Friday, Oct. 24, 2003 / 12:15 p.m.

~Pack, Re-Pack, Auto Feeders, Watch the News, Eh?~

So, this morning, at around 7:45, I was on the floor in my bedroom staring at the auto pet feeders, Gladys on one side, Norman on the other, watching them to see when they'd open. The three of us, in a state of suspense. Norman finally pawed at hers, sort of pulled up on the edge of the cover a bit with her claws, and it OPENED! She thought she made it open, but I know it was simply 'time'. I turned the dial on Gladys' so it would open too.

There is really no apparent way to get them to open at the exact same time, but still I know I had to buy two. It was the only way.

Before this moment I describe, I had locked them out of the bedroom finally, because every time one of them pawed at these stupid hunks of plastic I heard it, I awoke, I yelled either "Stop it!", or "Go sit down!", and flipped to the other side of my body, went back to sleep, rinse, repeat, condition.

Once locked out, they pawed at the closed door (we don't close doors around here, no need), and then Gladys knocked over the box with the nails and pushpins and assorted little 'tools' in it, nails spilled to the carpet. So, maybe 6:00 in the a.m., I was picking nails up off the carpet, inviting them back into the bedroom, cats, not nails. Or maybe that was immediately preceding the staredown at the OK Pet Feeders Corral.

Wish I'd had a picture of the three of us sitting there like that. Me knowing it would be any second now, any second at all, Norm thinking she caused hers to open on contact.

We are having so much fun.

And the big water bowl, the one for extra water? They won't touch it. Creatures of habit. I should've replaced their regular one with it early in the week so they'd have to drink from it, but now there are two, and if they're desperate, let's hope they drink.

I know, it's only a night, a day, a night, which would be two nights, one day, but still. They're used to me being around. Which makes me wonder, do they notice I'm not at work right now, it's a work day, I'm home?

Did I mention I realized I have no clean jeans to wear, so I'm doing a load of darks right now? Yeah. Well, I kind of took this into account, I thought it might be a possibility. Right now I'm just thinking about what to wear. Looks like it's going to be cooler than I thought, but it was like this in October of '01, which I could've sworn was September of '01 - and now, swear to god (yeah, it's just an expression), I can't remember if we went in September and October or what. I could research, but it would be too much trouble. I'm trying to focus on today right now.

But it was cold that time, well, cool. It was windy, and sunny, and nice, and I had on a big sweater and was quite cozy. I ended up with a big crush on a young man too. Bad, bad, bad. Ocotber?

Last October, if we'll recall, I elected to skip the Demonstration and go to a stadium and see The Rolling Stones instead! Right decision!!! It was so great.

But everyone said the weather in D.C. had been just fine, thanks.

There used to be these big National Demonstrations every month, or every couple, after the big thing in Sept '01, the big attack, because we all knew, as a sort of reflex awareness, what was going to come of it. But for the past six months there's been nothing but local stuff, and lots of emails, planning, meetings, teach-ins, etc. And now this, the joining of two HUGE antiwar groups, and buses from all the hell over, I think 150 cities by now. Go here to read up. Good links there too.

Anyhoo. I got my period finally, full on, full speed ahead, and apparently it's only making me punchy. I'm tired, but I got some good sleep, after the fucking compartments on the fucking auto feeders finally opened! I know, I could've just fed them instead, but I wanted them on this new schedule, dependent on these things instead of me. Now, let's hope they drink the water. And I've got to add some more litter to the box, don't let me forget.

Hey, thanks for the guestbook notes, that was nice. I wish some people I knew were going to go, it's not hard to meet up - trust me, the Rally can last HOURS! Just when you're off the bus and you're ready to MARCH, it's speaker afer speaker with really important things to say, and tune into C-SPAN to see if they show the Rally, hey? Tomorrow starting at 11:00 a.m.

Usually there are a few celebs, and really important lefties, it's good to hear what they have to say. I should be wearing my mauve baseball cap with the white peace symbol embroidered thereon.

Oh no, you DO know what a peace symbol is, yes? I wore said hat to work on Wednesday, as we had a favorite/crazy hat day (huh?) at work and I wore it and three people thought it was a Mercedes Benz logo!

Good lord.

Okay, need to gather things for trip, pack once so I can take things out. This is how you do it, one bag, no matter where you're going, fill it with all the crap you're SURE you NEED, then pick it up, feel how heavy it is? Yeah, take half that crap out. Now feel. Better? Take out about a third more. Only take what you REALLY need. Now take out one more thing. Bingo!

I'm going to be really trusting this time too, I'm going to consider leaving my backpack on the bus during the day, taking only my 'fanny' pack. But that may not work. I may need 'room' to carry stuff I might 'acquire' along the way. We shall see.

Either way, any way you play it, whether you jump on a bus, or just sit and wait for me to write about it all here, please read a newspaper, or check out a web site, Guardian UK is good, so is Antiwar.com, and the New York Times is kinda good, Washington Post, or tune into C-SPAN (might be C-SPAN 2) while you're doing your chores around the house tomorrow, or watch your local news tomorrow night. See if they say anything at all, and play this game, see how low they can gauge our numbers. Multiply by two to get closer to reality.

Oh, Indymedia.org will have 'real' news stories. Here's the link for DC IndyMedia.

CNN is on in the living room - just heard GWB will be in Camp David while we surround his house in D.C., the big WHITE one. Ah well, typical. My guess is he doesn't even know we're coming. My guess is he's shielded. His 'aides' tell him to take a break after his big trip to Asia and Australia, get some rest before he resumes his US campaigning, nothing's going on in D.C. anyway. Typical, really, he's never been there any of the times we've demonstrated.

Okay, things to do. Have a good weekend, kids.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee