Saturday, Jun. 05, 2004 / 3:03 p.m.

~Jane and Bob at the Park, and the Fluids Extravaganza~

Norman is lying on the carpet, head resting on a stuffed mouse wearing a blue jacket with stars on it. She had it in a death grip a moment ago, licking it and kicking it with her hind feet, and she looked at me and said, "I wanna be hugged and cuddled like the other cat", and I looked at her in turn and replied, "Clearly I love her more".

It was a joke. I'm not sure she got it. Ah, but then again, sure, sure she gets it. It's a running joke. All the "You're my 'special girl'"s, and "I love you best"s, and singing that "Indian Summer" song by The Doors, ol' Jim Morrison singing, "I-I lo-ove youuuuuu, the-uh best... bet-terrrrr thaaaan allll, the-uh rest". To them each, both, separately.

We get it.

I've discovered there is going to be a personal appearance by one Jane Fonda, and one Robert Redford at an outdoor screening of "Barefoot In the Park" next week, here, well, not here, but near here, and that is the first day I poke Gurdnest myself and admin the sub-Q fluids, er, myself, here, at home. I said I'd do it once a week now, and then maybe twice, if the need be. Be it needed, that is.

The first administering went so very well. Not that it was I receiving the pokeage, nor doing the actual administering, but afterward, yeah, whoo and stuff, Gurd felt so much better it was insane mad crazy. I called the vet recept to tell her to pass along the good news the very next day, one yesterday, "Hey, she feels SO much better, she's grooming and whatnot, no shit and isn't this great?, and I know the doctor [mraow, the incredibly handsome Dr Handsomeness, married Dr Handsomeness] will not be surprised at all, as this happens all the fooking time, but I want you all to know, so thank you, you all!". She said, "I'll pass it along".

Huh. Yeahright. Well, we're happy anyway.

Then, last night I go and read all this online mumbo and jumbo about how to admin the fluids your ownself, not that I've not been 'trained', as I surely have, and I read how it's an 'emotional rollercoaster ride', taking care of the failing kidneys cat, and yeah, but let me have the high right now, mmmkay?

I can't stand when the G-cat lies in front of the water bowl looking like she's a step away from sudden death right there and then, so this, this bringing me toys and this cuddling, and this eating the prescription canned food, like almost all I put in the bowl, this is such a good thing.

But, please, I do need to see Jane and Bob at the Park next week. Maybe we can do fluids a day before, or a day after. One important thing in the life of a caregiver, maintain your own life. You give up your own pleasure to care for someone else and you have nothing left to give.

So be it. And so it goes, and so it is.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee