Tuesday, Aug. 26, 2003 / 7:13 p.m.

~In Which I End Up Ranting~

Since I'm not a 'creative' writer, I don't really get 'writer's block'. But last night I was blank, and I had no desire to log on. I seize those moments, those "Eh, I don't want to turn on my computer" moments and do things like wash dishes, or do laundry, or watch television, or play with the cats. I should read, but I still don't feel comfortable reading here. I do want another apartment one day. There, I admit it. And I want furniture I've chosen, maybe all of it to my specs, get rid of the old inherited crap. And I want a big comfy reading chair, with a nice floor lamp right next to it, maybe an ottoman. Yeah.

But anyway. So, I skipped another day. And I actually entertained the idea of coming here and writing "Taking a little break", then not writing at all for awhile, like Bobby Burgess. He really needs the break though, I'm okay. I just sometimes feel like it's all been said, and there's nothing new anymore.

Aren't vacuum cleaners cool though? That light on the front, so you can see where you're going, who thought of that? Isn't that great? I'm serious.

And isn't it great to walk barefoot on freshly vacuumed carpeting? Grrreat. Wonderful. Love it!

I'm thinking more and more that G cat has a thyroid issue. The lying by the food bowls, gazing at them longingly, mere minutes after digesting, is just not right. She is metabolizing too quickly, she is not losing weight, but she doesn't gain like Norm does either. She's restless. She has the signs.

Oh, speaking of, here's something funny (yay!), I was going to the printer to get something I'd just printed, duh, at work today when some Interweb pages came over the thing, on our company letterhead, big no no, and the Manager (M) was right there so I brought it to her attention, then I saw that it was info about pilonidal cysts. (M) saw it and said, "Oh, that's Veronica", and she canceled it, as it was on the wrong printer. Pages kept coming though, and Veronica ran over and said, "I'm sorry", as she was on her break, doing some research on the Interweb PC.

So, I say, "Hey, I had a pilonidal cyst once, hurt like hell. Had surgery and everything", and I ask her if she has one. Turns out she has a boil on her ass! But since she's from a certain state in a certain part of the country where people talk very distinctly, one might even say, funny, she said, "Berl". Or "Burl", and she said she knows she says things funny, and I said, "Oh, you have a boil? That's not a pilonidal cyst, a pilonidal cyst is usually a result of a fall, it's fluid accumulated on the base of the spine, it's extremely painful", and it turned out she'd not done her search too well.

She's got boils on her butt. Bummer.

Okay, that's not funny, is it? Well, it was funny because she had misdiagnosed herself, or she did her research wrong, or something, and I love research, and well, no, it's not funny at all. Um, never mind.

What else? I've been cooking a lot. Again. Sort of slid back into it. And making HUGE salads. As I love a HUGE salad. I eat the whole bowl, like the contents of the salad bowl, the bowl one usually mixes a salad in before dividing it up into individual bowls, right? I eat right out of the big bowl, eat the whole thing! Celery, green olives, water chestnuts, bell peppers, green onions, smoked tofu, lots of lettuce, good olive oil, garlic red wine vinegar (LOVE that stuff!), good ol' McCormick Salad Supreme (been using that since I learned how to make a salad, back in '72, I think - and just bought more - yes, they've been selling it for YEARS!, try some today!), some fresh squeezed lemon juice, maybe some lemon herb seasoning, whatever, pepper ground atop, salt. Orgasmic!!!!

Tonight, if I get energy in the next few minutes, I'm thinking some sauteed potatoes (I'd roast, but it's fucking hot outside, and not too cool in!), in olive oil, of course, maybe some rosemary?, and then some scrambled eggs with cream cheese and Cajun smoked salmon.

Or some frozen potstickers, steamed, in plenty of garlicky dipping sauce. Mmmmmm...

I'm working myself up to being hungry.

I need to step out and look for Mars tonight too, but this neighborhood has lots of tall pines, and I don't feel safe here at night, and I don't want to go driving around at night. Crazy. It should be easier. I should have a deck or something. I should be able to step out in my yard and have a look, but I don't have a yard. Not that I'd want a yard, one has to mow and prune and etc., etc., a yard. But I like yards, in principle.

War is raging on in Iraq. Bring our troops home. Our kids are being killed every day. More since the "end" of the fighting than during the invasion itself. Do you know that? It's official. More US soldiers have died since Bush declared the 'major fighting' over. Isn't that insane? And who even cares? They're fucking statistics. Oh, yeah, another 'troop' died today, so what's on TV? Can you believe how badly "Gigli" bombed? And Ahnuld!!! Will he or won't he?

KIDS ARE DYING IN IRAQ!!!! And it's over 100 degrees there, every day. I think we need to see their faces. I think they need to show them every night, not just mention it, casually. I think we need a scroll that lists the names of the 130 PEOPLE (um, that's UNITED STATES CITIZENS - there, do you care more now?) that died since May 1. We're losing touch, people, we're losing touch.

I think I'm going back to D.C. for the October 25th March and Rally. And I'm taking my stickers and passing them out, and we're going to speak up for those kids. Someone has to. It's not just about the oil, and the regime change anymore, I honestly feel horrible that our young people are over there dying, along with the Iraqi people, every single day, and no one seems to care anymore. It's like we've forgotten them. It's like all the PATRIOTIC IDIOTS who drive around with fucking flags plastered all over their fucking gas guzzling SUVs don't give a flying fuck anymore. DO SOMETHING, people, insist we get our troops out of there! Let's turn Iraq over to the people of Iraq!

And what is up with gas prices?????? $1.80/gallon?????? How much to fill up the tank on your bright yellow Hummer?

And the smog? Code Orange today. I got confused. Wait, Code Orange? Duct tape? Plastic sheets? Extra water? Or don't breathe if you don't have to? Which is it?????!!!!!!

Yeah. Whee! Isn't it a great time to be alive?

********Addendum to note two things: One, last night, late last night, middle of the night late, my smoke alarm beeped. A couple beeps. I didn't know what the hell it was. No smoke, no fire, no nada. Freaked me out though, sucker is LOUD, like PIERCING LOUD. Later, did it again. It's electric. Had to rip it from the ceiling, undo the wires. Now what? If I could just change a battery, sure, I could deal, but what what what? Two, I just added Baghdad to my list of 'destination cities' on my Yahoo! start page, so I can see the daily temps. Today? 111 degrees. Picture your son in a uniform, backpack on his back, helmet, boots, the whole Army thing, right? He's scared, he's hot, he's never been so hot, and maybe his buddy gets shot up. Maybe he loses a foot or two. Maybe he comes home to you in a bodybag. Do you care now?

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee