Sunday, Sept. 21, 2003 / 12:56 p.m.

~Movie Night Last Night, and Today So Far~

I wanted to leave the previous page up for a bit longer, make sure everyone (hah!) gets a chance to look at the astrological interpretation of my character, but ah, fuck you. What do I care? I put it there for me.

Yes, yes, I'll keep telling myself I write a public diary just for me. That makes it easier. Nudge, nudge, wink, wink, say no more, and etc.

I managed to see two movies on the digital cable last night. Both were long and good. One "Ripley's Game" was violent and moody, and a very nice (the cable guide said 'elegant adapatation' - yet I've never read a Patricia Highsmith novel) character study of Mr Tom Ripley, as realized by John Malkovich, who is just weird and creepy and always has been and always will be. I think I liked the location, small Italian towns, like Vicenza (to which I have been), and the Villa in which Ripley and his young wife (?) lived. I love sets, set design, I love to look at what's on the counter in the kitchen in movies. What glassware are they using? What rugs are on the floors? How many books are in the bookcases? Does it look like people really live there? Etc.

But this was a good story too. We learn that Ripley is a mean son of a bitch, with no feelings for anyone (he claims he has always been without conscience), except perhaps the young wife (?) - are they married? And when he is offended, insulted, comes across a group listening to their host dissing him at a party, well, he employs that host in a vicious game. And it all unfolds slowly and concentratedly, and ends up quite suspenseful, so that I was almost on edge of futon sofa, and the Ennio Morricone (I hope I've spelled correctly) score is perfect, as are all of his scores, and did I detect a bit of Lisa Gerrard (I hope I've spelled correctly) doing her post-Dead Can Dance warbling? Lovely.

Very violent, very. Hard to look at violence, and when did I become so sensitive?

Which brings me to second film of evening, one "Minority Report", which I'd not seen up 'til then, then being last night, for various and sundry reasons, but decided then was the time. Opening is violent, violence and weird special effects ensue. The bit with Tom Cruise standing in front of the evidence screen, hands held aloft like those of a conductor about to conduct an orchestra, just seemed all wrong to me. I hated it. I hated Tom Cruise. But the story grew on me. I liked the premise. The whole 'pre-crime' unit. I'm surprised they haven't made it into a TV show yet, except it would be nothing without all the cool effects, and TV can't afford that crap.

My favorite effect had to be the newspaper with the ever changing headline, the sort of permanent paper with up to date news. That's something we could really use. But it would put print press operators out of business. Anyway, good story, if it took a long time to really reveal the actual story, and quite suspenseful, and very violent, but not as graphic as "Ripley's Game", or so I thought. And what was with the film? Was it digital? It was so blue, and so odd looking, how did Stephen Spielberg achieve all of that? I'm sure there are whole tomes dedicated to answering just that question, but I'm not going to research.

Also, I kept thinking throughout that Moby had written, after seeing said film, that he was in love with the pre-cog - was she Samantha Morton? He said he really liked her shorn hair. Her buzz cut. He was quite turned on by her. So, I watched and thought, hmmm, that's what Moby likes? Man, he'd never like me. I was feeling sort of catty toward Ms Pre-Cog.

Movies are fun, yes?

Then I slept on the sofa, on purpose, but with decadent non purposefulness. As if it were simply an accident, and I didn't have to brush or floss or wash anything because I'd simply 'fallen' asleep. I fell. No time to get up. Even though I woke all morning, and Gladys woke me over and over, and I was hot, then cold, then hot, as I am with the PMS lately. (Menopause must be hell!) Yet, result of it all is I woke early, for me, for a Sunday, around 11:30, and we're just into the 'after'noon portion of the day and I've already washed a couple countersful of dishes, and I'm drinking coffee from my newest Bewitched mug, the one I will indeed use, and it's big and lovely, and I had a hard time getting it yesterday, as it was delivered to the closed leasing office, as someone must've been there to sign for it on Friday, PRIORITY MAIL, and the doofus mailman didn't take it to the other office, down the street, where the packages NOW go, so I went there, and came back here, and a young gentleman opened the office for me and we didn't see it, but then I did, and all is well, but I am so creeped out that the office is all closed up.

The maintenance dudes use it every day, maybe to use the bathroom, or plan their day, I'm not sure, but they're there first thing in the a.m. every weekday, and they come and go from there, but the office part, where the desks are, is cleared. Empty desks, empty surfaces, and it's so sad. Sadder still to see a candy jar filled with butterscotch candies, and for whom? How can they rent out all these empty apartments if the office is defunct? This more than 'creeps me out', this worries me, this bothers me, irks me, annoys me, puzzles me, and etc.

I must do laundry, I must shower and wash hairs, lots of water usage today, and watch the "GL"s on tape, and prepare for an evening of Emmy Awarding later. Should be good, as there was good TV last year. Whee! I'm semi-in the mood to clean, and this is good. We'll see how much, if anything, I accomplish, beyond what I've done already.

And, I didn't win the Lottery. I've been buying tickets lately, one at a time, of course, as all it takes is one winning ticket, but nothing yet. I really thought it was time for me to win. I was wrong.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee