Tuesday, Jul. 15, 2003 / 11:00 a.m.

~Run, You Wacky Troublemaking Dog You!~

Yesterday I came in to work and talked to everyone in my department, except Veronica, because I really don�t like so many things about her and I can�t pretend, I�m not like that� and no one noticed my hair. Or maybe they all did, but weren�t quite sure. I took the tape with last week�s �GL�s on it to the woman in the next department who likes to watch them all in one sitting, and her coworker noticed right away, said she liked my hair cut, and it looks good.

Two hours later, I was walking up to the FAX machine, Jane turns to me and says, �You cut your hair�, and thus began the noticing. Q has to say, �Oh, I noticed it first thing, I just didn�t say anything, and you didn�t take that much off anyway�, �What? What are you talking about? I took �this� much off! I chopped it all off, you just didn�t notice�, and Kukla says, �I�m sorry I didn�t notice�, and Penelope says, �I don�t usually look at your hair�. Oy vey. Penelope wears wigs. She has a bit of baldness, like estrogen loss induced or something, post menopausal induced, very thin hair, so she wears these different wigs � one makes her look like Tina Turner � and everyone comments. Huh. But I come in missing about 10 inches off my head and well, there you go.

Oh yeah, I gave them all shit, and Q and Jane went on about how good it looks, and we talked about my natural curls and I bounced it around and my ego was fed nicely.

Last night, on the way to see �The Wizard of Oz� at the Fabulous Fox Theatre, I walked behind a family, a man, a woman, two girls and a boy, and all three of the females had the MOST AMAZINGLY WONDERFUL hair! All natural and long and curly, all naturally curly. The mom had some red highlights thrown in, but it was halfway down her back, and fell into beautiful curls. The older daughter was sort of tomboy-ish looking, from behind seeming to be a boy in walk and carriage, with long shorts and a tie dye shirt, sneakers, and she swung her also halfway down her back hair, falling into beautiful curls, sans red highlights, as she walked. The youngest was maybe 5 years old, and she had blonde curls, ringlets, again very natural looking, like they�d all just been swimming in the ocean and dried out on the beach, in the breeze. Beautiful. I came �this� close to running up to them, and telling them how amazing they looked, how great it is to see natural curls in this age of straightening. It would be like someone NOT wearing Capris, or NOT clutching a cell phone. In fact, they weren�t doing those things either. It was the perfect family. I loved them. All of them swinging their hair in the breeze, well, except the men. Dad held the littlest one�s hand, and son had short hair.

My favorite lines/moments: Toto leaping the closing drawbridge, Dorothy watching, hoping against hope to escape the witch�s castle, �Run, Toto, RUN!�. The �Oh We Oh� sound the witch�s guards make. The sleep inducing poppies and subsequent rousing snowfall. Seeing the string holding the Cowardly Lion�s tail in the air. When Dorothy is finally going to go home, thanks to the Good Witch of the North (Glynda?), and asks if Toto can go too, seeing as how it seems weird that she can go home just by clicking her heels (shouldn�t Toto have some ruby slippers as well?), the Witch says, �To-To tooooo�, but it�s that trilly �tooooo�, and everyone cheered.

I could�ve done without the adult/parent-induced �Sssssssss!!!!�ing every single fucking time the Wicked Witch of the West�, i.e. Ms Gultch, was on screen. I mean, come on already, and when she finally melted, we didn�t get to hear her little death speech, short as it was. But those blue monkeys are still fantastic, and when the one swoops Dorothy up and flies her to the castle, and we see those fake feet moving as she�s in the air, well, who needs CGI? And when the intrepid travelers wander the Yellow Brick Road, just up to the backdrop, I love that every single time, waiting for the moment the camera cuts, the next reel unspools.

It was fun though, even though I saw it on TCM on July 5th, still not watching the entire film, as I seldom sit and watch it in its entirety anymore, just bits here and there, and TCM was a sponsor, so we got �goodie bags�, free t-shirts, etc. Fun, really. And I was tired, but drank a Jack and Ginger anyway, and joked with the bartender about needing a drink for the movie, and although there was a gay contingent of sorts, and I expected high camp, being that it was shown at 8:00, not a kiddie matinee, there were a lot of kids and it was fun to watch them, hear their excitement.

Speaking of, there was a man with his son sitting in the seats in front of me, and the man actually moved over, let the son sit in front of me. He asked me if it wouldn�t be better for me. Maybe it was because he�d had to get up and go look for his wife, who never did show up, and leave the boy, asking me if I�d mind watching him to make sure whatever, that he wouldn�t be stolen or something. I am so trustworthy in appearance. So, he moved. Isn�t that amazing? I�ve never had anyone acknowledge me sitting behind him before, offering to move so I might see better. If that had happened at �Swimming Pool� on Sunday, I wouldn�t have had to sit next to that girl, the one who played with the cell phone when the film �broke�. She was well behaved otherwise. It was a good crowd, but we were all spellbound by the eroticism.

I took a break with Q and Jane yesterday, my first time doing so (no desire to get online, nothing else to do in 15 minutes), and told them about the mutual masturbation scene in �Swimming Pool�, because I found it intensely erotic. I felt funny afterward, like maybe I shouldn�t be talking about movie sex scenes with my coworkers, but then Jane did a whole spiel later on Anna Nicole Smith and what she had to do to please her old rich husband before he died, complete with hand gestures, and I felt more relaxed.

So, that�s why I didn�t get around to updating yesterday. I went out after work, came home late, didn�t get online. And although I�m at the other time of the month, and I certainly was well aware of my desire to have sex in the women�s bathroom at the Fox last night, I knew children were everywhere, and the men were either gay or playing Daddy, so I held it in.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee