Thursday, Jul. 18, 2002 / 8:46 p.m.

~The Future's So Bright....According to Jonathan Cainer~

Anyone else think Julie Chen is hot? Mraow!

This is a quick break on a commercial during "Big Brother". I'm trying to think of something to write about. We'll see what pops out of my head in just about 15 minutes.........

Alrighty then. I'm ready.

Get set.

Go!

Um, sure, well, I'm happy Marcellus (I do not know how to spell his name, sorry) won Head of Household. I am already supremely addicted to the "Big Brother 3" program. I knew I would be, it's no surprise, I watch nothing else on TV lately, just movies on weekends. This is it for me, this is IT. I love it really.

I was talking to D., the Supervisor at work about it this morning, but she says she is into the true crime 'reality tv' shows, and there is some new one that shows criminals in court, awaiting verdicts, or something, something about some girl who stabbed some man 60 times, and she tells me she wants to know all about people and why they do the things they do.

She claims to want to know the psychology of the human mind, but I say she really wants to know criminal psychology. "Big Brother" is an excellent way to study people, but they're not killing each other, so I don't think she's interested, not as much anyway.

There is one woman on the show, Lisa, who is constantly touching her hair. Pulling it aside and running her hands through it. It's very annoying to watch. I think it could be part of a drinking game. Take a shot every time she moves her hair around. You'd be drunk in no time.

These people are attractive, mostly, but they're outrageously self aware. Makes sense, seeing as how they're surrounded by cameras, and each other, 24 hours a day, but still. It seems Amy and Danielle and Gerry, at least, can talk without touching themselves.

Which reminds me, I wonder if anyone else was as perturbed as I was whilst watching Dave Letterman (and I like to say it "Letter Man") interview Sarah Jessica Parker last night. Not watching him, I mean watching her squirm. Sure, she's pregnant, but she's normally squirmy, only last night she could NOT sit still. She kept rising from her chair, smoothing her dress underneath her, sitting, stroking her legs, her ankles, her shoes, then pushing her hair from her face, though it hadn't fallen into her face, yet.

Her movements followed a cycle, and it was neverending. Rise, smooth dress, smooth some more, sink back into chair, shift, move hair to the side, gesticulate whilst talking, then stroke legs, shoe straps, then rise in chair, smooth dress, gesticulate some more, move hair aside, move hair, stroke legs, etc.

The whole interview. She's a nut. I'm serious.

Can you take me to the bridge?

If you got that reference, you win.

The weather has been exceptionally beautiful. BLUE skies, constant breeze, big puffy clouds, high pressure, downright tropical. Fill this town with water and we are in the Tropics. Just turn on a giant hose and we'll be having some fun in the sun!

HOTTER than hell. Mid 90s. Oh yeah. When I leave work to go to lunch it's nice, as I'm usually freezing from the indoor air. I feel congested at work, I am sniffly, I want to sneeze, my hands are cold, it's not healthy, I know this. Then I exit, get in the Easy Bake Car and it feels good, actually, quite nice. I can handle the 140 degrees Fahrenheit. But then I eat, get back in the car, and because of the digestion thing going on I am hot, hot, hot, then I'm at work, then I'm cold, then I'm hot, then I'm cold, then I leave work and my car is hotter than it was early in the day, the temp seems to have risen exponentially, and I want to just go ahead and die.

I think of things I need to do, clothes shopping, cat food shopping, grocery shopping, shopping shopping, getting gas, and all I can do is drive straight home without stopping unless absolutely held back by some red light or another (I DO obey the traffic rules), and I'm a homing pigeon, not a human being at all.

I think I'll leave later, at night, but I never do. Once I'm in, that's it. I don't leave.

It wasn't always like this. And I do break my routine from time to time. But last night the weatherman said it was 86 degrees at 11:00. Ask me if I want to go out even at night. My answer is the same. No.

It won't always be this hot. I'll shop in October.

Besides, I have plans for Monday and Tuesday of next week, so I will be going out at night, even if it's hot, even if the weather is inclement. I have plans. Plans with ME. I love taking me out and showing me a good time.

So, I gave in and let Jonathan Cainer do up my astrological chart, with future astrological climate included. Or, I should say I let his software program do it up for me, at a cost of $14.95 or something. God, I hope that wasn't in Pounds! (wait, what is the current exchange rate?) He's British, don'tcha know.

Anyway, I took it in to work today on a disk, the PDF file I downloaded, and I printed out all 23 (!) pages on the Interweb-accessible PC 'cause it has Acrobat on it (I thought my cube PC had it too, but I must've deleted it a while ago when I was trying to clean up my hard drive of crap I'd put on there when we had Web access at our desks...I drove myself crazy trying to open the damn file before finally giving in and doing it on the other machine on my break), and spent a good portion of the day reading it, re-reading it, and then reading it, yellow highlighter in hand, highlighting away!

I was dismayed at first because he got my Rising Sign wrong, it's Gemini, not Taurus, and I had to call Mark at work to get him to look up time zones, check my birthplace time zone and compare it to Greenwich Mean Time, etc., and we came up with zilch. But I know I'm right, it has to be a glitch (hah, 'zilch', 'glitch', funny words! - hey, remember that Monkees song, "Zilch"??? "Mr. Dobalena, Mr. Bob Dobalena; Nevermind the furthermore, the plea is self defense; China Clipper calling Alameda...", that's from memory, I used to know it by heart, I used to breathe the Monkees, okay, when I was 5 years old, but yeah).

Anyway, whew, I digressed, when I saw the one error I was inclined to skepticism, but I read on, as I said, and so much was freaky, accurate, spooky, and the future climate stuff was wild. I wish I had the patience and my hands weren't bothering me, or I'd quote a bunch of it here and now. Maybe on the weekend when I can do some first thing in the day typing. This late in the day typing is hard on my old hands. Yes, I am in fact old.

And skinny. The skinny thing bothered me again today. I am not kidding, I have a LOT of free time sitting in my cubicle all day. I look at my wrists and holy moly, have I always been this thin? I can close my thumb and pinky around each wrist. How does that happen? When I eat a lot my belly swells, my breasts grow, I get jowly, my cheeks fill out, but my wrists? They don't grow at all. I'm a goddamned toothpick.

I started lifting weights again to try to combat the toothpickness, but it's not doing much, probably because I'm not expanding on it. I don't increase reps, I don't add weights, it's still just a 13 pound dumbbell. Bicep curls, shoulder raises, tricep extensions, lat lifts, and straight arm shoulder lifts with only 3 pounds. They're harder, and I'm this toothpick thing.

I need a personal trainer.

You should see my projected astrological climate, oh, you should see it. Saturn is going to be doing this thing with something or other, and the Mercury thing is happening, along with the Pluto whatever, and it all is just so fucking incredible, Cainer says it's stuff that never happens to some people at all, it's once in a lifetime stuff, it's fucking incredible, he says.

I paid for this chart, so it must be true.

In other news...... Americans are losing Civil Liberties right and left. Palestinians are killing Israelis who happen to take mass transit (note to self: when in Israel, rent a car, do NOT take the BUS!), and Israeli soldiers are slaughtering Palestinians. It's bad. It's Summertime and the living is easy, but it's HOT, HOT, HOT, across the country. The USA, that is. NHL teams have gotten their ducks in order and training camp has begun. The season starts soon, so get ready!

What else? Gladys would like to add that she is hungry, but she is often hungry, so that's not exactly news.

Tomorrow is Friday, and since "Everybody's working for the weekend", well, that includes me, I'll get paid, I'll carry my paycheck in my backpack for a week or so, probably, but I'll have it. And I'll be happy. Friday is a day of hope, a day of possibility, light, airy, free! Whee!

Anything else? Wow, I'm really stretching it, huh? I just feel like there's something big I'm leaving out......

I've yet to contact Skipper. In any way, shape, or form. I have no idea what to say to him. But I know exactly what I want to say. That's the problem.

Jon has yet to respond, and I hope he doesn't. I like thinking I have the last word in this whole situation (and I cannot stop thinking that he is possibly the only person I have met in my entire life who remembers me as supremely 'unhappy and negative' - did he meet my Evil Twin?). But then again, part of me is dreading the thought of running into him Monday night. I really, really, really, really, no, REALLY, don't want to see him. But I might. Ugh.

And how in the fuck do I get AOL to stop running as soon as I turn on this computer?! I can find no setting for that. I think I'm going to have to call them up to cancel it. It's annoying as hell. Do people actually like AOL? It's got these toolbars that take up the whole screen, or likely a good deal of it. I hate it, hate it, hate it. And they have these windows that open advertising crap, more services, etc., they're not popups, they don't pop up, they're just there.

I close it immediately and use my normal ISP, then I open Netscape. I use IE if I want to look at someone's diary that looks funky in Netscape, but I don't like IE, I'm too used to Netscape.

I'm rambling, I know, I'm going now. If I think of whatever big thing it feels like I'm forgetting, I'll come back and amend this entry, or (gasp!) write another.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee