2001-11-07 / 6:21 p.m.

~The Big Five Oh - We'll Simply See~

Another day of no incoming calls at work. It was P.'s birthday, her 50th, and we celebrated. There was a table with food, cake, sparkling cider, singing, dancing. Yes, at work.

We had our usual paperwork, our work that arrives by Next Day Air packages, US mail, FAX, we processed, filed, FAXed, but then we sat around, and we talked. I talked too. Without the phone calls it seems silly to sit with my back turned from them, to ignore everyone in the hopes they'll all just disappear. P. is the one I love most anyway, the genuine one, the true Christian, and I love that she's 50 and beautiful.

I talked to her about aging, asked if she worries about wrinkles, because I am obssessed with some new ones under my left eye. They just appeared, and they're not going anywhere. She is going through menopause too though, and that overshadows all else, for her. For her life with her husband, and their sex life.

Yeah, I guess a few wrinkles aren't that bad comparatively. I guess.

We took half hour lunches, and I didn't know how to spend that time, got food at Wendy's and went for a drive. We work very close to the country, I mean there are horses just down the street, cows too. And hills, and winding roads, and the leaves are all falling and orange and beautiful, so I drove until I got lost, then found my way back, eating fries and a cheeseburger the whole way. The caffeine in the Coke kept me going the rest of the day as we all joined in.

The temp was back, but he left early, after several confabs with his confidantes. He whispers. They whisper together, and I try to like him, but there's something too private there. Some undercurrent which I won't get swept up in. He was sent home. No work. I joked that he was "downsized", for the day.

Oh, I joked all day, we have SO much work to do, can't go home early AGAIN, no, I'm running out of sick time to use, this is silly. So, we stayed. And late in the day, five us sat and talked about being teenagers, raising teenagers, what a harsh world it is, documentaries on television, etc. When I left, 15 minutes before the rest because my time is all screwed up, I was lost. I'd joined in again, like old times, and I can hold my tongue now when I disagree, when Lulu talks of her parenting skills and I pity her poor children! I keep silent. Thank god I'm learning something.

Bush is coming to town tomorrow.....people are planning a demonstration and I said I could join in. I don't feel like making a sign, but I think I know the sentiment.....I won't feel SECURE in my HOMELAND until I know we're not killing innocent people. And yes, I know, they killed our people, oh yes, I cried for them already, but who's crying for the innocent people dying now?

One month today. We've been bombing for one month. And Bush will tour the CDC and speak to 5,000 "invitees" tomorrow. Who are the 5,000? How close can we get? Will the media show us standing along the streets, signs held, candles lit? Will Americans be allowed to know that there is opposition? And that we are not treasonous as some would have you believe? That we love this country, but we love humanity as well, that we seek a peaceful solution, that we want the terrorists brought to justice, not an entire country bombed in their names?

We'll see. The protests are ongoing. The CNN demo is Saturday. Whew.

I got an invitation to Lilly's birthday party in the mail. I've yet to open it, but I know that's what it is...I recognize H.'s handwriting, it can't be missed. There is once again an air of excitement, of change, of things happening, of events to come, not all good, but different, and unknown yet planned. We'll see, all of it, we'll simply see.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee