2001-08-10 / 6:43 p.m.

~Later that day......so much to say~

Where to begin? The weather. Yes, the weather.

The air lately has smelled bad and made me sneeze. Not a lot, no alergies, but it's been thick, an oppressive nasty blanket of hazy smoggy muck. All gray and white and ugly, the heat too hot with that air. Now, today, somewhere between lunch and now, it cleared, some front moved through, some high pressure system, and the sky is actually blue! There are some light clouds, but the greens are green, the blue of the sky is not deep autumn blue, but it's blue, not gray, not white with haze.

Oh, it's joyous indeed.

If I had a good friend, someone fun to talk to, someone fun to be with, who would also have to have expendable income, well, I'd call him/her up and say, "Hey, let's go to some outdoor cafe and eat and drink and while away this evening, then we'll go dance and be crazy", but, um, I don't have any friends like that.

This doesn't make me sad, not at all, I just think, well, shit, that sucks. It would be fun.

I got my CDs in the mail - I LOVE internet shopping! This company, MyMusic, must be in Canada. They took a day off for some Canadian/British holiday on Monday, but I still got them today and I only ordered them what, Saturday? That's great.

The Moby CD had a sticker on the front that said, "...A Masterpiece", and below that, <<...Un Chef-d'oeuvre!>>, a quote from SPIN magazine.

I'm listening to it now, "Play", and I love it, but I knew I would. He was so amazing at Area:One!!

The liner notes are little essays Moby has written on subjects like veganism, mistreatment of American prisoners and fundamentalism. Fascinating stuff. He sounds like a really cool person.

Also, MyMusic stuck two pieces of Bazooka bubble gum in the box, I guess one per CD. Isn't that fun?

I'm giving Kat my Hello Kitty keychain thing that's been hanging from my rearview mirror since I got it in my Happy Meal at the Zoo the day after Memorial Day. I'm actually going to miss it, but she collects Hello Kitty stuff, so I said I'd send it to her. I'll just attach my disco ball keychain to something else. I think I have a little Tigger keychain thingie, also from McD's.

She says she'll read my Tarot cards in exchange. I look forward to it. I used to read my own cards quite frequently, but "they" say you shouldn't do that. Not that I memorized the meanings of each card, I use the booklet that came with them, a really cool deck, Karen Kuykendall's Tarot of the Cat People. Anyway, it will be great to have them read for me by someone new.

This morning I was thinking about how cool my parents were (cool=word of the day). They were so well traveled, so well educated, so liberal, so fascinating in their own ways, but they both died such painful and awful deaths, suffering due to cancer. That really sucks. Not to be flippant, but I was just thinking about it this morning for some reason, in the shower, how they shouldn't have had to end that way.

Moving right along.....there's this really cool (word of day) PSA (Public Service Announcement) on the college radio station I listen to, all about rights for turtles. Seriously. It says something about it being summertime and people traveling to Florida and seeing turtles crossing the road. It starts out, "Why did the turtle cross the road? The answer is as simple as to get to the other side". So, it goes on to say you should avoid hitting the turtle, but you should not stop and take the turtle with you someplace else. No, put the turtle on the other side of the road, in the direction it was heading. Leave it there and wave goodbye. Well, it doesn't say to wave goodbye, I added that.

Isn't that cool though? I love it. Animal rights, animal welfare, Moby, veganism, yeah. Why do I still eat meat? Oh, hell, I'm not going there, as the kids say, nope, not now.

Here's something else. Today, as I was typing up my documents, and there were many that I typed, I looked at one and couldn't remember if I typed it or not. I mean, this actually happened all day. It's hard to type stuff up and answer the phone at the same time, unrelated, the two things. Start to type a name, an address, etc., phone rings, help person on phone, delete what I started to type, type in phone call stuff, go back and redo it, but did I do it already? Wait.

Looked at one to verify and it was this weird city, Tecumbia or someplace, in Alabama, did I type that? Yeah. There it is. But I had no recollection of typing it, like I was seeing it for the first time, Hey, Tecumbia or whatever, what a funny name for a town.

Like the time I was driving cross country with the long term relationship. It was my turn to drive and he was sleeping. It was late at night, and I woke up. No, I was driving, then I woke up. I'd fallen asleep, didn't know it, woke up and thought, Wait, was I driving? Was I sleeping?

Today was, did I type that? Did I just do that? All day.

Weird.

Two more topics and I'll wrap it up. But this stuff makes me think of Perceptions. I have a hard time walking with shoes on. At home I never wear shoes. No one does who comes here. Come in, remove shoes. No shoes in the apartment. So, when I put them on and start walking it's like my feet can no longer judge how to place themselves on the ground. How much room to allow for the shoe. It's weird. Any shoes, even my Birks.

Today was athletic shoes. Trouble. It's just weird to wear shoes.

Lastly, for now, I've been watching work crews install cables all along the highway for months now, driving to work, home for lunch, back, then home again. Blue, orange, yellow cables. Dig up the asphalt in the emergency lanes, the "shoulders", lay the cables (also a euphemism for defecating, "lay some cable", according to the long term relationship - I've said before, he taught me all kinds of words, expressions, etc.), pave over them.

Erect these tall steel towers, like lampposts, but taller, very narrow at the top. Cables must run through them. Months and months, me wondering, HUH?

Always, HUH? What is it FOR? For WHAT is it? TV? Cell phones? Internet?

Well, few days ago I got my answer. Cameras.

Oh yeah, talk about misspent funds! Instead of spending our tax dollars on a MUCH needed rapid transit system, something like the LIRR in Long Island, or any commuter train anywhere, from suburbs to city, they spend our money on an elaborate system of cameras so people in a "control center" can "monitor" the roads, tell us where the trouble is.

Basically, so some overpaid people can sit in a nice darkened room flanked by walls of television monitors watching how horrible the traffic is in this city and the outlying suburbs. They can watch me now, on my way to work, then home for lunch, then back, then back home, and they can say, "Man, traffic sure does suck. Look at all them trucks! Dang! Wish we had a commuter train for out here!"

Wasn't that smart?

I love it, just love it.

Today, every day, they're fiddling with it, installing, laying more cable, installing, etc.

Now I know.

This is long. I'm out.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee