Tuesday, Nov. 19, 2002 / 6:43 p.m.

~We Suck, That's All I'm Saying~

That was only 20 million gallons of fuel oil. Simon Pepper of World Wildlife Fund said it was a disgrace, that the ship wasn't even sea worthy, that it broke in half without even hitting anything.

Fuck wildlife, fuck the poor, fuck Arabs, fuck Muslims, let Saddam have his fucking weapons and let him blow this planet up. I think we've run our course. Really, I have no hope for the future of the human race. We suck.

Again, thank god I didn't procreate. It would be so wrong to bring a child into this world. And I know people continue to do it, and to those of you who do, power to you, good luck, aw, aren't babies cute, and all that, but where the hell are we going? Is this a good life? Do you have the best opportunities? Assuming you're not a famous movie actor, rap star or professional football player, you don't have that much, do you? And how long before you can't even drink the water coming from your tap, or breathe the air over your interstate highway?

Fucking humans. I wish I could be positive, I wish I could get a job with WWF, help out Simon Pepper, do SOMETHING besides bitch and moan, but it's all I feel I can do at this point.

I wrote another entry from work today, but I deleted it before I finished it. I was so pissed off, at everything, at everyone, at the rampant stupidity everywhere. Everywhere. And the gum popping, the kennel cough of 'new boy', the humming of Listerine. I felt violent tendencies.

I felt fine this past weekend, aside from obsessing over material things, but I went back to work and started coughing again. 'New boy' has a kennel cough, as previously mentioned. If you're not familiar, it's a veterinary term for the cough dogs get when they've been boarded for a while, it's like some viral infection they get from other dogs and it makes them cough this horrible hoarse loud cough. Kennel cough. No, 'new boy' is not a dog, but he sounds the same.

I'm coughing, he's coughing, Quincey came in and was overcome with drippy sinuses, a horrible cough, uncontrollable sneezing, Penelope started coughing, Kukla started sneezing. For once, Listerine seems fine.

She gets incredibly sick, like she's got the African Zulu Flu or something, then two days later she's fine.

Here's all I have to say: WHAT THE FUCK?!?!?!?!?!?

I joked today that it's biological weaponry. Something is being pumped into our air supply at the site. Or it's in that water we all get from the cooler in the break room. I drink about a half gallon or more of it a day.

Today my throat is sore and hot, I've had a fever that comes and goes, my neck hurts, now I have a headache, and yesterday I couldn't talk at the end of the day. You tell me I'm a hypochondriac. G'head. At any given time you can hear maybe three different people hacking up their lungs. Every day.

Now either we're like those airmen in Alabama, being tested upon, or Saddam has access to our a/c vents, or the dude that changes the filters on the water cooler is experimenting with anthrax or something, or I don't fucking know. I've never felt this sick this often. Every week I feel I've got some dreaded disease.

And now I'm bleeding too, and it's not my period. Whee.

Ow, just turned my head, did I mention it hurts when I do that too? Yeah, the cold was one thing, that was cut and dried, obvious, but the rest of this??? I feel like Julianne Moore in "Safe". I am environmentally ill.

Something else occurred to me recently. The proximity of the Interstate. Perhaps it's an allergy to the smog. When I stay inside all weekend I feel much better. I go outside to go to work, but maybe it's not work, maybe it's just the air between here and there. That office is even closer to the highway than my apartment.

I know, I need to get checked out by a medical professional who can tell me about all the tests she wants to run, and then charge me a fortune and end up telling me, "You need to eat better and exercise". And/or I need to move to another planet.

Really, I just wanna ride on the Starship Enterprise, I wanna go boldly where no 'man' has gone before. Seek out new life, new civilizations, etc.

I was thinking more about James Coburn too, and how he will always be Flint to me. I was a kid when those movies came out, and I remember watching them on TV with my brother. My brother was into everything spy-related, campy, sci-fi-y, etc. We not only watched "The Great Escape", but "Hogan's Heroes", "Star Trek", all the Bond movies, and yes, Flint.

Flint was sexy, he was suave, he was campy. I was a kid, but I thought he was cute, I wanted to be one of his women. Same with Bond in later years. I'll miss Coburn's voiceovers in commercials, I'll miss his acting, he was still awfully good, and his movies will always be here. Thank god for that. And, he's better off now. Definitely.

Last night I had a craving for tofu. So I ordered Nam Sod (pork) and Beef Salad (er, beef) and Chicken Coconut Milk Soup.... and Garlic Pepper Tofu. I came home with it, after driving an hour to get it and come back, and pigged out on, by that time, lukewarm Nam Sod and Beef Salad (love the cucumbers, tomatoes, chilis, onions, beef, mmmmmm), Chicken Coconut Milk Soup, and couldn't make room for the tofu. Funny, huh? I thought so.

Then I lay on the sofa to watch "No Way Out", which I'd seen before, of course, but it's fun to see just how awful an actress Sean Young was/is, and to see how cute Kevin Costner once was, but I fell asleep, two cats on top of me, or one in the crook of my arm, one on my stomach, just before the end. I can't remember, but I'm thinking Costner turned out to actually BE Yuri, but whatever.

I had the computer on, but I didn't even read diaries, or anything. I sense tonight will be much the same. I'm off to watch "Felicity", "Gilmore Girls" (assuming it's not a repeat) and "24". So, ttfn.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee