2001-09-22 / 5:06 p.m.

~She runs naked at yard sales, for now~

So, a needle pulling thread.....no, really.

So, yesterday, yeah, I crashed. I think it was the ceral bar. Do they put sedatives in Nutri Grain ceral bars? I ate one and crashed. Maybe that intense high was just from the coffee, so once I ate it was gone. I got in touch with someone at the temp agency which does the hiring for the big internet company, but she said the sales position hours would be even less consistent, I would need to work some time between 7 a.m. and 1 a.m. and it would not be known what time. ?

I'm sorry, but that would suck. Sorry, Kat, but maybe the cards weren't right after all, or maybe they were referring to some other life event, some other job, but I won't be going to work for the big internet company, not any time soon. I told the woman on the phone that I really want to work for the company, and she said, "Earthlink?", duh, yeah, not the stupid temp agency, and she says I should go on their web site and see what jobs are available - Huh? I thought EVERYONE came on through the temp agency, that's what they told me.

Oh well.

So, yesterday, I didn't interview, I didn't go get a new job. I read anti-war propaganda - wait, can the truth be propaganda? (just looked it up, yes, it can be) Okay, I read some anti-war articles, got all fired up, sent emails to local activists, said, hey, let's get this ball rolling, let's get a bus, let's do this, etc. I heard back from the organizer of the march from '99, and yes, we will get a bus, and yes, I will be on it.

Then....after spending hours online (it always takes hours on this PC, anything takes hours), I finally left, went to the Birkenstock store and found a really cool new pair of Birks! I am not a shopper, I do not shop. I do not have a typical girlie shoe fetish, I do not buy clothes or shoes, unless absolutely necessary, but well, something came over me, I needed some more Cork Life for my current pair of Birks, and well, I just thought hey, I'll get a new pair too. But the pair I found was screwy in the sole dept, coming unglued, which was really bizarre - so they are transferring another pair from another one of their 3 or 4 stores. I will pick them up some night this week coming. Yea! A new pair of shoes.

What a peculiar thing for me to be purchasing right now. I don't need a new pair of Birkenstocks. I think something's come over me, and I don't know what.

But they had this really cute little alarm clock too, with kitties on it, it's some designer, oh, what's his name? Let me go look......okay, it's Paul Frank, and it's this retro-looking design, these two black cats with yellow eyes and interlocking tails, on a purple background, and on the box it said, "all new! ultra low-tech! super annoying alarm! includes 60 free minutes!", so I had to buy it.

I talked to the girl who sold it to me for a long time, about the terrorist attack, about how I can't pick up the Birks next weekend because I'll be in Washington marching on the White House. She says she's flying to New York in a couple months, and I cringed at the idea of flying on a plane, but she talked about how we have to be brave to be free, etc., and I thought how young and cute she was, how interesting it was I was having conversations with strangers lately, how people are talking now, and how she should be joining in the anti-war movement, but she is probably in favor of war.

I don't know.

Then......continuing with my wonderful day yesterday.......I took myself out to eat at my favorite Thai restaurant, which was weird, because I seldom eat there, I always get food and take it home. They were most solicitious, and I tipped heavily. The manager was young and very handsome, part Thai, part Chinese, very handsome, oh, did I say he was very handsome? Yes. Mmmm hmmmmm. I told him I always get takeout, that this is my comfort food, my basil rolls, nam sod, garlic pepper tofu, it's a ritual, and I was breaking it up a bit by eating in, and having ginger ice cream too. He said, uh huh. No, he was nice, but he didn't want to sit with me. Not that I asked, but well, he was really handsome in his little black suit and his long hair and big smile, and well, they are SO fucking solictious, so friendly. Uh huh.

Boy, this is long, huh? This is one of those just for me entries, I guess, I mean who is gonna read all this, but me?

I drank a Thai beer too, a Singha, and well, I got kinda buzzed, and it was nice. So I drove through town, through the trendy intown neighborhoods, looked at all the trendy intown people, and ended up at the big International Farmers Market to drop off my recyclables. Plastic, all colors and clear, glass, metal, aluminum and phone books. I felt so much better. I always feel like the ultimate citizen, the ultimate citizen of the world when I make that effort. Ahhhh.....

Then a lovely drive back through my favorite part of town, up streets all tree-lined and narrow, perfect for driving, all curvy and fun. Beautiful evening. Home and the Telethon. And it was amazingly good, I thought, the performances flawless, and varied musically.

Wow, it was really impressive. I could've done without the "stars" reading off cue cards/'prompters or whatever, and invariably flubbing their lines ("wait, can I do it again? one more take!"), but the music....yeah. Eddie Vedder, Neil Young, Tom Petty, Bruce Springsteen, Dixie Chicks (beautiful!), yeah, I'll buy the CD if they put it out. Yes, I will.

Oh, okay, so today I slept late (this really sounds like a "diary" now, doesn't it?) and then went to H.'s yard sale. I missed all the shoppers, but I found some good clothes, and a book, and a stuffed horse, and some stuff, I guess, and she just gave it to me. Fun. Lilly was so happy to see me, ran up to me and gave me a big hug! She is the best little girl in the world, man, I love her so much! She'll be 3 in November.

At some point her clothes came off (hence the title of this entry, and you were wondering, weren't you? g'head, admit it) and she wandered around naked, playing with her old toys, grabbing my hand in her little fingers and asking me to sit on her "picnic table", her old toy chest, or pouring me tea from her little old tea set, or just handing me things, in general, while I espoused my passionate beliefs to H. and her husband S. I told them I'm on the bus to D.C. next Saturday, but they don't share my views, not entirely. Still, I love them and that's okay.

They haven't read all I've read, haven't made the effort to be informed, they are busy with their lives, it's not something close to home for them, not something about which they will be passionate, and like most people, they don't know what to think, not really.

It was good to see them, it was good to see little beautiful naked Lilly with not a care in the world (except when someone came up and was considering buying her old hiking boots - "those are my hiking boots, Dad!" - she got really upset thinking someone would take them away, but apparently they are too small for her feet). Normalcy, life going on.

And me, preparing to speak out. Me, thankful I live in a country where I can speak out against my government, where I am free to deride my own president, and in public! Wow, what a great place to be.

I wish I could run around naked at yard sales. Or maybe just watch Lilly do it.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee