Saturday, Jun. 28, 2008 / 7:59 a.m.

~My first vegan potato salad!~

I love potato salad, always have, like love, as in I could marry potato salad, like as a concept, with endless variation, potato salad could be my "only food I eat for the rest of my life" food. In the past, I loved to glop on the Duke's mayonnaise, toss in chopped hardboiled eggs I'd sliced with my little hardboiled egg slicer tool (!), and in between would always be celery, and dill, fresh or dried, and a variety of goodies, usually including something pickled and something brined and olive-y.

Going vegetarian was incredibly meaningful and important to me, and difficult at times, but the logical progression to veganism has been even more so, and the difficulty in relation to my love of and marriage to the glory that is potato salad? Well, I was afraid to attempt it, but anxious too, and excited. And now, my vegan potato salad cherry has been popped - last night I created my own version, on the fly, and it was so good I could hardly bring myself to stop shoveling it into my mouth, eating beyond the point of fullness, something I rarely, if ever do.

My Vegan Potato Salad v1.0

4 or 5 red new potatoes (organic, preferably), chopped
3 or 4 stalks of organic celery, chopped
1/3 to 1/2 cup chopped red onion (organic is better, for everything)
1 garlicky kosher dill pickle, chopped
1/2 cup chopped carrots
1/2 cup chopped green olives (canned pitted)
1 large clove fresh garlic, diced, or chunky chopped
1/4 cup fresh squeezed lime juice
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon dried dill (er, more or less - or use fresh!)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
dollop of Vegenaise
dollop, or a satisfying squirt circle, of French's yellow mustard

These measurements are incredibly random and off the top of my head, pure guesstimates, but then again, they are sort of fairly accurate.

Steam the potatoes until they're soft, but maintaining some bite, maybe seven minutes or so, depending on how small they're chopped. While steaming, chop up all the rest of the ingredients and add to large bowl, stir to mix well. When potatoes are through steaming, rinse well in cold water to cool, then drain well and add to mixture in bowl.

Add dollops of Vegenaise and mustard to taste. Stir to mix well, and taste for seasonings - try not to eat entire bowl in one sitting. Perhaps actually refrigerate it so flavors can "marry", before you eat it.

Hopefully, I've not left anything out - if I remember more, I shall certainly edit. Next time, I shall make more - leftovers rule!

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee