Saturday, Apr. 16, 2005 / 11:04 p.m.

~Movies and Prattle~

Stop me if I already updated here today. Did I? Okay then, I'll rattle something off.

This lumpectomy thing is pretty serious actually. Especially if it's kept in mind that Gladys has not had any surgery since her ovariohysterectomy at six months, and that's a helluva big surgery for someone less than one year old. The doctor says that it's extremely rare for a cat who was spayed before her first estrus to have mammary cancer.

It also needs to be kept in mind that neither of my cats went to the vet for approximately six years, perhaps even seven, before I took G. in because she was taking to lying by her water bowl. The kidney thing, remember?

Ah well, I can't expect everyone to freak out like I am. I mean, she's not everyone's cat, she's mine. Norm is out of sorts though, and surely it was my trying to insert her in the carrier yesterday for a 'ride along'. What was I thinking? She is not the one who hisses for days when G. comes back from the vet, it's highly the other way around, as it turns out. Good thing, too, but we'll see the reactions after Monday. Oh good, another reason to hate Mondays. Just watch it rain.

Okay, look, if it rains, that will be the end of it, I'll know I was Hitler in my previous life. Karma, it's all about the Karma.

Speaking of war (were we?), I watched "Grand Illusion" tonight, and now I know where "Hogan's Heroes" and "The Great Escape" came from, but I do not, repeat, do not see how it is the greatest and most scathing antiwar film ever made. It didn't seem much about war at all, to me, but about men, but then war is all about men too, now isn't it?

So it was a French "Great Escape", with less action, and weird scenes that weren't explained at all. Like how did that guy end up in solitary? And was the cast suddenly off his arm to indicate the passage of time? Did I miss something? True, my mind is wandering a bit lately, but I swear I did watch that movie, I didn't leave the room once... or did I?

I watched another movie today too, "Treasure of the Sierra Madre", and I have to say my favorite part was when Humphrey Bogart is calling after the character named 'Curtin', and he says, "Koitn! Koitn! Koitn!!!!!" I laughed.

But what a miserable ending, I mean all that time spent watching these guys mine this gold and fight off banditos, only to lose it all as if it were sand used to weight down hides? And, sorry if I'm spoiling it, but Bogart fucking dies! He's beaten to death, most unpleasant.

Which reminds me, because I slept with TCM on all night, I woke to watch part of this Burt Lancaster movie, "Brute Force", in which Hume Cronyn, as prison warden, proceeds to beat the holy crap out of some prisoner or other, and then the prisoners beat the crap out of the prison guards, and everyone is sort of beating the crap out of everyone else, thankfully in black and white, and there is a guy tied to some kind of train car, and since he's on the front he's shot first, and then everyone else is shot, and it was simply awfully unpleasant, and I realized movie violence and torture goes much farther back than "24" (yes, that's TV violence, not movie, I know that). And I'd never seen Hume Cronyn acting when he was a young man, only the old Hume, the Jessica Tandy/Hume Cronyn Hume.

I also realize this, my Monday through Friday experience lately is such that when I wake on Saturday, even if I've slept on the sofa, I have no idea what day it is, and I am often so confused I simply go back to sleep until I can figure it out at a later time. This can be good, but the dreaming to old movies playing on the TV thing is a bit disconcerting. And no, I won't turn it off. It's oddly comforting. All that black and white, I think. I grew up watching TV in black and white, we didn't get color 'til I was about 13. Crazy, huh?

I wonder what kids today will be writing in their online diaries and journals years from now, that they didn't get virtual reality chips embedded in their foreheads until they were what, 15? I have no clue where we're headed, but it is fun to watch movies depicting people using old fashioned technology, or no technology at all, and remembering what it was like before we all had ADD. It. Was. Sloooooooower.

Along with all the recent personal turmoil has come a loss of appetite, or perhaps I should word it quite the opposite, the turmoil has entered, the appetite has left, and so it is my first food of today was a bag of microwave popcorn I just popped and ate, and now there are kernel shells in my teeth, most unpleasant, and there was little desire even for this much food. My appetite not only left, it took its belongings with it.

I'm feeling a strong desire to see what movies are on NOW, though I hear "Monsoon Wedding" is not over yet, and I backed out of that one, too much too soon after the war prisoners movie. I still don't get that film, that "Grand Illusion", I think I need to do some research online to see why it's great. I am open and willing to be persuaded to believe that I really did enjoy it.

Here comes "Lumpectomy Girl" - did I mention she has no idea? Poor thing. Her whole life is going to be changed after Monday. Her whole existence. She won't have that thing weighting down her belly any longer, and she may have to have the mastectomy later on. And Norma will be all alone all day on Monday. Please, let it not rain.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee