2001-11-29 / 1:32 p.m.

~I'm Smarter Than I Look, and I Look Pretty Darned Smart!~

I'm sitting in my cubicle with a big smile on my face.

I just had a really funny phone call. This woman calls and wants someone to explain to her an employment verification letter we sent her, explain please the totals for some driver, and she is going on and on in asking her question, and in the process she answers herself. "So, this number here should be the total of�wait�oh, I see�", and I say, "You answered your own question? That makes it easier for me." She says, "Yes, well, thanks for listening." And we both laugh.

That was very funny. In the realm of customer service call centers�it was very funny indeed.

Then I turned to look at my cubicle wall, the one with the pictures of the cats, and I smiled again, looking at my girls, thinking of them, thinking of the pictures themselves, when I took them, how young the girls were then�the apartment I used to live in, and for a moment, I missed it, that apartment, the life I lived then. Sigh�

Another funny call followed the previous one, a man who said I could give him a basket filled with money when I asked how I could help him. Normally that kind of chatter irritates me, but I went with it, amended my offer�"Within my job description?", and he asked what that was. Funny. To end our conversation, I said, "I sincerely hope that my next job entails handing out baskets filled with money�", and he laughed.

Fun.

Today feels lighter than yesterday, every movement feels efficient, I feel as if I could do anything. It's a good feeling, after yesterday's anger. Or any time, really.

Home for lunch now, I had to fight Gladys for my computer chair. I said, "There, get on YOUR computer chair!" because she does have one, her own chair, next to mine, but mine has a fluffier cushion. Sorry, pal. You get to sleep all day anyway.

I'm now off to eat my pastrami and mayo on whole wheat with Muenster cheese. Jews around the world are collectively gasping at my blasphemy!!! Oh, and people are gossiping about L. today, and her display at the Secret Santa drawing yesterday�major scandal. I lectured about the true meaning of Christmas, me, the Agnostic. Too funny. But, hey, I'm serious, it's a celebration of Christ's birth, a time for generosity, giving, not greed and petty bullshit. See, I'm smarter than I look.

Oh wait�this is my horoscope on my Yahoo start page today:

This is a good time to experiment with romance. Perhaps you are attracted to several different people now. You might want to spend some time getting to know each person, exploring your feelings for them. You might not know exactly what you want out of your love life, so do some investigating. Socialize with others in a group setting to get to know them better. Attend parties and function where you can mix and mingle with many people.

What a load of crap! (To be said like Bette Davis saying, "What a Dump!")

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee