2001-05-23 / 7:56 p.m.

~Pulling Teeth~

So the moon is in Gemini, so this is why I felt so restless, so communicative, so energetic (!) all day. It all makes sense now.

I suggested Korean Barbecue again, and this time I think I've got them all doing it. All African American women, but myself, and not exactly culinarily adventurous types. No stereotyping necessary, they really are the chicken wing/watermelon/potato salad/green beans/macaroni and cheese types. Not that there's anything wrong with that. But....come on, life is for living, right?!

Here's a great quote, from Anthony Bourdain in his book Kitchen Confidential: "Your body is NOT a temple, it's an amusement park. Enjoy the ride!". Couldn't agree more, Tony. Yeah, you might get sick if you have the sopa de pollo in a little Pueblo in the Yucatan (I know I did!), but hey, it's an adventure to be off the beaten path, right? Do you really want to spend your whole life eating nothing but chicken wings and mac and cheese?

Oh, they kept asking, what kind of food is it? What is the beverage? Where is this place again? I don't know, they said, I'm not sure, they said. Oh, come on! They have chicken, I said. You'll see, you'll like it, it's fun! Fun, remember? Fun?

It's a long table, it has holes in it, for the coals. The servers bring the hot coals to your table, place the grill over the coals, cook your meat (they have chicken!) right there, and then you put it together in lettuce leaves with all kinds of kim chi, all kinds of cool stuff! Yeah, stuff. You know, um, it's good, you'll like it!

We'll see how many actually show up, how many actually make the trek, how many actually pile into cars, how much sake I drink, how much FUN we have.

I bought a ticket to Area:One Festival today too. I'm going by myself and I can't wait! I didn't know anyone I'd want to go with, to spend the whole day with, out there, in the Amphitheatre, in the sun, hot, July, for a whole day. I'd rather be on my own, go my own way, do my own thing, so to speak. I can't wait for that either. Bands I've never seen: Outkast, The Roots, Moby and Orb (DJs), lots of techno, hip hop, and etc. I don't even know what to expect, but a day of magic.

Quite a day, quite a day. Forging, pushing, prodding, convincing, persuading, cajoling, energy, energy, energy.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee