Sunday, Aug. 17, 2003 / 9:20 p.m.

~The Food Challenge~

At times, it really is necessary to strike while the iron is hot, or to pounce on an available opportunity, or simply to be aware, and that includes being online every day, checking one's 'buddy list', making sure to read entries as they're posted, or at least within a day. Nudge, nudge, and wink, wink too, if you missed it, well, that sucks, doesn't it?

I had great fun last night, recording old 78s, like really old 78s, on Audblog, playing DJ, and even today, just rambling in an Audblog message for about 4 minutes. At least one person is already sick of my voice, but you know what? Although he is responsible for me discovering it, not that I wouldn't have otherwise, eventually, and I do appreciate that, it's for me. I listened to it about five times. Analyzing my speech pattern, my accent, my tone, my words used, my inarticulate rambling.

And it's proving hard for me just to sit and watch television now. It's so passive. Being online is interactive, I have control, I make all of this happen, I click, I create my own entertainment.

I meant to do a lot of things, really, this weekend, as every weekend, but at least I did one load of laundry, and washed my sheets. Clean sheets are always nice. I still have to bathe before I get in them. Yes, yes, I have yet to bathe since Friday morning. Horrors! Disgusting! It's not that bad, except when I catch whiffs of my own body odor, then, unh huh. Yep. I need a shower.

N and G have been bored, looking to me for entertainment, but if I'm online, or running around, cleaning, puttering, or watching TV, I guess it's not too much fun for a cat. I don't know what to do for them. When I'm home all weekend, I see it in their behavior, they're looking to me, they're curious, they probably wonder why I'm here, but I don't know what to do for them besides the usual food and water and cleaning of the litter box. Really.

"The Restaurant" is on shortly, and I've got 1.75 more "Guding Light"s left on tape. Have I mentioned I share my tapes with a woman at work? No? Well, I do. And she writes me notes, and I respond. We trade notes, like we're in high school. And her grammar and spelling are atrocious. And, I'm tolerant of that. I smile to myself as I read, because it's cute, not that she's borderline illiterate, but that we're writing these little notes about a bunch of fictional characters in a daytime drama. She's been watching it for years too, or more recently, reading the synopses online.

I'm bringing pleasure and joy to someone's life. Isn't that nice?

Yeah, yeah.

My diet lately has been really horrible, but I like the challenge of seeing how long I can put off grocery shopping. Crazy, but I used to do it with laundry, back in the pre-washer/dryer of my own days. Now, I can go a long time too, lots and lots of pairs of underwear, and lots of shirts. It's the pants I need to restock. Work pants. Business Casual.

Oh, oh, someone replied to my Salon.com personal profile. I only created it on Friday night, for fun really, and really because I wanted to respond to a really good profile I saw there. Create a profile to respond, okay, sure, no problem, bingo!, created, now to reply, oh, must purchase 'credits' to reply. Well, hell, why not tell me that in the first place? I'm not spending money to flirt.

So now I've got this silly profile up, and this silly person replied, sent me a very nice, very intelligent message, to which I replied immediately, and I've heard nothing more. He's really not attractive, and I doubt he's into the same things I am, although there are distinct similarities in our profiles. We shall see. It's all for fun. I read on Salon.com today that their personals are for people who don't need personals. They're for people who want to flirt. I can dig that.

Back to the diet, I'm sort of a popcorn addict, so it was the entire bag of Wise White Cheddar on Friday, then cheddar microwave last night, or this morning, around 2:30 whilst watching a really campy Bette Davis movie (what Bette Davis movie is NOT campy?), "Old Acquaintence". And today was smoked oysters (egad, but they leave a rank taste in one's mouth!) with Breton crackers. Also, yesterday, two frozen meals, or one meal, one veggie side. Stouffer's Lean Cuisine Baked Fish with Shells and Cheese. The fish was very tasty actually, very lemony and flavorful, not too salty at all. The shells were good too. And a Bird's Eye, I think it was, Roasted Potatoes with Broccoli, and Cheese, of course cheese. Surprisingly quite good.

Today was a Green Giant Green Bean Casserole, which left much to be desired, and was quite salty, and the smoked oysters. Major craving for more cheddar popcorn. I'd pop some up on the stove, but the popper lives there since the last time, still unwashed and oily.

I have become quite slovenly in my middle age. I honestly blame it on working. When I'm not working, all I want to do is goof off. I don't want to be home, working. And I must blame this PC. If I didn't have it, things would be a lot different here in the abode. I could simply not turn it on, I know, but you see, I don't seem able to simply not turn it on.

I need to start playing the Lottery again. There has to be a way out of working for a living.

On that note, I leave, I must finish my daytime drama viewing. And find something else to snack upon. Maybe canned pears? I wonder how long I could go before I run out of food...

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee