2001-07-16 / 6:31 p.m.

~Trust in me~

I hate debating with myself. I know I'll win, but I also know I'll lose.

Right now the debate is about going to the FOX Theatre to see "Citizen Kane". Okay, I've seen it, several times, but I still can only remember the beginning ("Rosebud....."), and the end (it's his SLED!!!), nothing in the middle. If it were that great a movie shouldn't I remember the middle?

I was looking through my ticket stubs recently (the packrat I am, I've saved many) and I realized I've seen "Citizen Kane" at the FOX before, and I still don't remember.

But, this is the 60th anniversary, and hey, it's a fucking classic, man!

But, I stayed up 'til 4:00 a.m., on a work night, watching the stupid piece of crap movie, "Une Seule Fille" ("A Single Girl", or really, A Girl Alone). Why do they still use white subtitles anyway? The whole end, epilogue, tie it all up scene, was white subtitles over the main character's mom's white shirt. Beauty. Couldn't see a thing, and the French was all vernacular, couldn't understand a word, but it sucked anyway. Stupid movie.

So, I'm tired. Yeah, so tired I don't even realize how tired I am. That's pretty tired. I could go, could go change clothes, right now, log off, change clothes, drive on down, park, walk up that hill, just one block, go on in, sing-a-long, Mighty Mo' Organ.....previews, cartoon, a big crowd, a classic film, 60th anniversary.....apparently I'm still debating.

Onward.....looks like I was officially accepted into the "Grammar Bitch" diaryring. This makes sense. I should've been accepted into the "every damn day" ring too, but no, I'm not bitter......

Okay, the reason for the title of this page......remember the snake singing that song in Disney's animated "Jungle Book"? "Trust in me....", and his eyes are all spinning around hypnotically.....remember? Well, it seems I am trustworthy. Really, this has nothing to do with that snake, nor that song ("nor", you like that? ME, Grammar bitch!).

Today I went to an ATM to deposit last Friday's paycheck (must be nice to be able to wait that long, huh?), and there are two women with two little kids, kids in a shopping cart, as this is a Publix parking lot, and these women cannot figure out the ATM. It's beeping and asking them questions, and they don't speak English, do they?

The one turns to me, looking for help, help me, she's saying. If she could speak English. But she's just barely speaking to me in any language at all. I guess she didn't press the Spanish language option when she first inserted her card. Or maybe, on this machine, there wasn't one.

So, sure, this is awkward, but she trusts me. Cool. I'll help. Ayudame, right? Help me? Nah, she didn't say that, I just did. I get her going, ask if this is her checking account or savings, but oh, forget it, she has no idea what checking means. She pulls out her little change purse and shows me a little wad of cash. I'm thinking, "Okay, I could take that"....

Wait, I'm here to help, not think about all the things she is doing wrong, trusting a total stranger, at an ATM - people are KILLED at ATMs all the time! Okay, she's in, but she thinks she wants $3. No, multiples of $20, it says, and how the hell do I say that in Spanish? I say, venti, but that may be Italian, then I say quaranta, but what language is that? The other woman comes and says, "Three hundred", and I almost do my Keanu Reeves impersonation, "WHOA!", but I just sort of raise my eyebrows and type it in the machine.

There, does that look right? Okay. Go for it.

It wants her access number again. Sheesh, and I'm on my lunch break. Patience is a virtue, Patience is a virtue, Patien.....

Cash, lots of it. I could take it. Two short Hispanic women, two small children, busy parking lot of busy shopping center at lunch time.....

NO! I would NEVER do such a thing! Not in one million years. But did THEY know this? Could they possibly have known?

Uh, no. They played it all wrong, very, very wrong, but I am trustworthy, I look innocent, I look like someone who would help, and I am. A good deed kind of gal, I am.

I felt glad to be the one there, at that moment, to help those women, but I worry about what will happen to them next time.

Looks like I'm skipping the movie. Means I'll have an extra ticket for the next few....maybe I can actually persuade someone to accompany me. It's getting boring going alone.

(A. finished The Girl's Guide to Hunting and Fishing, returned it and everything, and I confessed that I don't normally lend books, that this was special, that I wanted to share it, this book, with her. I'm glad to have it back.)

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee