Saturday, Apr. 02, 2005 / 7:37 p.m.

~The Pope in the Arms of His Father, and My Ass No Longer Vibrating~

It might be too early for an update, as I've not really done a full day's worth of anything interesting, not that I ever do, but it's early yet, and I am here, and well, best seize this moment.

I paid the rent today, handed the new Assistant Manager my check, in an envelope, and he thanked me, saying my name. I know it was only a week ago I gave him my new lease, all signed and delivered, not sealed, but, and I am easily impressed, I am impressed. This is a big apartment complex, lots of people live here, and he knows me by my name.

The maintenance dude does too, which makes me wonder if he's been in my apartment more often than I've realized, and what exactly he knows about me, other than my name.

Maybe it's like the way I'm impressed and happy when I visit Amazon.com and there are recommendations waiting for me, based on previous purchases, sure, but I get a Welcome, and I get the Hey, look, what do you think of this?, and it's nice customer service, better than I get out in the 'real world', ever, seriously.

Like... I ordered my usual from my new favorite Chinese restaurant yesterday, and on the phone, after I gave her my phone number so she could access whatever it was she was going to access, not my address because I was picking the food up myself, and she asked what I'd like to order, I told her, "The same thing I always order", then told her because I knew she had no idea. But why? She should have an idea, and after I give her my phone number, it should be like logging in, and she should say, "Welcome back, Joleen, if you're not Joleen, please click here - And here are some recommendations for you, based on your previous purchases", or at the very least, "Oh, Joleen, Hi, would you like your usual 2 Spring Rolls, Tofu Vegetable Soup, and Curry Tofu, mild, not spicy, today?", I mean would it kill her?

She's always the one I talk to, what is her deal? I tip her too.

I know I'm supposed to boycott Wal Mart, but until there is a national movement, and we all do it at once, I'm not going to be the only one, not just to make myself feel good. They have the crap I need, and want, and at good prices, and it's all there in one place, and I am hooked on the self checkout, even if it did keep telling me to let the contents settle in the bag first, but I had to move the bags because they were full, so why did it keep doing that and flashing and causing the cute guy with the turban to come over and swipe his magnetic card every time the damned light started flashing?

So I had fun spending way too much money, and stocking up on snacks and paper products and toiletries and sundries and such. And that new heavy grade motor oil I need to toss in my car's engine so maybe I can pass my emissions and maybe get my tag renewed, by my birthday, which, yes, yes, I procrastinate, so sue me.

The other big news, not that any of the above can be considered 'big', is that my new downstairs neighbor has a stereo, and she listens to hip hop, and she does not adjust the bass setting to accomodate the fact she lives in an apartment and shares walls and a ceiling with OTHER PEOPLE. This was most disturbing, especially after I learned the Pope died and I really just wanted to watch the CNN coverage and be kinda quiet, but I had to crank up the U2 instead, to fight with her while I angrily washed my dishes, or piss around my apartment and show her this is MY TERRITORY, dammit, and I've been here a long fucking time, and I have a stereo too, and whoo boy, do NOT get me started, because I have a whole musical library, and most of it you will not like, sister, and you will not like when the stereo wars get in high gear.

Shhhhhhhhh... but it's quiet now. My ass shall no longer vibrate when I sit on the sofa trying desperately to find something good to watch on TV, despite the fact there is nothing on.

I realize the Pope had been the Pope for most of my life, some 25 years of my life, and like it or not, he was a constant, an old guy who traveled the globe, and there is some statistic to match it, something like he was the most seen person, up close and personal, like personal appearances, around the world, ever, like he visited more countries and made the most appearances of any one person in history. Of course the ability to get around didn't always exist, but he wanted to be seen, or to see the people, to get his word out, or spread his spirituality, or maybe just show he truly cared, and kiss the ground every time his plane landed, and good for him.

I respect who he was, and it's touching, all the tributes, it just is (though the Catholic Church, in general, is an antiquated and misogynistic partriarchal tradition that could easily come to and end and I'd be fine with that - she says, knowing she is going straight to hell for saying that, but then again, though agnostic, was baptized Catholic, so she is assured a place in heaven, whew!).

Now that it's quiet, and my ass will no longer vibrate tonight, let us pray, I hope to sit and find something actually worth watching on the Tee Vee. I have no plans to go out, it was a long week, the pee em ess is settling in, and I'd like to eat some salty foods, then some sweet foods, and drink cream soda on ice, and just relax. Sounds good, I think.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee