Sunday, Jan. 16, 2005 / 11:06 p.m.

~The Weekend, In Review, Encapsulated, Abbreviated, and Such~

I've got a cat requesting my attention... NOW, so this should be short, if I am capable of 'short'. I'd have written something last night, if my Chinese takeout had not put me to sleep on the sofa whilst I was diligently attempting to keep my eyes open for "Fahrenheit 451", mesmerized as I was by Julie Christie's dual performance, and unable to shake that the opening credits were read aloud instead of words on the screen, in keeping with the subject of outlawed written words.

Sleeping to TCM had me waking to "Lord of the Flies" in the middle of the night, and dreams of killing Piggy, and pigs, one replete with visible cross section of pig with portion of skin missing. Quite thick is pigs' skin, at least in my dreams.

Last night, prior to Chinese takeout, was movie "Kinsey", about scientist of same name who conducted sex surveys quite a long time ago, to better help us understand our human sexuality, and I say thank you, Dr. Kinsey, but I saw a review on Yahoo! written by someone who thinks Kinsey was a perv, still, in this 'day and age'. Shocking how not so far we've come all these years later.

We will always have intolerance, ignorance, misunderstanding, as long as the ignorant continue to breed. Teach your children well, as they say.

Really good movie, that one.

And then, and then, and then, today I went out to yet another movie, and really I've only made a dent in the list of 'movies I want to see'. This one, "The Incredibles", which wasn't quite what I expected, somehow. It's about a family of exiled superheroes, in the 'superhero protection program', sort of. The animation was unbelievably spectacular, as with all Pixar films, but I spent the first thirty minutes, at least, trying to remember whose voice was portraying Mrs. Incredible, aka Elastigirl. I knew the speech impediment, the sort of lisp, but I could not place her, then it hit me, and then I had to sit there trying to think of her name... Hunt, Hunt, what, Helen Hunt, no, no, and finally... Holly Hunter! Yes.

I think they should use total unknowns for voice talent in animated films. Far too distracting to sit and guess, and it's inevitable, really. The guessing.

That movie wore me out, as did the kicking of a chair in my row, finally, by a small child in the row behind me. Thump, thump, thump, thump, along with non stop action that made me wish.it.would.simply.END.already!

And then the Golden Globes tonight. One boring acceptance speech after another, long lists of names that the majority of viewers will find absolutely less than meaningless, livened up by a fantastic and passionate and well, lively, speech by Jamie Foxx! Whooo!!

Glad "Sideways" won, and I have no desire ever to see "The Aviator" - Leo DiCaprio as Howard Hughes? Why? Um, no, that's okay.

And WAY glad Natalie Portman and Clive Owen won for "Closer", my current favorite movie. Makes me want to see it again.

Oh, oh, oh, Mick Jagger provided more levity, and humor, joking about his and Dave Stewart's numerous children, too numerous to mention (er, not with each other, but you know). Dave Stewart. Seems like the name Annie Lenox should be permanently attached to his.

And please excuse any misspelled names.

Thank you.

Have I included the bad Chinese takeout? Not horrible inedible bad, but god, isn't there ANY good Chinese food in this part of the world? bad. And this place came so fucking highly recommended.

Last, but not least, it's cold again, feels like January. Imagine that. Now, cats, bed, work tomorrow, blech. Horoscope says I stand a good chance this week of getting what I want, so I should be sure I know what that is, know for certain what I do not want. Could I know any MORE certainly? I think not. I know exactly, right? I know exactly all that I want, and what I need, and they are closely linked, and if there is a slight chance I'll get any of it, this week, due to Jupiter aligning with Mars (hey, isn't that a song lyric?), well then, so be it.

Let us pray.

That is all.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee