2001-09-21 / 11:23 a.m.

~It's not just a Virus, it's the Whoo Hoo Flu!~

"Looks like we have been infected with a virus and we keep re-infecting ourselves, so the only way to fix it is to shut everything down - otherwise it would be worse next week..." - The Site Manager

No more wonderful words have been spoken! Happy Feet! Jump for joy, oh man, I was so FUCKING excited I could hardly stand it!

It's a beautiful day, the sky is blue, the air is clear, it's 70s right now, will be mid 80s, maybe, kinda warm, but nice, nice, nice.

Nothing worked when I arrived at work, could barely even log on to Windows on my PC, yeah, it was BAD. Finally logged on and they had us keying shit for the other department, the dept that keys. Keying. Not typing, keying data. Data entry, busy work. I was hoping, hoping, hoping it would be bad, so bad they'd let us go, and sure enough, 10:30 and we were fucking out of there!

All I can think is call Earthlink, go for the Sales job, do it, do it. Thanks to Kat for reading my cards last night, and giving me confidence to go forward with this - oh, folks, she's available to read YOUR cards as well, yes, she "throws a mean Tarot", give her a ring, leave a note, ask nicely, trade her something, figure it out. Not that I've got a new job or anything, not yet, but the cards were in my favor.

I packed up the last of my cubicle shit and headed out, wanted to drive to the moon, dance my way home, do everything I've been postponing, everything, but what? Deposited my paycheck at the ATM in the Publix lot and this dude chats me up, sees the Gore sticker on my car, tells me the Supremely Stupid Court elected Bush and it was Bush Sr.'s deal with Arafat that got us into this mess, and Gore was robbed, and holy moly fagioli, the guy is going on, and well, he has this "Internet Geek" shirt on, with the sleeves cut off and he has nice arms, and yeah, why the FUCK am I checking him out?

Um, because he is obviously hitting on me.

Okay, gee, forgot what that feels like. Duh. But his face doesn't appeal to me, so I'm writing him off (only takes a few seconds for a woman to determine whether or not she'd sleep with a guy), but listening, but trying to get in my car because I can do whatever I want to do today, I am FREE, and he keeps going, says we're going to set up a military base in Afghanistan now, and I say, "War is Not the Answer", and I am such a fucking hippie and I want to flash him a peace sign with my fingers, but I don't go that far.

Still, I'm trying to get away because, well, because I don't want to get into this with him. He sounds knowledgeable, but maybe not the hippie I am, and well, I won't sleep with him.

Home, call the chick at TAC and now just have to wait. She asks if I can call back in an hour. In an hour????? What am I gonna do 'til then? Interview me NOW, I'm ready, I'm jazzed, my feet are happy, it's a beautiful day, I want a new job, today man, today.

Okay. I'm going to try to calm down now. I just can't explain how great it was to empty out my cubicle (shades of future events I hope) and leave for the weekend, at 10:30 a.m., on a beautiful day!

Right.

So, Bush was great last night. His head looks really small, and he doesn't seem "presidential", but whoever wrote that speech did a great job. He said some good stuff, and some stupid stuff, and if you could've been sitting next to me you would've heard me comment on the whole thing, eloquently and articulately, because, well, I have been really articulate and eloquent lately.

Then...."Big Brother 2" ended, the Grand Finale, and it was great! Mike proposed to Krista on live TV! She said Yes, but surely she can change her mind later. And Will, the hairless one, WON! Yahoo! Oh, it was good, it was really good. No fucking way would I ever live in that house, but I love to watch them do it.

And Walter Cronkite was on Letterman, and Letterman is like me, all go, go, go, what do we do, what is going on, what, what, how, how, and Cronkite is turning 85 in November (another Scorp?) and he was sloooooooow.

But he's brilliant, I love him. I would marry him. Yes, I would. Either one, Cronkite or Letterman. Oh, speaking of brilliant, I would marry Bobby Burgess too! Go HERE!!!!!!!

Now, I wait. I wait. One hour. Okay, I can do that. What do I do in the meantime? All the things I want to go do involve driving "into town". Maybe I could call her from there.....they have phones "in town", right? Duh.

Okay, I'm gonna go live now, do stuff, take advantage - I could go to my safe deposit box - I've been meaning to do that forever! - or I could go drop off my carful of recyclables........I could WASH my car, I could fly to the moon. Jesus, this is like a manic high or something. I need to slow down.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee