2001-08-08 / 1:26 p.m.

~Dress Up Day~

*I'm home for lunch right now - when I walked in I found Gladys sitting on my chair in front of the computer, Norma on the floor next to her. I accused them of pretending to be me, "Gladys, you're pretending you're ME, and Norma, you're pretending to be Gladys!". Guess you had to be here. The following I wrote at work, this a.m.*

Sitting in my cubicle, in a suit, listening to my Walkman, and guess what tape I've got in there? Oh, could it be "Grace", by the late Jeff Buckley? Oh, it could be, and it sounds really good through headphones. Oh yeah. This is my first time bringing my Walkman to work, but I should've done it a long time ago.

Damn, this is a great album!

Right. Um, we've got bigwigs coming (MS WORD recognizes both "Walkman" and "bigwigs" - too funny!) today, the CEO of the company, et al, I guess, major outsourcing company (cheap bastards). Not like I care, but they make a big deal about us looking perfessional on days we have visitors. Yeah, pErfessional. Okay, they say prOfessional. I don't. On account of it's all pretty silly.

My sister in law gave me about 3 or 4 suits a few years ago, really nice, tailored, expensive suits, suits I guess were always too small for her (why did she buy them?), and she grew even larger. She's not fat, just broad shouldered. I don't know. They fit, but I've not really worn them. Today's a perfect day to do just that. I look perfessional. And I have painful girlie shoes to match.

I got several compliments when I walked in, and I jokingly (not really) said, "Hey, I should go on some interviews or something, huh?".

Yeah, I was serious. I shouldn't be wasting my time sitting here listening to Jeff Buckley (oh, that's NEVER a waste of time!), in a suit. What would Jeff Buckley think? If he could see me now��.

My batteries are gonna die. I'll have to get more at lunch. This is awfully inconvenient.

Off topic: Last night's "Big Brother 2" and "Real World" were difficult for me to watch. LOTS of arguing, like loud, angry, yelling, screaming, arguing, disagreeing, horrible stuff. I just thought, Oh, I'm SO glad I'm not in either of those houses. Why, why, why would people subject themselves to that kind of social torture? (However, the new "Big Brother 2" pet, Ophelia the pot bellied pig, sure is cute! That squeal is SO LOUD!! Poor thing, stuck in that horrible dysfunctional house for one whole week�)

It made me really glad I live with a couple of cats. Really glad.

Off topic again: I wrote a couple of really nice email notes to diarylanders recently and got no response at all. That pisses me off. Should it? There were two others I wrote that expressed my concern for people, and those two people acknowledged me in their diaries instead of writing back directly, and that was nice. But these other two notes I wrote, well, no acknowledgement, no nothing. That seems really rude to me. Am I wrong? I mean, I don't need to be going to that kind of trouble, but if I write to you and I'm all compassionate and caring and everything, hey, maybe a little, "Thanks" wouldn't kill ya. Ya know?

Do I write little nice notes to people just so they'll respond? No, of course not, but if people don't appreciate me taking that time, appreciate me caring, well, why was I caring in the first place? That doesn't seem right, does it? I should spread my caring all around, regardless of anyone appreciating that I care. Okay, so, I was nice, did a couple nice things for people, fellow diarists, and well, they don't give a fuck, but hey, it feels so good to do for others while expecting nothing in return - bullshit. Random acts of kindness are for suckers and fools.

I don't know.

I'm going to do work now, actual work I'm being paid to do. And soon, I guess, some bigwigs will walk through and nod my way. If I even look at them. I'll probably just ignore them. They are not better than I simply because they are high up in this stupid company.

Final word: suits are not that uncomfortable.

Second final word: they walked by, the bigwigs on tour, I barely acknowledged them, women with big hair, lots of spray in it, makeup, men with ties on, la de da. I asked D. is we can let our hair down now, put on some sweats. She barely cracked a smile. People here are so weird.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee