2001-11-02 / 7:19 p.m.

~All Hopped Up on the Mountain Dew and Blowing Off the Friday Night Activities~

Okay, so maybe Netscape Communicator 4.5 is weird, maybe I deleted some crucial files along the way, maybe my brother left something out when he gave me this PC and set it all up for me, I don't know, but I've never really seen the "document specified fonts" before.

Ever since I locked my diary, and I now have to enter the username and password to look at it, just like YOU, to do my final proofreading and occasional navel-gazing, my font has changed. So, I go to "Edit" and "Preferences" and "Fonts" and I had Comic Sans whatever as my variable width font (whatever the hell that is - variable? according to whom?), so my diary was now in Comic font. Which isn't horrible, but it's not what I wanted. I got the bright idea just now to change it to "Verdana", which is my diary chosen font anyway, and I went to my diary and realized I hadn't been seeing it at all.

Eureka!, as my horoscope said I would be saying today. I look at my diary on IE at work sometimes, and I've seen the faint Verdana font, looking...well...faint. Like when my diary was reviewed and it was suggested I change it, from whatever it was, to Verdana, so I did, but on my home PC it always looked sort of bold, and not very Verdana-ish. Now.....!!!...it's the faint Verdana I see on IE, so it wasn't my Netscape 4.5, I mean, it wasn't my PC, it WAS my Netscape, I wasn't seeing the "document specified font". Whew!

It was too faint, so I made it bold, or as I like to do, "strong". I hope it's alright now, I mean for the readers out there, the microcosm of audience members remaining to play voyeur, you know who you are....how does it look? Is it okay?

Right.

So, changing the "variable width font" to Verdana in "Preferences" changed EVERYTHING though. It's ALL Verdana, all the time. And, for some bizarre reason, this box in Diaryland, the one in which I type right now, has grown, it's wider. The font is tiny as ever, but it's wide.....now. Okie dokie.

It's the little things.

Speaking of fonts...I was bored at work yesterday (hah! imagine!) and I checked out the stuff on the shared Network server, in Explorer, just a little somethin' somethin' I like to do from time to time. That's how I found my Pooh cursors! Anyway, there were like 30 or 40 or 50 fonts I'd never heard of before. I don't know who downloaded them, but some are way cool. So, I transferred them all to my PC's hard drive, the one in my cubicle, duh, and put a few choice fonts on the floppy disk I carry around with me. (Am I the only woman who carries a floppy in her purse? Never know when you'll need to download something....or transfer some wise words from Word to home...too many ellipses?)

So, now I can have some really cool fonts for my PC, but I know not to use them in my diary because not everyone will have them, and then what will happen? God only knows. (No, I don't believe in God, you know it's just an expression I use, I use LOTS of expressions with the word "God" in them)

So, if I were going to the Mexican movie at the Museum I'd need to leave, like 15 minutes ago. Guess I'm not going. If I were going to the Coalition benefit I'd leave in about an hour, but I doubt I'm going. It's nice here. I like my apartment. Everything is here, including the girls. This is where it's at, who would want to go out? Drive around? Blech. Look for parking? Hang out with pretentious clique-ish assholes? (The benefit - okay, they're not THAT bad, I don't know them that well, but still...I don't like them)

The Action Center people, well, they're all foreigners, or really old activists, really old, like ten years older than I am. REALLY old. Or REALLY young. Yeah, our group is cool. COOL. But it's not our benefit, it's theirs, the Coalition's, and I should show support, and it IS a BENEFIT, but who is really in charge of the money anyway? I'm wary. Or weary (the way the French fuckhead ex-boyfriend pronounced his body type: "wiry", say it in French, it's "weary", maybe you had to be there, I laughed every time, "Say it again, say 'wiry', say it, come on!").

Yeah, I'm being a slug. It was a hard three day work week. I've never been more bored in my entire life. Not talking to Lulu is lonely. I should give in at some point...maybe. I mean, she keeps talking, jesus god, never shuts up!, but me...I keep to myself. I read, I write, I sit, I listen to music, I contemplate my existence in the overall "scheme of things".

Yesterday Lulu left early, and I think it was because her son was in a car accident, in fact, I think he was run over by a truck. I'm not sure. No one talks to me. I guess they won't talk unless I talk first, which sucks because I ain't talkin'. But I overheard, through the power of eavesdropping, and well, just sitting in my cubicle, that he might have "...a broken leg...", and that Lulu went to find him "...in the wrong hospital....", but that's all I know. Whisper, whisper, whisper.

So, Lulu wasn't even at work today. It was nice...quiet. But...BORING. Late in the day (can you tell I'm FLYING HIGH right now?) I drank a Mountain Dew! I know Tattoobelly wrote that she enjoyed the delightful yellow green caffeinated beverage as well late today, and hey, it's the ultimate PICKMEUP, yes??? Yes??? Well????

Okay, so I'm caffeinated.

My cable bill went way up, the special digital HBO/Cinemax super duper 6 channels of each package available for the special one time only two or three months only price of whatever it was before, has expired. Now, it's very expensive, and I need to consider cancelling and ordering basic only. Ouch. I don't know if I can afford it or not. But, point is, I don't watch it. I mean the HBO/Cinemax 6 channels a piece whatever package thingie. It's enough for me to remember the usual shows, "Felicity", "Gilmore Girls", "The Amazing Race", "Survivor", "CSI" and "ER". I mean, as it stands now, I haven't watched "Real World" in a month or two, or more. I simply forgot.

So, to sit and watch movie after movie, well, it just doesn't happen. Maybe on the weekend, but lately it's me in front of this computer, doing whatever it is I do here, slowly, over the 14.4 modem. Dinosaur electronics, an exercise in patience, a time for quiet contemplation, meditation, if you will. Will you?

Okay, so I'm not going out. I vow right here, right now, to check out the HBO/Cinemax schedule for the evening and seriously consider maybe watching a movie, possibly. And if it turns out I'm really not watching, I hereby plan to call the cable company and amend my subscription. Not give it up (HORRORS!), but amend it. Minor tweaking. Digital cable is expensive. Period.

Is that all? Um, yeah, I think so. Oh, wait, Bathsheba posted a picture of herself in her diary today! She is beautiful, but I knew she would be. Wow. So odd to actually see someone I've been reading for so long. I mean, I've read all of it, her entire diary, and there she is, a real person. It's just odd, that's all.

Oh, speaking of pictures, I am going to include a picture I took of myself on my porch, on Monday, and I'm sorry, but the disk picture is very dark, the real picture is not, but I edited it so it's half of my face, and the trees beyond the porch. Notice the pine branches???? Not there anymore! GONE. Oh yeah, see what I'm saying? It's fucked!

That's it, I think, for now. If I think of something else, something pertinent, important, vital, crucial, or otherwise something, to write, here, I'll come back, if not, well, there's always tomorrow. I have no plans. Surprise.

Oh, oh, oh, I have plans for Sunday! I'm going to see/hear Mickey Hart! Who is Mickey Hart? Oh no, don't tell me you don't know...

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee