Tuesday, Apr. 16, 2002 / 1:18 p.m.

~Know Your Limit~

This morning the sky was clear, blue, not a cloud in evidence. Now there are big puffy, cumulus clouds everywhere, and it looks like it could storm. It's very pretty, really. I drove home for lunch with my windows down, not even caring about what it was doing to my hair, the temperature perfect with the sun mostly obscured by the clouds. Nice, very nice. I had flashes of every moment I've spent outdoors, and I wanted to go sailing, I wanted to wash and wax my car, I wanted to do all sorts of things, in an instant. It was a rush, a weather high.

I'm in two separate Big Game pools, and my entire department is Lottery crazy! We hear it's up to $325 million, and we're calculating, we're fantasizing, suddenly we're hopeful and giddy and so excited, like nothing could go wrong today.

And I told D., the Supervisor, what my father taught me about gambling, because he was a gambler...... know your limit. Know how much money you are willing to throw away, assuming you won't win a thing, then stop there. Set that limit, $5, $10, or even in our little pool with $2 a piece, put in whatever you can stand to lose, then back off, hope for the best, think positively, sure, but know your limit. With that in mind, I've spent $2 for our little pool, another $.50 for a department entry of $5 total in the other pool, and a separate $5 entry in that same other pool. I have a good chance to at least walk away with a second chance, if nothing else. And I stop right there.

But sure I'm fantasizing. The reason for the car wash/wax fantasy was me thinking that when I buy my new car, not sure what it will be, I won't be able to get rid of my first car I ever purchased, my trusty Toyota, but I do want to clean it, fix it, keep it around, never sell it, never give it away. It's mine.

Just like I do when I buy new clothes. I keep the old ones too. Why am I like this? How did I become so thrifty, so frugal, so cheap?

Listerine has been in a meeting with the Manager (M), and I think she finally went to lunch, we're not sure. Penelope said Listerine had been seen walking out the front door, as if she'd "walked out", but I said, "Aw, come on, maybe she parked out front today.", we don't know anything. I do know that if she is let go or if she quits, we will be told..... because she is a permanent employee, not a temp, and we'll need to know. But I kind of don't think she's going anywhere, I think for some unknown reason they want to give her every opportunity available to stay and earn a living there, with us. It's truly bizarre.

Yesterday (this entry is all over the place, I know) I finally got my mail from Friday and Saturday and I got the new Entertainment Weekly.............. Guess who is on the cover? No, guess!!

The Osbournes! Oh yeah. They are the feature story!!! Go, buy it now! It's a great mag anyway, and no, I don't call them 'zines, they're mags to me.

I'm home at lunch and I don't want to eat, I feel full from my HUGE whole wheat croissant I ate a couple hours ago. Full.

I don't want to get too excited about the Lottery, I really don't, but I like thinking that "this could be it", you know? Even with all of us in the bigger pool, if we win, the big money, we could all get around a million or two, and I can deal with that. And, Pop, you'd be proud, if we lose..... I only spent $7.50, and I could afford it.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee