2001-12-14 / 11:46 a.m.

~Incessant Droning, �Proof�, Chinese Buffets, James Brown�s Groove, and Homogeneity~

I felt I had so much to say, but I just had my first phone call of the day and it was an old man, yelling at me. And now Listerine is behind me, mumbling, possibly reading the scripture aloud to herself, but it�s this drone, and all of a sudden I have a headache. I told the old man, �Okay, stop yelling at me, please, you�re yelling�, and he said, �I thought you couldn�t hear me, like everybody else.�

Okay, well, first of all, if you�ve signed the guestbook, the joleen.signmyguestbook.com guestbook, in the past day or so, sorry, I�m not reading it anymore, haven�t looked at it. I got a couple email notifications that someone had signed, but I don�t want to see it. I�m going to get a new one, probably on my first break. It�s now 9:12 a.m., c.t., cubicle time.

Moving right along�this new �proof� that Bin Laden is behind the attacks 9/11, well, I�m skeptical, sorry. I don�t speak Arabic, and although on the BBC World News last night they said the translators are scholars, independent academics, I�m not so sure I believe it. Maybe Osama is merely boasting to his buds. But it was fun to watch that one guy wrap his turban, or whatever you call it. I don�t think they�re called turbans in Afghanistan, but that thing was so long and he kept wrapping while Osama was talking, or so it seemed.

Listerine is droning, monotonally mumbling, I want to shout, �SHUT UP ALREADY!�, but maybe she hates the sound of my typing. It�s quiet in here. I know, let me turn on some music�better.

Also, on the BBC World News, which I highly recommend for television news, they had on some guy, I have no clue who he was, some �expert� or something, some guy from Pakistan or India, I�m not sure, and he was saying that the bombing campaign must stop, that it�s been wrong all along, that bombing a country that has not declared war upon us is horribly wrong, and that the only way to combat terrorism is at its roots, or we will never rid ourselves of it, ever. He was so right on target, I was shocked, I�d never heard this viewpoint expressed on television before now, I was cheering, raising my fist automatically in solidarity, saying things like, �Yes!�, and �Finally!�, and �Thank You!�, me, alone in my living room, well, with the cats. It was amazing.

Yesterday I brought in my James Brown CD (rapid change of topic for no particular reason), here, to work, and got Penelope to play it on her little CD player at her desk. After lunch, when the supervisor, D. (have I assigned her a nickname yet?) was at lunch, we cranked it up and danced! Yeah, here, at work, dancing in the aisle to James Brown, getting (Word won�t let me type gett-in� with an apostrophe) up offa that thing, and dancing �til we feel better. Movin� it, doin� it, you know, like a sex machine? Hey, I didn�t write that, James did. Oh, we had fun.

And Rasta said, �This is YOUR CD?�, and B.(let's call her Belinda) said, �YOU like James Brown? You like JAMES BROWN?�, and I said, um, yeah, no, wait, I LOVE James Brown, I know he beats his women, but come on, so did Miles Davis, it�s the music, the beat, the groove, yeah, it�s the groove. And Penelope kept getting up in her cubicle and dancing, saying, �This is back from my day, we used to raise our hands like this��, and she�d show me, �We used to dance like this��, and she�d do it.

I say it�s that groove, and it goes on and on and on, James always says, �Take me to the bridge, get me to the bridge�, and I always wonder if everyone knows what a �bridge� is, if they haven�t studied music�then the bridge comes, the groove shifts, and maybe he �counts it off�, the horns play, it�s over.

We had fun at work yesterday.

Lulu needed to cash her money order her mom sent her, so I drove her to do that, to cash it, and she bought me lunch at a Chinese Buffet restaurant around the corner from where we work. I�d heard it�s really good, and I thought, Huh? Buffet? Chinese food not wokked to order? Sitting out on a buffet table? It can�t be good. But it was! I had broccoli chicken, and the chicken was breast meat, pounded thin before it was cooked, really thin, and it was moist, the broccoli was green and good, the sauce decent. And hot and sour soup with plenty of mushrooms, although there weren�t enough Chinese mushrooms, most were button, but very fresh, and tofu. Not enough black pepper, but plenty of red pepper. And a fairly good pork egg roll, some dumplings, fried, not steamed, yeah, it was good.

They had like four or five long tables of stuff, noodles and rice, entrees, desserts (which I didn�t even get to), salads (American), soups, etc. Wow. All you can eat for like $5.95, I think. It was free for me.

Everyone is going to a club nearby tonight, well, most everyone, an all black club, to dance, and �get intoxicated�. It�s a dressy place, no jeans, with a free buffet �til 8:00, no cover charge �til 8:00, and I�ve considered going. I�ve been invited, and Veronica wants me to go, it�s kind of part of her birthday week celebration, her friends will be there, and the women here are excited to go. Penelope has bowling with her husband, so they�re not going. We all danced so much yesterday and the day before, here, and Lulu and Kukla and Penelope are great dancers, Veronica too, everyone really, well, Listerine just sits, and Rasta is shy at work, and Laverne, well, she�s not much of a dancer, but yesterday, Lulu said to me, �You�ve got some color in you!� when she saw me dance.

Belinda was as shocked to see me dance as she was to find out I like James Brown. Stereotyping. Harrumph!

Last night I didn�t even go into my library, my wonderful room filled with books�and my evil PC. I totally stayed away. I got online once yesterday, from here, at work, uploaded my diary entry, and that was it. It felt great. Really good. I went home and changed my sheets on my bed, turned on the boombox in my bedroom, the one I never listen to, the TV is always on. Norma sat and watched me, played on the bed as I was changing the sheets. She didn�t know what to make of me not heading straight into the library to get online. Neither did Gladys. Usually the three of us go on in, I log on, they try to get me to play, I try to get them to leave me alone, they go to sleep. Not last night.

I love them so much sometimes, I�m filled with my love for my girls. I wanted it to be their time, not stupid online flame wars time. They followed me from room to room. Norma sat on my lap through the first half of �Survivor�, after the pre-show on E!, yes, they have a pre-show. Then we moved into the bedroom to watch so I could tape �Temptation Island 2� for later. I was sad to see Brandon get voted off the show, and what beautiful eyes he has!! He is one beautiful young man�but he was on �The Early Show� this morning and he seems very happy.

Then�the �Amazing Race� finale, and that was so suspenseful! It was really a well-edited show. The whole series, I mean. I felt so bad for Frank and Margarita (I know I�m spelling her name wrong), being SO close to winning, right in their hometown, but coming in second, thinking they had it, thinking victory was theirs. It was so intense! They were on �The Early Show� too, all the three top teams, and Team Guido had their little namesake, Guido the chihuahua, so cute! Frank and Margarita had their little girl, and she kept seeing herself in the television monitor, saying, �Mommy, that�s ME!�. So, the good looking lawyers won the million, but they deserved it. They are top competitors, they played fair, they won fair and square in a tight, tight race, an AMAZING race. Good show.

Okay, I�m tired of writing now. Oh, I�m gonna skip the dance club, being the only white person in a club full of mostly strangers, the people I know all talking amongst themselves, I�ve been in that exact situation before, and I know for a fact I would be uncomfortable. I�m most comfortable in a mix of people, black, white, Hispanic, Asian, old, young, male, female, straight, gay. I really can�t stand being with all of one kind.

I�m shooting for the hockey game instead. But as I write this, as I finish this up, it�s 10:44 a.m., c.t., so I don�t know how I�ll feel at the end of the day. This I do know, I would love to sidle up to that Chinese Buffet right this very minute! I�m starving.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee