2001-08-10 / 1:39 p.m.

~Picking Up Cubans, and The Big Game~

Today the musical program has changed - giving Jeff Buckley a break and listening to the Grateful Dead, "Without a Net"�.ahhhhhhh�..it's been too long since I've listened to the Dead, definitely in need of a fix. How can anything be wrong when one is listening to this version of "Bird Song"???? Excellent album, double album, go buy it NOW. It has Branford Marsalis on it too.

Later that morning: Turns out I'm not listening to the Dead after all. For some reason I'm afraid I won't be able to hear the phone when it rings. Not that it's ringing a lot.

I could feel good today, but the vibe here is all wrong. A., my one and only confidante, is very quiet, perhaps introspective, I don't know, but I feed off her energy and it's not good today.

We met the new permanent employee, another L. She starts Monday. We'll all take turns training her and the two temps that will be here. Oh, I cannot wait! Insert sarcasm emoticon here.

I'm going for a Big Game ticket today at lunch. I can win this, right? I mean people do, win, don't they? We see them on the news, holding their huge fake cardboard checks, nervous smiles on their faces, sort of an expression of quiet panic. Don't you just know they're terrified they'll be hounded now by every person they've ever known? That their wives/husbands will leave them and try to get huge divorce settlements? Oh yeah.

But me? I'd lie low. (yeah, it's not "lay" low, that's grammatically incorrect)

I'd hold on to my ticket for a while, consult an investment counselor, and try to get something quickly, some of the money, as quickly as when I come forward, so I can come in to work, here, gather my photos and personal papers, and say, Adios Muchachas! I'm leaving and I ain't comin' back.

And the next day they'd be introducing my replacement, no doubt. We're a dime a dozen.

My fantasy for the day�.nice, huh?

Yeah, I'd quit, as soon as I knew I'd have some cash to pay my bills, you know, get the actual cheese. And then would be the major lying low part. Maybe have to change my phone number. Maybe have to be real paranoid. Maybe find some way to take off, do some traveling - with the girls? N & G traveling? Hah!

Look, every single time I buy a Big Game ticket I think I'm going to win. Every single time I say, This could be it, this could be the time, my horoscope says things are going to work out, there has to be a way out, haven't I suffered long enough? Etc. Every single time. Today will be no exception.

Oh yeah, I'm going to pick up a Cuban too.

That's kind of an old joke, from last year. A year old joke. I'd tell Mark, my bestest friend, the one I cannot be friends with anymore because he wants to sleep with me and I don't find him attractive, that Mark, I'd say, "Mark, what are you having for lunch?" and he'd tell me, and I would say, "I'm going to Publix to pick up a Cuban", as in, there are Cuban people hanging out there, at Publix, and I'm going to pick one up for a lunchtime tryst or something.

But really it's just a good sandwich, a Cuban sandwich. Pick up a Cuban and a Big Game ticket. A little lunchtime ritual.

Man, (what am I, a fucking hippie?) I have very little to write today, or maybe I have way too much, volumes and volumes, and don't know where to start and it's hard to type when the phone keeps ringing��.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee