Wednesday, Apr. 03, 2002 / 6:29 p.m.

~News Re: My Birthday, and Other Stuff~

My birthday is Saturday, so everyone be sure to send your cards and letters Here. Of course, I'll also be accepting cash - just let me know and I'll give you my home address so you can mail me a check or money order. Large bills are always nice for birthdays.

Gladys' birthday is tomorrow, Thursday, and she is also accepting gifts. Even though Norm's birthday was last Friday, she is still accepting too. Gifts are always good, you know, please don't feel you have to wait until a birthday to give. Giving feels good. You should do it ALL the time.

Good. Now that we have the shameless self-promotion portion of the program out of the way, we can move on.

I'm taking off from work Friday and Monday, another four day weekend for which I have so much planned, tentatively of course, and during which I'll no doubt simply lounge around and play on the internet and watch insane amounts of television, and sleep. But that all remains to be seen.

Since, during a gregarious moment, I mentioned to Lulu, et al., that these are my plans, and therefore they'd better have my cubicle all decorated by Thursday, I think they actually are going to. Decorate. I saw both Veronica and Penelope (don't you love the phony names I've assigned my co-workers?) playing with the streamers, readying and inventorying the stash, and at the end of the day Daronda (have I used her real name up until now?) let slip that she is bringing a vegetable platter tomorrow. She looked me right in the eye when I looked up upon hearing her, and kept talking. I said, "Oh, that sounds good", and Lulu caught her eye from behind me, must've said something under her breath, then, "Why? Why are you bringing that? For snacking?", but it was too late.

Sorry. It's not too possible to surprise me on my birthday. It's all too obvious. The surprise comes when no one does anything. I'd rather not be surprised, thanks.

So tomorrow should be fun. My first birthday around Lulu. Even though there's major resentment there, at least on my part, perhaps not hers, she is still fun, and she likes to make things special for people. Although I think she gives so she can receive, attention if nothing else, she clearly enjoys the act. Of giving.

Our new project had us working today, all the way to the end of the day. Highly unusual. I told D., the Supervisor, "We're just not used to actually working", and she gave me one of her, "Oh stop!"s, but I said, "No, really, normally we're reading, or chatting, we don't work a lot". So, I don't mind actually earning my bread. Everyone griped that we should get a pay raise as we are asked to do more work, not even asked, but told, but I know nothing will change.

Yesterday I had that headache, all day long. It changed, it grew, it shrank, it changed shapes, left the neck, went to the base of my skull, went to my forehead, all over really, I was squinting, I was tired, it played with me all day, through the horrible phone calls, the woman who called me "Madam", telling me, "You WILL call payroll and tell them to call me, my number is blah, blah, blah", and I didn't even write it down.

Oi vey! It was so horrible, getting on the highway after work, the guy behind me passing me into the same merge lane, hey, we're merging together asshole! All of it combined to one of those walk in the door, close it and start crying kind of moments. Some days are just really hard, you know? And to have no one around to bitch to, no one around to rub my feet when they cramp, or fix me something to eat when I'm hungry, or just rub my neck when I've clearly had a migraine all day long.

Waaaaaaaa..... can you hear me whining?

And to think I wanted to spare the few people who actually read this diary. I wanted to spare you, didn't want to burden you, force you to scroll instead of giving you something fun to read, like Uncle Bob and Weetabix, your favorites. Well, I'm me, not them, tough shit. At least I'm just giving you the recap now instead of all the garbage I might have spewed had I logged on last night.

Sometimes I am far too aware that people actually read this.

Tonight is "Amazing Race" and "Felicity", or tonight ARE.... but either way, they're on at the same time so I'll be watching one, taping the other, and although I've watched all of "Felicity"'s run so far, I'm not too sorry it's almost over. I am SO sick of the way Ben always whispers. They all whisper. Well, not Megan and Sean, but still. And why oh why does Felicity love Ben? What in fuck is to love? He's a total dick. All I can think is he must be amazing in bed.

I think that's all I have for now. I have some diaries to read before I finish my laundry and watch my stories. Tee hee, my "stories". (Okay, for anyone who missed it, not that it's that great, but here's that picture I posted previously, the one of me holding Lilly the day after she was born, hours really. Hers was a Ceasarian birth, and her mom was positively loopy from pain meds. The birth was planned to be quite natural, with little to no interference from anyone other than a team of midwives, at home, but, well, things don't always go as planned, do they? My friend Hermione ended up with extremely high blood pressure and Lil wasn't coming out, so labor was induced, and many of those epidural shots were given, and things were bad, so Lil was scooped out. But she was so hot and red when I saw her. Just this hot bundle of Lil. I said her name over and over again, and it wasn't just that she was "a baby", she was Lilly. I won't put her whole name here, but it's fairly amazing and totally unusual, unless you're of Celtic origin. I can't explain the connection I felt to her, it was more than just me holding someone's baby. But, she's three now, and very far away, and I doubt I'll see her again. *Sigh* Anyway, there you go.)

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee