Thursday, Sept. 11, 2003 / 7:34 p.m.

~Horoscope Is Right, So Far~

So, I not only got notification emails to let me know I did in fact purchase the Bewitched salt and pepper shakers, and the TV mug, but I got verification that the items had indeed been shipped, and now I get Ebay emails telling me I have 'won' the items, although they were instant buy items, and asking me to go ahead and pay up. This is way after the fact. Ebay is weird. And far too easy to use. Once you've registered at Pay Pal, and Ebay, and all you have to do is click here and there, I can see people spending far beyond their means.

Which for some reason reminds me of the Janis Joplin song, whose title I forget, but which I sang in its entirety whilst showering, and ironing, this morning. The "Oh Lord, won't you buy me a Mercedes Benz?" song. Surprisingly, after not hearing that song for years and possibly years, I knew all the words. I'm only hazy on one part, the "Oh Lord, won't you buy me a night on the town? I'm counting on you, Lord, so please don't let me down..." Is it "prove" that you love me and buy the next round, or is it "say" that you love me? Must be "prove". She's asking the Lord to prove his love for her by providing her with material wealth and gain. As do my Southern Chrisitan co-workers. They also believe this "Lord" person will take care of them in their lives, like keep them from dying unnecessarily, etc.

Good Lord.

I saw a dead chicken on the side of the entrance ramp to the Interstate on my way home. Really nothing more than some white feathers and bright red blood out of the corner of my eye. I wouldn't look closer. Yet I felt sorry for it. Isn't that ironic? I'd eat it, served up at a restaurant, or in a Stouffer's dinner (I haven't bought chicken to cook at home in years!), but on the side of the road, and on the entrance ramp, this means it was a stowaway on the empty crate chicken mobile, the tractor trailer filled with empties on its way to pick up more, loaded by cheaply hired Mexican men, making like 20 cents a chicken, or something. This one stowed away, but fell off. Or did it walk all that way, an escapee from the abattoir? Or an underground tunnel perhaps? "Chicken Run" anyone? That was a great movie. I own it. I should watch it.

My horoscope told me I'd feel better, almost happy, that happiness is on its way, and it's been saying this for some time. If I see Jonathan Cainer in person I am going to sit him down and have a long talk with him about all this happiness stuff he predicts for me. I keep waiting, and he says this week I need to be patient, that 'soon' it will happen. Whatever this 'it' may be, this propitious something or other. This solution to all my problems. So I think, a new job? Someone is going to offer me something? I'll apply for the police job? The records technician? It pays well, and maybe I'd get handcuffs, or at the least a star shaped badge, a blue uniform, with a tie, and a hat, a cap with a shiny brim.

I don't know.

Our Supervisor, H., was asking us what we'd do if our office ceased to exist, if our job was no longer available. I think she knows something. I said it would be no big deal, there are a lot of jobs out there just like ours, it would be easy peasy, though I didn't say easy peasy, I said it would be easy, and she seemed to enjoy negating everything I said. I said she was wrong, that I've seen, I'm online every night, I am on email lists for monster.com and flipdog.com and between them there are scads, tons, gobs, a virtual plethora of Customer Service jobs (there will always be Customer Service, retail and food service jobs), they may not be in our area, but yeah. $9 to $12/hour. Slide into another. She argued. She finally admitted she's looking too.

Our contract with the BIG corporation is up for renewal and the rumor was revealed at the changing of the guard meeting a week or so ago, a rumor we knew nothing about, the rumor that we will cease to exist. Not as physical entities, but as an Outsourcing center for the BIG corporation. Whatever. Bring it on, as the kids say, er, as the President says, as people say.

How is this for too perfect, for kismet, for a big jinx!?? I just got email from flipdog.com, the jobs available in the categories I selected, including research science, because I'd love to do that, although I have no degree. I just like to look. And I have to say, or I had to tell Jane, I've been 'looking' for several years, for something else, but I only applied once, at Earthlink, and they would've hired me on the spot, if I could've committed to an unknown schedule of their choosing, for a demotional salary of only $10/hr. I could not. They could not hire me if I could not. Stalemate. Two years ago, almost to the day.

Since then? A lot of looking. Like my dating life. I haven't one. But I like to look. I'm picky.

I also told H., I got my current job on the spot. In fact, I've not had to try very hard to get any job. The only job I ever had to scrap and fight for was the big independent bookstore job. The largest indy bookstore in the Southeast. I had to apply THREE times. Everyone who was anyone (cool) wanted to work there. On my third try, I was promised a call back and an interview. I said, "That's what you said the last two times, I want an interview!", and I got one. I told the vice president it was my third time and I wanted to work there. She said, "I see you're making $7.50 an hour now, are you willing to make only $4?" and I said "Damn straight, skippy!" or something to that effect. I was hired, I worked a week and was promoted to a section manager. The rest is history. Ah, what a lovely history.

I miss that job, aside from the retail hellishness. I loved those books. Of course I bought most of them and they're now here, in this apartment, but you know what I mean. I still buy books. I ordered three a couple days ago, from my book clubs. A Dim Sum cookbook, as I do not yet have one, er, I don't think, I'm pretty sure. And Hunter S. Thompson's memoir, most recent that is. And something else, oh yes, a new-ish Barbara Kingsolver novel. Mmmm... I love her. I want to be her. Out in Arizona, writing, loving, raising her child. Yes.

Any other tangents? Oh, let's see... I wrote a bit about the 'anniversary' in my LiveJournal, just that it looked almost exactly the same today, as that day two years ago, but it feels different. And I'm avoiding the media. I had the CBS Evening News on earlier, saw Dan at "Ground Zero", but that's it. "The Simpsons" have been on since, and I look forward to the repeat of last night's installment of "The Reality of Reality", or whatever it's called, on Bravo, then the current installment after. It's a fun little series.

In fact, I was thinking how cool it would be to be able to send out notices to people in your diaryrings. Like, I could write a notice to let everyone in my Reality TV ring know that this series is on, and they really should watch, it'll blow their collective skirts right up! Or to let my James Bond ring members know when there's a movie marathon on Spike TV or TBS. Alas, there is not an option. Other than a Notify List, which is separate.

Speaking of reality TV, I was right about Erika last night, on "BB4", but most people who watch probably saw it coming a mile away as well. I tuned in to the live feed after, but it was really boring, three people standing on the miniature rooftops of miniature houses, holding on to keys, whilst periodically being blasted with pellets of ice, shouting "Ow!!!" And Jun and Alison breaking into song... The Star Spangled Banner appears to be all they're allowed to sing, due to copywright laws.

And I still don't think downloading music, i.e. file sharing online, should be any more illegal than making the ubiquitous mixed tape.

Sue me. Arrest me. Code me Red. Fuck you.

TV time. Gotta run. 73 degrees, windows open, fans on. A/C off. Nice. Horoscope is right. So far.

(Only briefly proofread, in between segments of "The Reality of Reality" - tonight is 'behind the scenes' and it's juicy good! I recommend.)

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee