Monday, Jun. 24, 2002 / 11:42 a.m.

~Comfort Music~

On television, it�s �I Love Lucy�, or �Gilligan�s Island�, David Letterman, an old Bond movie.

With food, it�s garlic bologna and provolone on whole wheat. Garlic Pepper Tofu, Nam Sod and Basil Rolls. Eggs with mushrooms and green onions, bacon, grits. Corn and tomato linguini with lots of garlic.

Listening to music, now it�s Moby. Insert �18�, push �play�, and I�m home. �Play� feels the same. As does Jeff Buckley�s �Grace� and Miles Davis� �Kind of Blue�, Van Morrison�s �Moondance�, albums I listen to here, at work, just so I might feel at home.

Moby�s music, possibly �18� more than �Play�, gets inside of me. Hearing it is like being wrapped up inside of him. Hard to explain � perhaps this should be posted on the message boards over at moby.com! But I�m not online, I�m at work, it�s 9:41 a.m., and I can barely type. I�m tired, I�ve just paid my bills, just refused to contribute to a Birthday fund for Lulu, and you should have seen the look on Penelope�s face when I told her I had nothing to offer� horrible, total disbelief. Disappointment. Etc.

No, nothing to contribute, I�d say I�m sorry, but I�m not.

�Signs of Love�, track #5, how can it not make you feel? It�s so powerful. �I fly so high�and fall so low�.

I have an overwhelming desire not to be here. Every instinct told me to call in sick, but I know I�ve got a day off next week, July 4th to be exact, so I couldn�t do it. But first thing, it was all those voices, all about hair, and where they went Friday and Saturday nights, what they wore, and more about hair, and braids, and artificial hair attached to their heads, and it was all too much.

I think in a way I�m not here. It�s not hard to escape. Though after this album is over, this �18� is finished, what will I do??? I might just have to listen to it again. And at some point, I�ll need to interact, though I�d rather simply pretend they�re not here near me.

My fingers are so cold, it�s so cold in here� my nails too long. Too hard to type.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee