Wednesday, Dec. 18, 2002 / 11:17 p.m.

~The End of An Amazing Race, and Oozing Money in the Right Store~

"The Amazing Race" was truly amazing, and the whiny Flo won, thanks to the unbeliveably positive and always tolerant and supportive Zach, and it's all over now (41,000 miles later!!).

I actually turned down Listerine, and a date to see "The Twin Towers" tonight so I could stay home to watch the season finale of the show I've watched for months now. She invited her daughter to go, and I would've gone too, but she only invited me because she didn't want to go alone, then she had her daughter to go, and I thought what if the electricity goes out or something while I'm taping the show, and it's not repeated, as no reality show is, well, except "Real World", and "Road Rules", okay, anything on MTV, but those shows aren't really reality anyway.....

Blah. Or should I say, Bah!? Blech? Oy? I'm tired.

Last night the cats were sitting on the sofa with me, while I watched TV, and at some point I looked at Glad to see she was looking up at the ceiling with that 'look', that "Hey! There's a giant cockroach, LOOK!" look, and sure enough there was. A giant cockroach.

I wanted to swat it from the ceiling to the floor with a broom, but I think my broom is in my little storage closet on the porch, too much trouble, so I was thinking, What? What do I use to get that thing off the ceiling and out of here? Canned air. I can be resourceful when I try.

A quick blast and it was on the floor, then another blast, as Gladys corralled it, and an open front door, one last blast and it was gone, walked right on out, slowly, tiredly, all enervated and logy. Poor thing, it seemed to really not feel well, and I know my downstairs neighbor uses an exterminator from time to time, so I'm guessing it had been poisoned. Perhaps I should have committed a mercy killing, but I hate killing, so I simply allowed it an escape from here, or maybe not an escape, maybe I forced it from the only comfort it's ever known.... we'll never know. But it was funny to see Gladys looking up at the ceiling in the bedroom later.... looking for more giant cockroaches.

Work is crazy. Decorations everywhere. A big 'changing of the guard' team meeting with the new supervisor. Kukla 'sincerely' apologizing for the events which occurred a few weeks ago.

Apologizing. Because she needed to, for her. She told me, she was doing it because she needed to do it. I imagined her in some twelve step program somewhere, making amends, but I'm not sure it was that structured. Freaked me out anyway, especially when she told me over and over that she has 'no problem' with me, she'd gladly hang with me outside of work again, go to a hockey game, whatever, she likes me (it grew as she talked, the extent of her attraction to me and our supposed friendship), and finally insisting on a hug.

Blech.

I only nodded. Said I'm just there to earn money, and in my head I was thinking how much longer?, what is my problem?, how long can I stay?, how long will I stay?, I will never socialize with you again, I don't forget, I may forgive for now, but no, not really, you appease yourself, g'head, but you don't hear me reciprocating, do you??

Touchy feely bullshit. More than that. Little drawings for gifts every day, site wide. Today I said it's just like Hannukah! I love to throw Judaism at them. Mean, I know, but then again I like to expose them, make them think just a bit, realize their religion is not the only one.

Site wide crap. Today we got the company calendar. Can I get a 'Whoo', and a 'Hoo' too? It's a nice calendar, but don't turn it into a gift, that's not right.

I said, "Tomorrow we get the cash bonus, right?", because that would be absurd. Cash bonus?? In your fucking dreams.

Grrrr.....

Hey, every little gift is a little gift. Oh, I'm so thankful to have a job. Any job.

(Insert sarcasm emoticon up there)

No, I'm no Flo, I'm not whining. Just bitching and moaning. No, just fed up with the whole thing. I hate this time of year. Not because of Christmas, but because of people's reactions to it.

I had great fun spending money at Barnes and Noble after work. Actually bought calendars before the end of the year!!! Better selection, but way more expensive.

Guess who my Secret Santa recipient is. No, guess.

It's a Secret, but I got the present tonight. I think it will be appreciated.

What else? What else??? I'm too warm. It's supposed to be 65 tomorrow. That's insane. It was too cold, it's been too cold, but that's crazy. Tornado weather, and one touched down in Arkansas - I just saw on the news the man who survived his wife, all beat up by nature, lying in a hospital bed. He said he fought it, it fought back, and he lost his wife though he did all he could to save her.

He was thrust through a window. I don't want to imagine that.

Book recommendation: Why Paint Cats - The Ethics of Feline Aesthetics. I splurged and bought it for myself tonight. Amazing painted cats, photos of amazing painted cats, or amazingly painted cats, vegetable dyed cats. Is it real??? Can it be, possibly? There is some text, I'll have to read to find out. They would have to anesthetize the cats, and I just don't know, but it's incredible, really.

I bought calendars too, B Kliban, Hello Kitty, a Herrero engagement calendar, Greenpeace. Had to have them, now. And a cool bookmark (why am I BUYING bookmarks????) with suns and moons, and a tassle with a two-sided bead of sun and moon. Crazy. Get me started, in a good store, and I ooze money.

Letterman is starting, that means it's late. I'm rambling anyway, so that's it for now.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee