2001-10-03 / 9:48 p.m.

~Making Contact~

I'm taking a break from "The Amazing Race" just to write a brief entry. I hear that Nick Drake song, "Pink Moon"....the Volkswagen commercial is on.

I feel badly for removing people from my favorite diaries list. I must have taken off 4 or 5 people, and all for different reasons. I had noticed one person removed me, one person I'd never added to my list, and frankly, I didn't understand why she had me listed for so long. We are nothing alike, she is young, her diary is filled with graphics, very little writing. I must've finally stopped appealing to her, or maybe she just wanted to clean up her profile page, as did I.

One person was the first person I added, I think, months ago, but I'd never gone back to read her again. She'd left me a note in my guestbook and that was that. Some people simply don't update, and I wouldn't want to recommend a diary that is out of date.

And one I removed for complicated reasons, and all in all it's very childish, isn't it? I feel like adding them all back in again, but I'll leave well enough alone......

(Oh, back to the show.....be back in a bit...........Well, the couple married for 40 years didn't make the cut. Damn. I really liked them. 40 years, still holding hands, displaying spontaneous surges of affection. Wow.)

So, yeah, I feel badly about possibly hurting people's feelings, deleting them, openly declaring them "favorites", then taking it back, changing my mind. Truth is, I probably will still read your diaries, I don't know how often, but I will, I just won't have you listed. Maybe it was some bizarre statement on my part, meaning lost to anyone but me.

I've been in touch with almost everyone I have listed, or maybe everyone, via email. They've written me or I've written them, and maybe the ones I removed didn't seem to want to get there, to that point. Maybe I felt that they would never want to know me outside my diary.

Maybe.

Meanwhile, I'm missing the people from the demonstration. They set up a new Yahoo Group, the local chapter of the International Action Center, and I was sent an invitation to join. Now I'm in two local Yahoo Groups for antiwar action. For this I am very excited. I will get my photo disk back tomorrow and I can't wait to post my pictures from the demo there.

Things may just happen after all.

And one of you, maybe I shouldn't say here, now, but we might be friends, and I am so glad. We might really know each other, we've shared a good bit of information, via email, and thank god for the internet. No, I know no "god" made the internet, but imagine if we didn't have it. Imagine organizing a protest the old fashioned way.....I told Dianne on the van ride up to D.C. how amazing it is that so much could be done through email now. I contacted her via email to see if we were organizing, she got back, sent out mass emails, etc. It's a 21st Century Anti War Movement. How cool is that?! And I can meet people the same way, some here, through diaryland.

I've already written, sent ICQ messages, gotten to know some good people here. I'm happy for that. Anyone who wants to write to me is welcome, that's what the link is for: Contact. Do it. We're all just folks, after all.

And again, if I offended anyone, I am truly sorry. It's no good to play favorites.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee