Sunday, Dec. 26, 2004 / 8:16 p.m.

~A Cross-Post, With Addendum~

Gladys just drank a bunch of water and threw it all up. I hate it when that happens, but no more than she. And here I am so busy forgetting she has a disease.

Alas, I kept to my plan last night and took myself to see "Sideways" at the 'art cinema' intown, which was apparently the place to be, as I noted on my way out when it was over. Several people sort of turned and looked at me as well, leaving me to wonder if I'd grown another head during the film, but I think I might have actually looked good - I did wash my hair first after all, and occasionally I am a bit 'striking', not necessarily handsome nor beautiful, but people do double takes.

"Sideways" is currently so insanely lauded that I confess I hoped for more, although I knew relatively nothing more about it than it follows two men on a trip through California's wine country. As it turned out, the one doing the planning of the trip is a morosely depressed man played by Paul Giamatti, and the other is a bit of a middle aged tom cat finally about to be married, out for one last blast, this played by Thomas Haden Church.

They meet two women in wine country, one Virginia Madsen and one Sandra Oh, no, wait, Sandra Oooooooooohhhhhhh!!! Whoa. I knew I have a fetish for Asian men, but Asian women are HOT too. D'ya think I'm horny?

Very intelligent script, very simple film, a lot of wine involved, and romance, and Paul Giamatti is very difficult to watch. His character is so negative and so depressed, he's a chore to spend any time with at all. But he plays it well.

And, two things really stood out, to me, in the script, use of one of my favorite words, 'abattoir', and an ensuing explanation for the one hearing it (which made me laugh), and mention of the book A Confederacy of Dunces, and author of said, and his suicide. Very clever scene, excellent writing, but the character mentioning the book, to my mind, in reality, according to character... never would have heard of that book. Obscure reference, if you're not in the literary world. But good good stuff.

Okay, I laughed, a lot, and I squirmed a bit, but it was a good movie overall, not as good as 'they' say though.

After, the little bistro next door was open! Replete with their sign outside reading 'We're Open!', and I wanted to, oh, I did, but I'd promised myself Chinese takeout, so I hit my favorite intown Chinese place, and found them open, got my favorites, Spring Rolls, Ma Po Tofu and Garlic Chicken, came home and pigged out, and watched "A Civil Action" on TV, and fell asleep about halfway through, which was highly disappointing, but it had to be done.

I got up around 6:30 (a.m.) and listened to most of an informercial selling a book called something like, Natural Cures They Don't Want You to Know About, the author very passionately going on and on and on in his conspiracy theorist tone about the FDA being in bed with the drug companies, and the drug companies not wanting people to get well, but wanting them to take their drugs forever (how more people take drugs now than ever before, and I believe it, but I do not take drugs, no, my recreational drug period was plenty for me, thank you), and all the TV ads for drugs prompting people to go to doctors to request those drugs, and finding doctors who will prescribe them if their own physicians will not, and... how there are natural cures out there for most 'diseases', really, cancer, diabetes, herpes, etc. And, this was interesting, how new disesases are now being classified as diseases, though they really are not, like obesity, just so the drug companies can develop and prescribe drugs for them!

I wanted to order the book, yes, but I did not.

I went to bed and watched more TV until I fell asleep, and I woke up after an intense sex dream involving Sam. I saw him inside some common area of some common living space, and he was naked fresh from a shower, covering himself, and I called to him, he ignored me, I called to him until he came over to me, and I reached out for him and hugged him to me. He was shorter than I am, which in reality he is not, of course. We ended up in his bed, with me on top of him, and after a long tease of a dry fuck, as I was still clothed, he whipped a condom out from under his pillow and handed it to me, and it was not skin tight, it was really loose. Weird. All I remember is sucking on his tongue and it was pierced, with a ring, not a stud, and feeling him enter me, no, puttting him inside of me, and feeling so good, and he told me he loved me... I woke up thinking it was so REAL.

Back to sleep and I slept until 2:30. Insane. I had no intention, but I am good at marathon sleeping/dreaming, so it's no surprise. I planned to see "Motorcycle Diaries" today, but we shall see. It's such a late start.

*Addendum, here and not there: I never left the apt. Spent much time online, reading journals, communicating, chatting with my online English friend, or my English online friend (perhaps one day we shall meet), have been doing a load of wash, or the machines are doing it really, ate my leftover Ma Po Tofu, watched a bit of Tsunami coverage on CNN Headline, wrote a bit, and sat on the sofa a bit with Norm.

I have 12 episodes of "Guiding Light" on tape, and I'm still not 100% through putting my kitchen back to normal, and the bathroom is still not what it should be, contents scattered about on two floors. This has not been easy, but it seems I've suspended my anger and disappointment, and realized the worst parts, my nervous breakdowns, were definitely hormonally induced, or charged at least. The hormonal shifts do not allow for psychological/mental upheaval coinciding.

In other words, I could esperience all of PMS quite well indeed, if only my life did not seem to turn upside down coincidentally, every month, during that time.

I'm desirous once again, longing for physical contact, longing to hear, and to say those words, all of them, but I feel strangely content at the same time. As if the storm has passed and there is calm, and there are blue skies, and if the earthquake happens undersea, I shall feel the wave on shore, but until then I look out at seagulls and small waves lapping gently at the sand.

I heard that the earthquake will have an effect on the earth's rotation, but what sort of effect? How could they say that and not expound? I need to know more.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee