Monday, Feb. 02, 2004 / 11:03 p.m.

~Almost An Afterthought~

Another quickie, as I want to put something here, I don't want to lose the habit of updating this (it's been almost three years after all), but lately it tends to be an almost afterthought. Or I think of it, then get distracted, or find other venues for self expression.

Ah, but I begin with a ramble.

I am sick. I have succumbed, and all the influx of gram after gram of Vitamin C, and extra echinacea cannot negate the fact that I have been exposed in a weak moment of immunological compromise, and wait...

Had to SNEEZE! Damn. It's at that stage, I suppose. It still feels mild, compared to past years, to past colds, but yet it feels as if it will progress along the usual path, and this is the worst, this feeling that there is nothing I can do.

I overheard a drug ad on TV this morning, something that will make a cold last two days, and of course I forget the name of it, and I won't do more than over the counter remedies and herbs and vitamins anyway, but still. Two days sounds dreamy.

In other news, work sucks. There is nothing to do. My new Supervisor does not communicate with me at all. I go to her, "Good morning, you want me to go to the other department to work for a bit?", "Yeah, until the mail comes". One hour later she wanders over to where I'm sitting, "The mail's here", so I go sit down at my cube. But I have no mail.

Aiiiieeeeee. What do I do? Beg for work from someone else. "Hey, do you have any extra I can have?" Then back to the Supervisor, "Hey, do you have some work for me to do?"

We're not allowed to sit and read in this department, there are no phones to 'man', there is no Interweb, not legally anyway (I still have mine on my PC, and I very surreptitiously, if that is not redundant, use it to check email when I can), so if one does not have a pile of work to enter into the computer, one has nothing. NOTHING.

Today at noon I had nothing. NOTHING. And my Supervisor had gone home for the day. No, "Hey, you gonna be okay? You have work to do? You leaving early today?", no NOTHING. So, I went way above her head and said, "Hey, I NEED WORK TO DO!", and I did a bit more, and then I left, at 3:00.

Skipped lunch, worked six hours straight, one fifteen minute break, cheesy peanut butter crackers to eat.

This is not what I want at all. What should I do? I know, I know, this is perfect job hunting opportunity galore, extravaganza even, but I am sick now, and I don't feel ready to pound pavement in 34 degree pouring rain. It's like the time is perfect, but it sucks. And I love coming home and goofing off, it's like I work part time, but I'm using all my vacation time so I'm getting paid full time, and yeah, the new job sucks.

It won't always, but right now, yeah. Various reasons for it.

Brent leaves for the islands tomorrow, for semi-good, and I didn't get back in touch. I am sorry. I spent the weekend sick. I had the sore throat from hell, I lay in bed and had nightmares while horror movies played on the television. I am sorry. I am a sucky friend. But then again, your insistence on something that I never really wanted in the first place, well, that puts a chink, a kink, a bend in our friendship anyway.

Why can't anything be easy? I'll see you again. You know it. 14 years is a long time to be friends. It won't just disappear.

Email, babe, email.

Norm is on the blanket on the sofa, but I tired of lying there an hour ago or more. Glad sits with her back to me, she's angry, restless, bored.

And I have to sneeze. Tomorrow I take leftover drugs from the last cold - I think I have Dayquil.

And, hey, whoever is in charge? What happened to the No Spam List? Sign me up! It's gotten really bad lately.

Oh man, I hate being sick. This sucks so bad.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee