Monday, Oct. 07, 2002 / 8:45 p.m.

~A Very Blah Day~

Gee, where should I start? Yesterday or today? Um, I DID vacuum yesterday, and I DID wash dishes, and I DID get my VCR to play long enough to watch a couple "Guiding Lights" before I got too sleepy on the sofa.

I think my sofa emits some sort of nerve gas, like that poppy field in "Wizard of Oz", I lie on it and it puts me to sleep.

Last night I was hardly tired from sleeping so late in the day, yet I fell right to sleep even though I was semi-interested in the Rufus Sewell movie I left on the TV, "She-Creature" - early 20th Century, transporting evil mermaid via ship to somewhere, so Rufus and Carla Gugino could set her up as a sideshow attraction. Hmmmmm....

Today I went to work. I sat in my cube and read A Cook's Tour. The phones were slow, the paperwork was slow, it was a good day. But I was tired, and didn't want to talk to anyone, much less look at anyone. A good reading day.

Tony Bourdain in Vietnam, feeling guilty because he's American. But also happy to eat the food! I loved this part:

"At the center of the enclosed market, past the vegetables, meat, fish, live poultry, nostrums, jewelry, and groceries for sale, is a large area of food stalls selling a psychedelic rainbow of good-looking, good-smelling, unbelievably fresh stuff. My mood begins to improve immediately. Everything is brightly colored, crunchy, exotic, unrecognizable, and attractive. I suddenly want everything. Without warning, I'm happy, exhilirated, delirious with hunger and curiosity. A manic-depressive on a happy jag, I'm on top of the world."

A 'manic-depressive on a happy jag'. I love the way he writes. This book is so fun to read, even though I saw most of the episodes from the Food Network series of the same name, so it's almost redundant to read parts of it.

Tony and his brother reliving childhood memories in a coastal town in France. Tony in Spain (I missed that episode), Tony in Russia, eating reindeer, drinking vodka.

I wasn't even at work today, I was all over the world. Just as on Friday, come 6:00 I'm regretting that I have to pack up my book and head home, I want to sit and read forever.

That's a good book, eh? I think so.

The rest of the day I don't even want to write about. I don't want to take the time to write about how ineffectual my supervisor is, the fact that I had to suggest to her the concept of 'positive reinforcement' as encouragement after yet another blase review, a 7 week review at that. "Um, are you doing these reviews on some kind of schedule or what?", I asked. Puhleeze, 7 weeks? What the fuck is that?

A series of numbers, these are my numbers, and 'near perfect attendance' (Oh, I'm sorry I was ONE minute late that one day!), and what about these 30 minute phone calls? Well, I put Mark on hold so I can answer my business line, so he stays there for a total of some 30 minutes..... while I WORK!

Fucking idiots at that place. I have a kid for a Supervisor, a novice, someone who doesn't know the most basic elements of managing people. Carramba!

So Mark came over after work with his digital camera for me to figure out and borrow and I could barely even wrap my brain around its complexity. No, check out my new email program instead! Cool, huh? How about my doggie picture I downloaded at Webshots? You like? Oh, oh, oh, "Felicity" is on!

What is wrong with me?

Hormones. Let's blame it on them. And not sleeping worth shit. Thunder and lightning and pouring rain last night, sleeping to "She-Creature" and Rufus Sewell's big blue eyes, reading all day at work. I have no other excuse.

Okay, yep. I ate cheese and crackers, and green beans for dinner. Now I need to sit and watch TV. Yes, I NEED to. Today was just blah, all the way around.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee