Friday, Mar. 15, 2002 / 11:42 a.m.

~In This Case, it�s All About Loving the Children!~

It was �Raines�, Christina Raines, who starred in that movie �Sunshine�. And the thing was, she didn�t want to lose her leg, it was her wacky decision, or maybe not wacky at all, but since she didn�t let them amputate, she died. The cancer spread and she died. Um, in the move, that is.

Sunshine�s knee is really hurting her bad, or badly maybe. And I am worrying. Not that she isn�t, she is too, of course, but I can�t stop thinking about that stupid movie.

And know what? Are there really any people who DIDN�T know Rosie O�Donnell is gay? Come on already. No, I don�t care, who should care? Her lover, I guess. Bill O�Reilly was on �The Daily Show� last night, saying how we don�t need to know, and blah, blah, blah, and Jon Stewart, gotta love him, was defending Rosie, saying she didn�t have a choice, it would�ve come out in the print media, and it was better she address it herself, etc. But O�Reilly was such a pig about it, saying we don�t need to know what kind of sex she has.

Ignorant asshole. It�s not about what position she likes and does she eat pussy, you idiot, it�s about her lifestyle. She will not be marrying a man, she will be, already does, I think, live with a woman. That�s what it�s about. It�s about coming clean, not lying to the public, letting people who are afraid to �come out�, afraid to admit that they will never be like straight people, know that it�s okay, that famous people, well respected people, are just like them.

I think it�s a really positive expression when someone famous comes out. I think it�s important. I know Jodie Foster doesn�t want to do it, but anyone with gaydar has known she�s gay for years. And the fact that she won�t disclose paternity of her child, and the one upcoming (or did she just have it?) is a little admission of its own. But if just one conflicted, taunted, ashamed teenager could see that someone well loved, revered even, someone famous, is just like him or her, wouldn�t that be great? �Jodie Foster is gay like me?!�

There was one of those HBO comedy specials, with Ellen DeGeneres, not too long ago, and at the end she took questions from the audience � a young woman stood up and thanked Ellen, very passionately, for easing her own suffering, for helping her to gain acceptance of her own sexuality, for allowing her, in a way, to come out to her family and friends. She was crying by the end of her little speech, and Ellen went to her, or called her to come on stage, and she gave her a big hug, and I was in tears too because it was so great! Here, this conflicted young woman, knowing she�s gay, but thinking it�s wrong, or that she�s supposed to be something she knows she can never be, needing just one role model, just one �mentor�, and she got that, in Ellen, a Celebrity�

So. I think it�s about fucking time Rosie came out. That�s my bottom line. I knew she was gay, all along, since her earliest standup days. I think most people did know. Even if she does have a �crush� on Tom Cruise. And I think it�s important that all the little old ladies who watch her show now know, assuming they didn�t already. Why? Because, if you find out someone you �know� and love is gay, wouldn�t that help you to maybe accept homosexuality, in general? No, maybe not, I�m being really idealistic here, I know that, but I still think it�s important for celebrities to be truthful. We don�t need to know who they�re having sex with, or how they like it, or what goes on in their bedrooms or kitchens, at all, but to know that they live a certain lifestyle, that it�s okay, that a large portion of Hollywood is gay, is a good thing. It�s a wake up call to the idiots of this world.

And, and, and, to think that the whole reason more celebs don�t come out is FEAR that they will ruin their careers, well what the fuck message is that???!!! Yeah, I�m gay, but if I come out I�ll lose my show. Let me not renew my contract, let me make enough money so I�m set, THEN I�ll come out � what the fuck is that???!!

Obviously I have some opinions on this subject. And I doubt I�m wording it as well as I�d like, but if I stop and consider this solely a diary entry, not a letter to the editor of the New York Times, or a thesis for my doctorate, well, I�m alright. Bill O�Reilly just pissed me off last night, and I know he pisses a lot of people off on a daily basis, but I never watch his show, I just thought I�d watch Jon Stewart and there he was. Next time I�ll change the channel�

But wait, there�s more � I did watch some of Rosie on �Prime Time Live�, not any huge coming out admission, but the last half of the show, where she was PASSIONATELY (she�s an Aries, by the way!) talking about adoption and fostering children, and some gay parents were profiled. It was really touching, and sickening that there is some judge in Florida who is working to take these black HIV positive kids away from this white gay couple, because they�re gay. No, obviously I don�t know details, like it�s a specific judge, or a lawyer, or a �concerned citizen�s group� or what. I just know it sucks, and if that�s why Rosie is coming out, NOW, after all these years, so that she can be an advocate for these and other kids, well, HALLEFUCKINGLUJAH!!!! Good for her!

Why must people lambaste someone who cares so much? Just because she�s gay? If she weren�t gay, could she really speak out like this, from her own personal experience? Don�t you get it, Bill O�Reilly? Aarrgggghh. You know, the more I think about it, the angrier I get. I abhor ignorance and intolerance. All you had to do was listen to Rosie describe how she helped that little 3 year old who�d been so abused. How difficult it�s been for her to foster these abused and neglected children, but how she�ll do it again, because if she ��can pull one more child from the abyss, stand him on the edge��, help one more, several more, how fucking great is that? And it WILL matter that she�s gay, just like that couple that is being challenged now. Why should it matter if she�s gay, Bill O�Reilly? You say you don�t want to know, but you�re exactly the type of person who would challenge her right, and others� rights to adopt or foster children.

Why do you think that Paula Poundstone incident made such big headlines? If she were straight it would never have gotten that kind of press.

Okay, I�m through, I think.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee