Tuesday, Mar. 11, 2003 / 4:24 p.m.

~Life Is Good, So Far~

What a peculiar Google search: 'free photos hairy vaginas'. Can you imagine if vaginas were hairy? At what age does one learn that a vagina and a vulva are two very different things? Close, near, proximity-wise, but that's like calling an anus a colon (or a rectum?), isn't it?

Reminds me of some joke Whoopi Goldberg told on Letterman last night (Letterman must be REALLY sick to still be out, letting others host for him), something about the state of this country, and it being no wonder as it's run by a Bush, a Dick and a Colin. She said the only bush she wanted running things is her own.

Fairly 'off color' for Letterman. And it went on from there, with Jessica Lange, and Whoopi asking her about her antiwar speaking (she was at the Rally I went to in D.C. on January 18th, by the way). So, it was good, but I kept waiting for the screen to go dark, to get some message that CBS was experiencing technical difficulties or something.

I'm still undecided about this weekend. 3/4 of me is saying, "No way, not again, not the fucking bus, not with Sandy and his son, and Skipper is going too, and I don't want to get sick again, and no, forget it, really", and 1/4 of me is saying, "I've got to go to THIS one, THIS one is gonna be BIG, THIS will be the one to go to, of ALL the marches/demonstrations, forget the rest, this will be classic, I don't have to sit on the same bus as Sandy and his son, I can tell Skipper to fuck himself, oh, I already did, I wrote to him that I didn't appreciate being called a cunt and a bitch, and he claimed an alcohol-induced blackout. Whatever. It could be really fun, THIS march..."

So, I went shopping, again, for food this time. First I dropped by the work site to pick up my Girl Snout cookies from the receptionist, and being there on my day off is always SO weird, like everyone looks like a stranger, like I shouldn't step too far in, but the receptionist was really nice, really appreciates the way I always buy my cookies on time, I look for her, she doesn't have to find me, and I took away my SEVEN boxes and went shopping at the Farmer's Market.

They're still reorganizing, they got some new freezers and people were busily loading them up. A lot of the produce sucked, but that may just be the time of year, or the day of the week, not sure. The tomatoes sucked, the peppers were sort of saggy, the potatoes were crappy and there was a small selection of onions, but the 'shrooms were great and I loaded up on fresh shiitakes.

(My downstairs neighbor is cooking something, the smell is wafting in through my open windows, something meaty, not chicken for a change, but maybe stew? The weather is not stew weather, but who knows?)

I bought so much stuff, I'd say it's not funny, but it was never meant to be funny, so maybe I'll say I enjoyed shopping, I took my time, I went up and down most aisles, a general idea of what I wanted, and a general idea of what I'd allow myself to splurge upon.

Pickled okra. Love it. More smoked tofu. Thai flavored this time. More bocconcini, it's been awhile. Smoked salmon, mmmmmm. Mango juice, and apple juice, and marinated artichoke hearts, two different kinds of bottled salad dressing, though I make my own quite well (I like the ease of simply pouring it on), some fancy sausages, one with lamb and mint (man, I forgot that one until I just wrote it, I should have that tonight!), one is Andouille, I think, really, I forget, and ground chuck, to freeze (these are organic or hormone free or antibiotic free, or all of the above, meats), organic eggs, smoked oysters.

Oh, and asparagus, broccoli, zucchini, yellow squash, celery, lettuce, green and red capsicums (bell peppers), it goes on and on, and on, oh, and honey maple butter to put on my organic blueberry frozen waffles.

I should eat and eat and eat, and be happy. I should start now.

Did I mention pastas, three different kinds, and an organic garlic/tomato pasta sauce? I'm excited. I have raw materials, now I just need to put them together. I wanted to do the recipe thing, peruse my cookbooks, shop for ingredients, but it seems to serve me better, lately, to just fill my fridge and go from there.

I should have the lamb sausage, maybe with some green onions, I'm not sure. Asparagus on the side? Strong flavors, I need to think about this.

Oh, oh, oh, and the tricolor peppercorns I've been looking for. Know how they always seem to come in a pepper grinder you buy in a set, or separately, but you can't find just the peppercorns? Well, I did, they had them at the Market, but they're fucking expensive! Did I let that keep me from buying them? Of course not. I spent over $130 today, total.

Two bottles Merlot too, different vineyards, different countries. One from Chile, the other from California.

So, the porch is open, wide open, it's about 70 degrees, fahrenheit, the windows are open (reggae is on the College Radio station), it's great, feels really, really nice, though I saw a layer of pollen accumulated on my car windows earlier.... where are the cats??? On the fucking bed.

Oh, indoor cats suffer so, they can't go outside, they need to be outside, blah, blah, fucking blah, yeah? Well my two don't want to leave the bed! So there. They prefer the comfort of down and flannel. And speaking of that, I not only changed my sheets last night, put on the flannel again, but I turned my mattress, which isn't easy by one's self. I didn't flip it, but turned it end to end, because where my hips had been lying is now a coil-y dip. It makes a huge difference! Happy, happy, joy, joy.

Really, not much angst today, not much political ranting, or anger or hatred or even worry. Just yeah, hey, I got some stuff done, I've slept late, I've relaxed, I have Girl Snout cookies, SEVEN boxes, and a fridge filled with food that must be eaten fairly quickly, so the challenge is on! Cook it in the most appropriate order, freeze meats if need be, and don't forget a piece of fruit every so often (Mmmmm.... big fat strawberries and grapes too!).

Could be a lot worse, as Brent likes to say, Be Encouraged.

Holla.

Peace, Out.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee