Monday, Feb. 10, 2003 / 8:13 p.m.

~Flattery, If Sincere, Will Get You Farther Than No Flattery~

I'm on my second load of laundry, because I can't do too much on weekends, it seems the week is meant for work, i.e. chores. I've been drinking Pinot Grigio, in fact this is my second glass (thanks, Mark, I finally opened the bottle you gave me - can you believe it took this long?). The Westminster dog show is on, and although I have my opinions on 'pure breeding', I love dogs. LOVE dogs. I want to live with one again one day. I really do.

Today I trained yet another new temp (two of our temps disappeared last week - fired? quit?), I suppose because my Supervisor, H., thinks I do a good job, but I'm not sure. I'd prefer not to, as training is very stressful. But, my point is that it was as busy as last Monday, non-stop with the phones. Really, all day, hang up, it rings, it would ring before hanging up if it could. Non-stop with the year end tax reporting statements, and if people call them their 'tax returns' I act like I don't know what they're talking about. "You mean your W-2???" A tax return is the form sent in to the IRS, but who sends those in anymore? Now there's tele-file (for people like me) and e-file, etc.

But I digress.

I was in the midst of my training, before I got really punchy, which was after lunch, and after we determined she is a Gemini and I am an Aries, and no, I won't be having children, and if she has a 15 year old and she is 32, yes indeed she did get started young, to use her words, and thank you for saying I look really good for my age, can you tell me again, please? She suddenly says, "You have a great personality", and is there any better way to throw a stranger off her guard, not that she needs to be on her guard, but to offer up an outrageously flattering compliment?

Beauty. I must've turned red. I must've flubbed all my lines. I must've dropped things and snagged my hair when I removed my headset, and did I really not hear her correctly and have to ask her to repeat herself?

Maybe it's like last week, after clocking out for lunch, the woman with the Christian religious holiday for a name told me my hair was getting really long, and then once we were outside she asked if it's naturally curly, and I did the Frieda thing, you know, from Peanuts (first, I wrote Sally, but she had straight hair, then I found this article and this quote: "Sharona Elfus-Schatzkin met Frieda and learned that she could be beautiful. �I grew up in the era of long straight hair and bell bottom pants,� the Rohnert Park, Calif., woman says. �I wanted straight hair so bad I would torture myself with large orange juice cans and an iron to create the illusion that my hair was as straight as a board. ... Then along came Frieda, who was so proud of her naturally curly hair.�" - What's funny is women are doing the same thing now, wearing the low cut bell bottoms and straightening their hair - there is no 'new' fashion) , where I sort of bounce it in one hand, and say, "Why yes, my hair is naturally curly", and she turned to her friend, her co-worker with whom she was headed off to lunch, and said, "It's so pretty, the color, and it's so curly", and I thought it is the right thing to do, letting it grow long again, really long.

I have a great personality??? No one ever offers up compliments to me anymore, and I don't want to rely on anyone else for personal validation, but fuck me to tears if it isn't nice when someone says something nice, and she means it, you know?

Work was so hard today. All those calls, one after the other after the other after the other after the other and you think I'm kidding, but I'm not. So much talking, after a weekend filled with sleep, and French movies, and reading text online.

Now is wine, and laundry, and "Felicity" is over (all four seasons ended, they started again from the pilot forward and I am hopelessly addicted), and dogs are being shown, and soon the Millionaire show is on, the Joe show, and wasn't it so great when Melissa turned to our Evan and said, "You're just an average person" and then something like, "You don't have a lot in your head", and I'm sure she meant it in some kind way, like he isn't pretentious or complicated, but it made him sound vacuous and shallow and it was too fucking funny. And she got the boot. No diamond pendant for you, chickie.

We work too hard, we Americans. We need garbage TV to unwind. Or at least I do. Okay, I don't need it, I want it.

I didn't read at work at all today, and I'm falling behind. I was hesitant to start a new book, and now I've started one and am not reading it straight through. I'm too tired to read in bed at night, I fall right to sleep, I can't read at work, it's too busy or too loud.

I'm thinking vacation, but it's too early in the year. I'm thinking Lottery, but I really don't think I'll ever win.

My horoscope really freaked me out today. It said something about a conjunction between Pluto and some other planet and how this week I have to make changes, stop my self-destructive behavior, and I can't figure out what it means. After I read it this morning, over at Cainer.com, I couldn't stop trying to figure it, wondering what it is I'm doing that needs to be fixed.

I need a massage. I need to go to bed, to sleep, but it's only 8:30.

I started yoga stretching and crunches again last night. Maybe now that I've written it here, right there, I'll keep it up. Hopefully I'll remember. I like me better when my body is tight. Vanity, thy name is Woman.

Must go look at dogs.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee