Saturday, Jul. 10, 2004 / 12:00 p.m.

~Comparing, Contrasting, and Trying to Find a Solution~

Here's one of the things I've come to love about LiveJournal (yeah, it's one of those posts), the thing that's there and not here, the thing that keeps me active there and actually and really forgetting to even come here: people leave 'comments' and I 'reply' to them until a threaded 'message board' is created. We 'talk' to each other.

See, I got two guestbook comments for this diary, no, three, in the past few days, highly unusual for me (everyone hates me, nobody ever says anything, well, except for Adelyte - Hi, Adelyte!), but one of the three was a reply to something I'd said in someone else's, and the other two I'd now like to reply to.

But how? On LiveJournal (shut up with the "On LiveJournal...", wah, wah, wah shit! I must stop talking to myself, but I'm trying to say to me what you want to say before you get a chance to say it, so there!), on a good day, I'm emailed all the comments I've received, so I know they're there, and then I can go and reply to them, or not. As I choose. But, a dialogue is created and maintained, and yeppers, it's better.

There, I said it, it's better. Because I want to reply to you two, but where do I do it? I want to tell So-Charming that no, I've not seen the trailer for the "Manchurian Candidate" remake yet, but I think I'd surely boycott the film, as it's one of those that should never have been remade. It's just all kinds of wrong that they did that. And is it Denzel Washington who now stars? In Frank Sinatra's role? *Shiver*

And TeaLeaf5, yes, yes, I know the Van Pattons, I knew that "Eight Is Enough" show, and I thought Dick's comb-over was so atrocious it scared me. But one of the Van Patton, and is it Van Patten?, sons was kinda hot, I think his name was Vince. Mmmmm... Well, in the eighties anyway.

Now, I'd thought of saying all that in the guestbook itself, but without some kind of email to let you know I'd done that, how would you know to check back there? You wouldn't, that's how.

And you may not even read this, you may never know I replied to you, you may think you asked these open-ended questions, you two, and no one ever even acknowledged you.

And you would be wrong.

What is the answer here? Why is Diaryland set up for closed-ended praise, or lost questions, or hit and run criticism only? Where's the dialogue? And don't tell me it's with the Super Gold nonsense, because that's not set up for the writer to reply to the commenters either.

This is my conundrum, first thing in the morning, noon on a Saturday.

When I woke I had the biggest chunk of dried up sleepies, crusty chunk of sleep, stuck in my eye that I've had in months and months. What's that about?

And I dreamed I was at a party with some people from work, or at least I think that's who they were, someone's house party, and at some point I didn't want to be there so I just got up and left, walked quietly to my car and let it roll back on the side of the street, engine off, before I started it, so they wouldn't hear it and know I was outside driving away. I didn't want to say goodbye.

Then I got in this horrible traffic jam of cars all trying to get on some highway, and I was way lost, had no idea where I was, but directions given had pointed me that way.

And then, then, then, I was eating Chinese food in my car.

I think this was because of recent events at work that have left me really not happy that I have to see certain people every day, and that yesterday I fantasized about driving into town to get my favorite Chinese takeout, but talked myself out of it because the traffic and SMOG were so awful, but then I went to Whole Foods instead and got some grub, and ended up eating that brown rice sushi, which, well, fell apart. There is a special rice, or specially cooked rice anyway, they typically use for sushi rolls, and for a good reason. Sticky rice. It doesn't fall apart.

And then the beef samosas, yeah, so maybe this is why I had weird dreams, and though, does food really affect people's dreams? One has to wonder.

Please, sign the guestbook, tell me you were here, and tell me how you'd like me to reply to you. Long letters written in pencil? Mailed and sent by Pony Express? Sky writing? Replies in the actual guestbook? Replies made 'public' here? Or are those rhetorical questions you ask? TeaLeaf5, did you really want to know if anyone else knew of the Van Patten family? (Yes, I think it's 'Patten') And, keep in mind, if I reply to you by going to your guestbook and writing there, then I'm not writing about what you've written, because frankly I won't be there to read it, just to reply to you, and that's like, well, really rude. Although I do still read diaries, mostly, and on occasion. I should catch up, soon.

My day must begin now. Must go. Here's the tentative plan: Egg salad on wheat toast. After coffee, of course. Must vaccum at some point, must, it's not that difficult, must, please, oh plase, do it! Clean bathroom? Some day? Movie. "Before Sunset" has opened and is playing exclusively at one theatre, my favorite, sure, but I must drive and encounter 'traffic'. Ugh.

Sort through newspapers so I won't mind throwing them away, er, recycling is what I mean, and/or taking them to the no-kill animal shelter, as they use lots of newspapers, I learned recently.

I think that's it.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee