Thursday, Apr. 27, 2006 / 7:35 p.m.

~Wasted Fuel on a Lovely Day~

I have cut my nails, and now my fingers are fully functional. Typing is dreamy, nearly effortless with far less errors and need for the constant backspacing to correct.

I upgraded my browser and had much difficulty arranging it to look as it did before - I am somewhat averse to change (she states, understatedly). In fact, I've barely been online at home the past two weeks, as the days at work are spent watching the eagles incubating their eggs, incessantly checking the webmail, looking for messages on the MySpace, reading my horoscopes, and journals and news online. I get my fill at the workplace, come home and pay attention to the felines, eat some grub and watch the tube.

Alas, I have logged on (and there is not a storm this eve, nay, the weather is rather anyone's definition of perfection, no danger of yet one more lightning hit to take out this last and final internal modem). And my point is... I am still not quite fully accustomed to the Firefox 1.5.0.2 edition of the Walnut theme, and the new font on the toolbar and taskbar, and all the bells and whistles accompanying.

Brings me to my next point - two days and nearly fifty miles of driving and gas burned to come home and go back to work on lunchbreaks, to pick up DSL install kit left at apt. office, and yesterday it wasn't actually there (the office had been closed day before - note at door said package was there, UPS tracking said no in fact, why didn't I pay attention?), and today it was (UPS tracking said yes, contact was made - "I'm okay to go, okay to go, okay to go..." - wasn't that what Jodie said in "Contact"?), and yet management elected to close the office for hours for a 'lunch break'. Fuque moi to tears!

Pretty day for a drive... wasting gasoline at THREE DOLLARS A GALLON, and risking my life amongst the eighteen wheel tractor trailers from HELL on the interstate (why must they tailgate at 75 mph?) - usually there is no fear on my part, but today? Oy. I didn't want to die that way, not today.

So... the 'kit' is there, at the office. And I might risk someone swiping it in favor of not making a third lunch hour trip to retrieve it, and waiting until Saturday morn instead.

Oooooh, weird plan for Saturday morn: a tour of a fabulous old movie palace! Cannot wait. Meeting some womens, which I don't normally do, as I am SO not a joiner, but this is a special group. We have a thing in common - that's all I shall say.

And a friend turns 40 today, we celebrate on Sunday. Too bad, so sad, I purchased a gift! Tell ME not to bring a present! You crazy wack? Should be fun.

Okay, I am having trouble seeing, and I do not want to break this fabulous wordy momentum by going and finding my glasses, so this will be this. My feline friends look like meatloaves with ears. And fur. Mmmmmm... meatloaf.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee