits, and constant urges to cough, and a lot of... coughing.

We even worked overtime yesterday, only an hour, but staying late at that place, for the express purpose of said 'WORK', especially when coughing and urging to cough, and suppressing coughs, and then coughing some more, can be hell.

To find that today we were robbed of our OT. No, no, no, you must now leave one hour early today, or come in one hour late tomorrow. No OT for YOU!

I had to wait to talk to the Dept Manager, had to wait, fuming, sitting through an abominable seminar on customer service techniques, shit I've been seminar-ed on so many times it now almost physically hurts to hear the same crap over and over again, sitting next to the very Dept Manager at whom I was fuming.

Everyone felt my vibe, saw my arms crossed over my chest, saw me hold my head as I coughed, then scowl, cough, scowl, etc.

Finally I had my chance and we talked for close to 45 minutes, me dissecting her speech, her carefully worded seminar-style speech, her trained to be a manager speech. I'd point out words she used, ask her what she meant, specifically, and she'd widen her eyes, shake her head, ask me what on earth did I mean, and I'd tell her I saw through all of it, I saw right through her, she was wrong, it was unfair, we was robbed, I tell you, robbed!

Trying to coax my one work confidante to do the same was an absurd and futile battle against stubborn complacent apathy, and I was furious, infuriated, downtrodden when it was over. Why, why, why are people so afraid to affect change? To make a stand, to speak out against injustice? She won't even register to vote, she thinks immigrants are stealing our jobs and healthcare, she's defending herself by saying she's too old to change her ways and has no desire to, and fuck me to motherfucking tears, but getting out and about and to work and driving in traffic and dealing with people (and especially HER) makes me want to scream.

I miss staying in bed sick. Going to work sick really sucks.

But...

I got my cell phone in the mail today, or in UPS actually, not 'mail', but still. Digital display says it's charged after only 3 hours, instructions said to give it 12 hours, so I think I'll wait, but this is it, I caved, I felt afraid to be driving around this metro area's highway systems in my old jalopy without some form of modern communication, so now I have it. With one year contract to boot. Whoo hoo.

I'm excited to read the manual, or finish reading it, test out the new features, call people up and ask them, "Can you hear me now?", just to be annoying, and see how far I can call before I've gone a roamin'. I've got a new toy, whoa oh.

I wonder, should I remove myself from my own Cell Phones Suck diary ring? Hmmmm... It's not the phones, man, it's the bullets, no, wait, that's not right, if you take away the phones, only killers will have phones, no, no, that's not it either. It's the people, not the phones. And I intend to be responsible. I'll probably never even use the thing. It's just insurance, for emergencies I hope never even occur.

Okay, I'm SO sick of coughing. I think I'll head to bed now. Yes, it's barely 10:00, but after I feed the cats and yada and yada too it will be late, and it's been a real suck ass day.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee