Wednesday, Oct. 30, 2002 / 8:43 p.m.

~Dinner With Kukla and Listerine~

I keep tasting the truffle oil, the wild mushrooms, and feeling the Pinot Grigio. I haven't drunk any alcohol since the Greek Fest, and then I was so sick from my cold I don't think I felt a thing.

I ate out with Kukla and Listerine after work. Long story.

I read the free weekly, weekly, right? Cover to cover, usually, I love the radical political viewpoints, the guy who writes the subversive anti-war stuff (and he writes a column about local happenings too!), the Tom Tomorrow, etc., cartoons, the restaurant reviews, the extensive music coverage, it's a great little paper, and I would like to work for them, I've tried to get hired on, but it hasn't happened yet.

I read it. I read the restaurant reviews, as stated, and I always want to try this place or that. So..... when I went out with Sandy that one time (literally, that ONE time), we went to this Italian place, but it was a Saturday night, we wasted too much time talking before we left his house, we went and it was packed, this place! A two hour wait!! We went elsewhere, that night, and had a great meal, but I wanted to go back.

And so, there was an ad in the free weekly letting us all know that next Wednesday is a charity dining event in town. Eat at any of the listed restaurants, all over the Metro area, and 20% of your bill will be donated to Project Open Hand, an organization that delivers free meals to people with AIDS, and other confining illnesses. What a great cause, I thought, and knowing that Penelope's birthday is Thursday, well, I suggested she ask her husband to take her out for birthday dinner on that Wednesday instead.

Somehow it turned into a group dining event. Sort of a "LET'S ALL GO!!!" kind of thing, and then we had to choose a restaurant, and no one there leaves her own little area of comfort, no one knows the restaurants, but I, I who read. And I highlighted several, Penelope chose one that sounded good (the little Italian place Sandy and I had visited that crowded Saturday night!), we called and asked for them to FAX us a menu, we all read the menu, but the dishes are listed in Italian...... English descriptions, but still.

Uh oh.

Come on, it's pizza, it's a wood fired oven, it's salads, I interpreted. Fun. Come on. Oh no, it won't work.

Penelope didn't go for it at all. Not at all. I found myself getting angry at the provincial attitudes of my co-workers. I was intolerant. I left on Friday, angry. This week I've ignored the issue.

But Kukla said, "I'll eat at that place with you if you want to go", so we made plans. Listerine invited herself. Um, okay. So, Monday it's a thought, Wednesday it's reality, and we went. We caravaned, we got there in time, we sat outside on a heated patio, I drank wine, I ate wild mushrooms dipped in a rice flour batter, drizzled with truffle oil, and I can still taste the oil. My first experience with truffles....

And pizzas with fresh tomato sauce, more like crushed, or a puree, artichokes, mushrooms, ham on mine. Italian sausage, roasted peppers on Listerine's. Kukla ate a salmon steak with a basil sauce. Nothing creamy, just light and fresh and wonderful. We loved it. We vowed to do it again. Monthly at least. Eat someplace new, someplace different.

We'll be sure to gush tomorrow, to tell Penelope how good it is, make plans to eat there for charity next Wednesday.

In other news, I can't wait until Wednesday because this election will be history! I wish I'd saved all the mailings I've received over the past few weeks! Vote for so and so, so and so cares about safety in schools, so and so will give you a million dollars, blah, blah, blah. All on heavy shiny stock paper. All a big fucking waste of trees. Why did I throw them all away? Oh well. I got about six more today.

I also have gotten messages on my home answering machine. Oh yeah, in fact tonight I got home and there was a message from the fucking GOVERNOR!!!! "Hello, this is Governor Roy Barnes..."

Let's hope that was pre-recorded. I'd hate to think he's sitting around during the day calling every one in the state, asking them to vote for his buddy for Senator. I don't even know the guy's name.

Hell, I don't even want to vote. I just know I HAVE to. That's all.

My god, I'm satisfied right now. Must watch "Amazing Race"!!!!!

Oh, this show is SO good! Three teams just put unleaded fuel in diesel powered vehicles!!!! And I just burped truffle oil. That stuff is so strong, so unique. Wow. I think I'll click "done!" for now.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee