Tuesday, Mar. 23, 2004 / 6:46 p.m.

~Comfort Leftovers~

I'm eating Chinese leftovers, thinking the Chinese takeout Monday night thing could become a habit. This dish was called Steamed Buddhist Vegetables Wrapped in Tofu Skin, or something. It's straw mushrooms, white mushrooms, and some kind of green stalk-y vegetable with a cluster of buds on the end, not broccoli, not rabe, but maybe actually, hard to say, and yes, there are the tofu skins of the recipe title. It's sort of odd, but now, reheated, I'm liking it.

I finished the Garlic Chicken at lunch, and went back to work with severe onion/garlic breath. Tried to keep my mouth mostly closed when I talked to people, which I did not have to do too often actually, and sucked an Altoid, just one, which seemed to do the trick.

It's pure comfort food to me, as much as country fried steak and gravy, mashed potatoes with skins, and gravy, fried okra, or Garlic Pepper Tofu, Spring Rolls, Nam Sod, a big saute of my own, chicken sausages, or bacon, zucchini, tomatoes, garlic, corn, spinach, linguini, or thick, thick, cheesecake, the kind made with lots of cream cheese.

Tofu skin is just plain weird though. No other way to put it. It's sort of chewy and tough, and in this dish it looks like phyllo dough.

That's just where I am now, eating. I also have what I believe to be a migraine, and eating makes it seem not quite so horrible.

Work today was actual work, lots of paperwork, lots of paper, paper, paper, paper, very dry, my photos curling on the cubicle wall it's so dry, that kind of dry, my eyes were dry and squinty, my glasses hurt my temples, I was in tremendous discomfort, and yet it was a full day, one for which I could account, every moment accounted for.

I can't even remember the beginning of it. Reminds me of someone I was talking to last week, after a long day - he said, "How was your day?", and I replied, "It's over, it's done, it's gone now", and I feel that way usually, let it go, move on, it was a day, I worked, it's what I do, I work for a living, sometimes it's enjoyable, mostly it's not, it's how I earn my money to live. It's how I earn my living. I earn it and it's over.

I don't know if I noted it here or not, but I have asked for some vacation time, and I got it, of course, and I can look forward to particular days of not working, not earning that living, for the free time is earned as well.

I am set to travel in July, just need to make concrete plans, but the outline is there. It's written on calendars and such. Not every calendar, as it's still in the planning stages, and as always, I reserve the right to change my mind.

Right now? In addition to the peculiar tofu skins in the possibly too sweet sauce, and the mystery greens with the meaty mushrooms, there is a cat who is trying desperately to get my attention.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee