Saturday, Feb. 22, 2003 / 9:43 p.m.

~Patience As Exercise~

Hey, this is my big Diaryland diary reading day and Diaryland has been wonky ALL day, despite whatever Andrew decides to write in the news section. I did love where he wrote, "Super sorry...". He's so cute. In fact, he had some sound file in his diary one time, one of his entries, and I downloaded and listened to it - a bit of him singing. Very cute. Again.

So, since my last entry (see, to make up for missing a day this week, today we get TWO entries - whee!) I've been alternately very busy and very not busy. I was anxious to get outside on the porch to enjoy the day, earlier, and so I felt obligated to rid the porch of plant life, dead life or live life, and then to vacuum the indoor/outdoor carpeting that's out there, try to rid the floor of any ladybugs (yes, I saw TWO ladybug carcasses!) or other bugs, or sticks or whatever makes its way through the screens (a screened porch is not immune to 'stuff' coming in from outside), but first I got a wild hair and cleaned the sliding glass doors!

First time in the six years I've lived here, and what does that say about me? Uh, that I'm slovenly? That I abhor maintenance as not only concept, but fact of life? That I'm lazy? All of the above? And that it hadn't looked that bad until the pressure washer dudes came out and pressure washed the outside of the building and a big spray came through the screens and made it all the way to the sliding glass doors and the splotches have been there ever since and I always meant to clean it......

So I did. And I didn't wait until I could go out and buy a squeegee, but look first in the storage closet because I think I already have one, no, I got the old standby, Windex, and an old roll of paper towels (so I didn't have to use the ones with the cool cat drawings on them) and cleaned. Me, cleaning windows. Whole door windows. Sliding Windows. Sliding Glass Doors. Two, front and back. And I swear I think they're dirty in between. I really do. Two pane glass.

My god, but it looks fabulous. You wouldn't believe it. Or you probably would, but you see this is another great reason not to clean. Because when things get really, really dirty and grimy and dusty and you finally give in and clean the fuck out of them, the difference is spectacular and you can stand around admiring your work and feel really good and proud and stuff like that. And you can SEE out your windows after you clean them. Amazing, but true.

So, I sat outside on the porch for a bit, no more plants, I've gotten rid of them all because the cats want to eat them, and they do, eat them, and they get sick, the cats, not the plants, but the plants get sick too, from being eaten, and it's bad all the way around, so it's not as nice anymore without plants, but that's okay. But it was WINDY with a capital WIND!, and the cats were rather terrified. The chimes were going crazy, and I like the sort of new age-y 'song' the one set plays, it's quite lovely, but I was ready to yank them to the floor after a few minutes of hearing it.

In fact, I came in and turned on the TV, and obsessively checked for email too, and cooked eggs with potatoes, shiitakes and smoked tofu after a while. Yes, I said 'smoked tofu'. It was one of those expensive food items I bought at the Farmer's Market earlier in the week. It comes shrinkwrapped in the tofu section, and it comes in different flavors. I bought lemon garlic flavor, but I can't really taste more than smoked tofu. Very interesting, really. No regrets.

But as I was cooking I got this low blood sugar 'attack', and kept thinking of Listerine and her diabetes and how she left work two days this week because she looked like she was going to fall over. I suddenly felt even worse for her because I get these 'attacks' at times and it feels like all the blood drains from my body. I hurriedly ate a bunch of tropical fruit flavored Jelly Bellys, whilst sauteeing my shiitakes and potatoes and tofu, which was a bit weird, but the food was good.

Then I felt exhausted. As if vacuuming and cleaning windows had totally drained me and I could do no more. This big list of things to accomplish and I couldn't even sit and read. I could only watch TV or be online, and I wanted to read diaries, but Diaryland kept fucking up on me.

My day. Isn't it fun?

Now is that celebrity survivor fear factor show. In lower case this time. And I've opened the Cab Sav, but I prefer Merlot I think. The Cab has this high pitch twangy thing going on at the finish, you know? It hits the back of my throat, and not in a good way. Too much tannin, I guess. Oh well. I'll still drink it, but it's not as smooth as I'd like. This bottle came from Australia.

Time for my trashy celebrity show now.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee