2001-10-02 / 6:46 p.m.

~No Clever Title For This Entry~

Not that all my other entries do have clever titles, but all the same. I just had a lot of stuff on my mind, wanted to write it down, then I came home and ate some french fries with Gladys, then a hot ham 'n cheese, from Hardee's, and the thoughts have kind of scattered to different parts of my brain, kinda like those Jets and Sharks when ol' Officer Krupke shows up......scatter!

Lame "West Side Story" reference.

Overall, I'm low. I'm depressed. Why? Mmmmmm.....not totally sure. I think maybe it really, really sucks that I'm not directly in touch with anyone I went to D.C. with. I mean, Keya showed up at work today - she was off yesterday for orientation at school - but she didn't march, she wasn't there for the same reason I was, she was there to tour D.C. while I listened to empassioned pleas for peace, ogled young men and marched down Pennsylvania Ave. It's not the same thing.

Perhaps I'm lonely? Is this possible? It so seldom happens, I hardly recognize it when it does. But, yes, that could be it.

I was stopped at a red light on the way home, waiting, waiting, as I listened to music blaring from the car next to me, and it seemed so odd to hear music coming from a car. My radio has been out for years, maybe 6 years?, and my tape deck broke a month or so ago. I'm used to driving in silence now.

I started feeling sick again at work, logy, feverish, sore throat, not just logy, insanely exhausted, and cold because the a/c is set at about 40 degrees, I think. I feel better now, but as I sat with my sweater wrapped around me in front, backwards if you will, I became so comfortable I was in serious danger of falling asleep. Then the phones went down, and then I was asked to fill in at the front desk for the receptionist. I sat there for the last hour of the day, reading the newspaper. I hadn't read the paper in months. Well, online, sometimes, but not in paper format.

I didn't learn much I don't already know. Sydney Omarr says today is supposed to be some great romantic day for me, but I kinda don't think so. I have no plans to head out, and unless Nelson calls late wanting more phone sex nothing is going to happen. I know this.

What else? Surely there's more. Oh yes, I've been cleaning up my "favorite diaries" list, so if you check and see that your name is gone, and there are a few I've omitted, please don't be offended, it's just that, as Kat said last night, "Tastes change". I don't read too many diaries any more, just the few I've listed, people who update a lot, daily hopefully, or those to whom I've become attached, as "cyber friends". Ah....cyber friends.

I'm falling behind. I need to do "chores", vacuum, dust, catch up on my reading, shop for food, cook, etc., but all I want to do is be online, reading articles, or writing, or watching TV. Occasionally.

Oh, here's what I wanted to say....! The cable company added four new channels, only two of which I recognized, Oxygen and National Geographic Channel, but to do this they changed the locations of ALL the channels, ALL the channels!!! I mean, channel 9, which is really channel 46, can now be found on 4, and Disney, which was 21, I think is now 51. MTV2 was 203, but now it's 500something, or 400something. I have no idea where anything is. It requires extensive research just to see what's on at any given time.

So, I called them today, and their lines were busy most of the day - no doubt everyone was freaking out completely! I finally got someone and she said, in her heavy Hispanic accent, "I was chocked too, thees morning when I watch thee news and eet was nut on the right channel!" Or something like that. Her accent was so cute (sorry if that's not pc, but hey, I'm just an observer of people, okay?). So, yeah, it's a permanent thing, and I should just understand that adding 4 new channels required they restructure the entire system. Uh, but I do not understand.

Seriously, even as they've been bought out, time and again, become one company, then another, then another, and now it's digital, and whoop de fucking doo, they always kept at least the basic "free" channels in the same place. The stuff you can pick up if you have an antenna and elctricity, ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, TBS, WB, UPN, PBS. Now......who the fuck knows where anything is?! Oh, she says they'll be sending out new channel cards.

D., my supervisor, is on the same cable system, so I commiserated with her. I said, "It's like the phone company changing your phone number and not telling you", and she gave me the nod, the yeah, hey, you are so right! look. Yeah. Well, stranger things have happened at sea, and we still have cable, which TV is not worth watching without, in my opinion.

Okay, drivel. I'm dried up here. If I think of more profound things to write I'll come back later, but for now I just feel emptied out. I have been through so many intense emotions in the past three weeks or so, and now I don't know where to go from here. Plus, being in close contact with so many new people, then not seeing them anymore, is just plain weird.

The Austrian woman sent me pics from the march, but they're kind of dark. When I get mine I'll send those out and maybe I'll be able to stay in touch with some people. Who knows.

Oh, wait, I just remembered the other pressing item for business! I placed an order for a really cool tote bag, one with moons, suns, stars, stuff like that, a bag in which I can carry all my shit to and from work, and some weird little cat and dog shower curtain hooks (I'm a sucker, yes, I know) from a catalog that Lulu said looked like it was for old ladies. So, I come home for lunch on Friday and there's a note from the postal carrier saying my package has arrived indeed and it is at the leasing office. I go to the leasing office and the door is locked and there is no note because they are stupid like that.

I wait until Monday, yesterday, because, well, my weekend was kind of busy, and I go to the leasing office and the package is not there. (Isn't this a fun story?) I call the post office and a nice gentleman looks around for my package, says it's not there, and he'll call me, blah, blah, blah. So, this morning, after he was supposed to have called, I call him, and he says the regular postal carrier had a heart attack and is in the hospital and no one is sure where his stuff is. I wonder if he went down while on the job........anyway, so they're all scrambling, and he's not sure if my package went to outgoing mail or what, and he'll call me, and he repeats my work phone number and my home phone number and my address, and yeah, sure, he is so on the ball. But I'm fucked, right? I paid for that shit, I want it, it arrived in a timely manner and now the guy who left it somewhere is in hospital with a bypass or something. Harrumph.

Not that I'm not sympathetic, but jeez, neither sleet nor snow, nor rain, nor whatever, including heart attacks is supposed to keep my mail from getting to me, right? Dammit, I have to wait until Friday latest to hear back from this guy while my package is in package limbo. Isn't my life just too exciting?

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee